2023 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour at North Wilkesboro Speedway

How To Watch The NASCAR Modified Tour At North Wilkesboro Speedway

How To Watch The NASCAR Modified Tour At North Wilkesboro Speedway

Everything you need to know about the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour at North Wilkesboro Speedway including the entry list, broadcast information, and more.

Sep 27, 2023 by Rob Blount
How To Watch The NASCAR Modified Tour At North Wilkesboro Speedway

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour heads to the historic North Wilkesboro Speedway this Saturday for the first time in series history. Get ready for Saturday’s Brushy Mountain Powersports 150 in this edition of “Everything You Need To Know” on FloRacing.

Subscribe To FloRacing To Watch The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour At North Wilkesboro

What is the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour?

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour is a touring series that uses Modifieds, which is the oldest race car in NASCAR. The Tour itself was founded in 1985. 

Since the Tour’s inception, many of the best Modified drivers of all-time have gone on to win championships including Richie Evans, Mike Stefanik, Tony Hirschman, Ted Christopher, Doug Coby, Ron Silk, Ryan Preece, and Justin Bonsignore.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour is primarily based in the Northeast as most teams are from either Long Island or New England. But in recent years the Tour has ventured out further than the normal areas. This year, the Tour has races at New Smyrna Speedway in Florida, Langley Speedway, Martinsville Speedway, and Richmond Raceway in Virginia, and this weekend’s race at North Wilkesboro Speedway in North Carolina.

Why is North Wilkesboro Speedway So Historic?

North Wilkesboro Speedway is one of NASCAR’s oldest race tracks. It was built in the mid-1940s right in the heart of the “moonshine capital of America,” which means it was built right where stock car racing got started.

NASCAR founder Bill France promoted the first race at North Wilkeboro in May of 1947, which at the time was still a dirt track. It just so happens that the first race there was a Modified race, too.

Eventually the track was paved and the NASCAR Cup Series raced there until 1996 when the track was closed and its two Cup Series dates were given to tracks in bigger markets like Texas Motor Speedway and New Hampshire Motor Speedway. 

Even though there had been a couple of attempts to reopen the track, it mostly sat dormant and was nearly reclaimed by the land that surrounded it. Until this past year when Speedway Motorsports Inc. CEO Marcus Smith decided to reopen the track and modernize it. 

This year North Wilkesboro Speedway was the site of the NASCAR All-Star Race, the first NASCAR Cup Series race there since 1996. And this weekend it will host the same division of cars that first opened the track way back in 1947.

How To Watch The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour at North Wilkesboro Speedway

Every lap of racing from the Brushy Mountain Powersports 150 and its support division, the Carolina Crate Modified Series, will be broadcast live on FloRacing.

Streaming: Watch the 2023 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour at North Wilkesboro Speedway on FloRacing

  • On Your TV: Now Available on Roku, Fire TV, Chromecast, Apple TV, and Android.
  • Cast: Cast to your SMART TV including Vizio, Samsung, and LG TV’s.
  • On The Go: Download the FloSports app on iOS and Android.

Brushy Mountain Powersports 150 Schedule

September 30, 2023

  • 1pm – 1:45pm: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour practice
  • 1:50pm – 2:25pm: Carolina Crate Modified Series practice
  • 2:30pm – 3:15pm: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour final practice
  • 4pm: Carolina Crate Modified Series Qualifying
  • 5:15pm: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Qualifying
  • 7pm: Opening Ceremonies/FloRacing Broadcast Begins
  • 7:05pm: Carolina Crate Modified Series Feature (75 Laps)
  • 8pm: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Feature (150 Laps)

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour at North Wilkesboro Speedway Entry List



Crew Chief


Melissa Fifield

Jake Marosz


Jake Johnson

Gregory Fournier


Brandon Ward

Will Spaugh


Tim Connolly

Shane Connolly


Kyle Ebersole

Bob Ebersole


Sam Rameau

Randy Rameau


Doug Coby

Tommy Baldwin Jr.


Christopher Hatton

Thomas Turano


Ron Silk

Phil Moran


Chase Dowling

Chris McTaggart


Ken Heagy

Greg Gorman


Anthony Sesely

Stephen Kopcik


Eddie McCarthy III

Bill Cole


Kyle Bonsignore

Cam McDermott


Carson Loftin

Justin Link


Andrew Krause

Rob Hyer


Gary McDonald

Chad McDonald


Tyler Rypkema

Zach Truesdail


JB Fortin

Kenny Lechner


Dave Sapienza

Greg Kleila


Bobby Labonte

Neal Cantor


Ryan Newman

Phil Stefanelli


Bobby Santos III

Danny Gamache


Justin Bonsignore

Ryan Stone


Tommy Catalano

David Catalano


Eric Goodale

Jason Shephard


Brett Meservey

Steve Mendoza


Matt Hirschman

Mike Stein


Austin Beers

Ron Yuhas


Andy Seuss

Steve Seuss


Gary Putnam

Kaitlyn Tarantino


Craig Lutz

Ryan Barbieri


Anthony Nocella

Chris Burdell


Jamie Tomaino

Trey Tomaino


Tommy Wanick

Mike Odwazny


John-Michael Shenette

Scott Morin


Burt Myers

Jamie Watson


Patrick Emerling

Bill Putney


Jacob Perry

Dennis Perry Jr.