2023 Tezos ASCoC OH Speedweek at Portsmouth Raceway Park

Brent Marks Wins All-Out War In Ohio Sprint Speedweek Finale At Portsmouth

Brent Marks Wins All-Out War In Ohio Sprint Speedweek Finale At Portsmouth

Brent Marks won an all-out war during Saturday's Ohio Sprint Speedweek finale for the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

Jun 18, 2023 by Brandon Paul

PORTSMOUTH, Ohio -- Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket concluded with an all-out brawl in Portsmouth, Ohio, and despite countless official and unofficial lead changes, accompanied by dozens of slidejobs performed by all of those battling within the top five during the second half of the 30-lap contest, it was Myerstown, Pennsylvania’s Brent Marks who came out on top, scoring a second consecutive Dean Knittel Memorial title with the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 for a $22,554 top prize. Marks’ All Star victory total now stands at 11, five of which accomplished in the Buckeye State.

Marks, ace of the Murray-Marks Motorsports/M&M Painting and Construction No. 19 sprint car, started third on the Dean Knittel Memorial A-Main grid, battling hot and heavy through the midpoint of Saturday’s feature before taking command from Buch Motorsports’ Justin Peck with less than a handful remaining. Prior to Marks’ winning takeover, Vermeer Motorsports’ Buddy Kofoid was the majority race leader, soon forced to dual with the likes of Rico Abreu, Brent Marks, Justin Peck and Zeb Wise. Abreu would take command on lap 19, eventually losing the point to Peck on lap 23.

Unfortunately for Peck and Wise, they each suffered from winning contention-ending cotasrophes, Peck in the form of a left rear flat, and Wise in the from of mechanical failure. Although Peck would return, Wise would not, simultaneously ending hopes for an Ohio Sprint Speedweek championship.

Rico Abreu would race on to finish second at Portsmouth Raceway Park, followed by a late-charging Anthony Macri, Buddy Kofoid, and Skylar Gee.

Brent Marks may have won the battle, but “Sunshine” Tyler Courtney won the war, capping his second-ever Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket championship with a criteria win over Buddy Kofoid. Courtney and Kofoid ended the Dean Knittel Memorial tied for the top spot in the final Ohio Sprint Speedweek standings, but Courtney’s victory at Wayne County Speedway earned him the championship by tie-breaker; the title earned Courtney a $5,000 share.


Ohio Sprint Speedweek At Portsmouth Raceway Park Highlights


VIDEO: Watch highlights from Saturday's thrilling Ohio Sprint Speedweek finale. 

Winning Quote From Brent Marks

“It’s an honor to win the Dean Knittel Memorial for the second year in a row…a win this team needed. We’ve been in the hunt for wins the last eight or so races, but just haven’t been able to get it done. I owe it all to this team, and to Al Murray for giving us the tools necessary to succeed.”

Ohio Sprint Speedweek Results From Portsmouth Raceway Park

1. 19-Brent Marks[3]

2. 24-Rico Abreu[1]

3. 39M-Anthony Macri[12]

4. 55-Michael Kofoid[2]

5. 99-Skylar Gee[8]

6. 7BC-Tyler Courtney[7]

7. 91-Kyle Reinhardt[5]

8. 33W-Cap Henry[20]

9. 4-Chris Windom[13]

10. 22-Cole Duncan[21]

11. 45-Tim Shaffer[4]

12. 70-Scotty Thiel[11]

13. 25R-Jordan Ryan[17]

14. W20-Greg Wilson[19]

15. 32B-Dale Blaney[18]

16. 101-Cody Maroske[24]

17. 13-Justin Peck[6]

18. A79-Brandon Wimmer[10]

19. 29-Sye Lynch[15]

20. 97-JJ Hickle[14]

21. 11N-Harli White[22]

22. 4S-Tyler Street[23]

23. (DNF) 26-Zeb Wise[9]

24. (DNF) 23Z-Zane DeVault[16]

25. (DNF) 54-Danny Smith[25]

2023 Ohio Sprint Speedweek Point Standings

*Tyler Courtney - 794

Buddy Kofoid - 794

Zeb Wise - 764

Chris Windom - 710

Tim Shaffer - 704

Skylar Gee - 698

Cap Henry - 696

J.J. Hickle - 684

Greg Wilson - 660

Cody Maroske - 652

*Won by Tie-Breaker

Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions Point Standings

Tyler Courtney extends his lead at the top of the driver point standings to 166 points. Chris Windom moved back into the second position following a ninth-place finish at Portsmouth. 

Updated Point Standings

Last Race: June 16 - Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions at Eldora Speedway

Next Race: July 7 - Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions at Ransomville Speedway