picture of 2020 USAC Firsts

Ray Harroun (Indy 500).  George Washington (U.S. President).  Gene Harley (USAC).  They all have something in common – they were the first to win in their respective disciplines.  During the 2020 USAC National season, there were a number of “firsts” in a variety of categories from on track to behind the scenes and for those who it was a “longtime coming” that we all cheered for this past year.


Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Sign Up

Already a subscriber? Log In

2. Silver Crown Makes Sizzling Debut At Selinsgrove

Oct 29, 2020

Forty-nine years following Mitch Smith’s Sprint Car domination at Pennsylvania’s Selinsgrove Speedway, USAC was finally back at the half-mile dirt oval on Aug. 9, this time with the Silver Crown cars for the first time in what was the long-awaited season opener after COVID-19 had ravaged the early season schedule.

Pennsylvania itself is steeped in history with the USAC Silver Crown division, serving as the host of the first-ever race in series history at Nazareth National Speedway in 1971, won by Jim McElreath.

Coming into the Bill Holland Classic, each of the USAC Silver Crown division’s previous 14 visits to the state of Pennsylvania have produced 14 different race winners.  Another new PA Silver Crown winner emerged with Shane Cottle overcoming mechanical issues and contact on the front straightaway on his way to victory from his 23rd starting position to become the 15th different winner.