picture of 2020 USAC Firsts

Ray Harroun (Indy 500).  George Washington (U.S. President).  Gene Harley (USAC).  They all have something in common – they were the first to win in their respective disciplines.  During the 2020 USAC National season, there were a number of “firsts” in a variety of categories from on track to behind the scenes and for those who it was a “longtime coming” that we all cheered for this past year.


Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Sign Up

Already a subscriber? Log In

5. Schnapf Shot: It's A First-Time USAC Sprint Winner At Tri-State!

Oct 29, 2020

Stephen Schnapf knew he had the speed at Tri-State Speedway.  He just had to finish that final third.  After last year’s oh-so-close second-place finish in midsummer to Kyle Cummins in which Schnapf led all but the final four laps, the Newburgh, Ind. native felt a victory on the big stage was just within reach, but just needed to close it out Mariano Rivera style.

On June 14, Schnapf finally found that final third to finish off his first career USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car victory in the Midwest Sprint Car Series co-sanctioned “Showdown” at the Haubstadt, Indiana track, a monumental victory for the driver just hours shy of his 32nd birthday.