All Star Circuit of Champions

Ian Madsen Announces His Retirement From Sprint Car Racing

Ian Madsen Announces His Retirement From Sprint Car Racing

Ian Madsen, the talented Australian racer and brother of Kerry Madsen, has retired after 20 years of Sprint Car racing.

Nov 2, 2023 by Tyler Burnett
Ian Madsen Announces His Retirement From Sprint Car Racing

After 20 years of racing and competing at the top levels of Sprint Car racing, Ian Madsen has decided to call it quits. In a well thought out statement posted on his Instagram, Madsen announced his retirement from racing on Thursday, saying that retiring from racing will be one of the hardest things he's done in life. 

“It is with great sadness that today after 20 years, I am announcing my retirement from Sprint Car racing,” Madsen said. “This was not an easy decision, perhaps the most difficult of my life.”

“I arrived at this decision for a myriad of reasons. After the completion of the last 2-3 seasons, I have been stuck in the proverbial fork in the road. This time felt different like a receding glacier. We all know this will come one day. Still, it doesn’t make it any easier. I do not know a world outside of racing, nor do I know if I will have anything to offer my new world. This is both terrifying and exciting for me.”


VIDEO: Ian Madsen reacts after an All Star Circuit of Champions win at Attica in 2021. 

Madsen was the 2018 World of Outlaws Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year before bouncing around rides the past few seasons while dealing with injuries. He scored four World of Outlaws victories and four All Star Circuit of Champions victory during his career racing in the United States. 

Madsen spent a lot of his time racing at Knoxville Raceway, where he was a two-time track champion and a 12-time feature winner during his career. 

More recently, Madsen qualified for the Knoxville Nationals this season driving for fellow Australian Lynton Jeffrey.

Earlier this year, Madsen claimed wins on his home turf in Australia at Avalon Raceway and Eastern Creek Speedway.