2022 Modified Madness at Seekonk Speedway

Open Wheel Wednesday Entry List Filled With Modified Stars

Open Wheel Wednesday Entry List Filled With Modified Stars

Many of Modified racing's biggest stars will be chasing a Tri-Track Open Modified Series Open Wheel Wednesday victory at Seekonk Speedway.

Jun 27, 2022 by Brandon Paul
Open Wheel Wednesday Entry List Filled With Modified Stars

With just two days remaining before the annual $10,000 to win Open Wheel Wednesday returns to Seekonk Speedway on June 29, the stars are lining up to compete for the big prize.

Six-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion and three-time Open Wheel Wednesday winner Doug Coby, four-time event winner and current Monaco Modified Tri-Track points leader Matt Hirschman, and current Whelen Modified Tour points leader Ron Silk are just a few of the drivers planning to compete in the 100-lap event.

Over the 16-year history of the prestigious race, Hirschman and Coby have the most wins, combining to win nearly half of the races. Last year, Hirschman dominated the race, becoming the first driver to win it four times. Coby hasn’t won the race since 2016, but has been knocking on the door, and will look to tie Hirschman for the historic mark driving his own No. 10. Silk, who has been focusing on chasing his first Whelen Modified Tour championship with Haydt-Yannone Racing this year, will return to Seekonk behind the wheel for car owner Bob Horn. In 2019, Silk dominated the race with Horn and captured the $10,000 check.

Those three competitors may be among the favorites – but there are plenty of others on the list to watch heading into next Wednesday. So far in 2022, Hirschman won the Monaco Modified opener at Monadnock Speedway in April, and Chase Dowling followed it up by winning at Thunder Road Speedbowl on Memorial Day weekend. Dowling has been successful at Seekonk before – winning the Haunted Hundred last October, as the Connecticut, native has won three of the last five Tri-Track events, with Hirschman winning the other two.

Dowling Likes Thunder Road More After Win

VIDEO: Chase Dowling claimed the most recent Tri-Track Modified victory at Thunder Road.

Woody Pitkat has also entered Open Wheel Wednesday driving for Doug Dunleavy. The combination is coming off a victory at Stafford Motor Speedway in their Bud Light Open Modified 80 event on June 10, and heading to Seekonk, Pitkat should be near the front of the field.

Additional previous Open Wheel Wednesday winners scheduled to be in the field include Richard Savary, driving for Stephen Kopcik, Ronnie Williams, driving for Gary Casella, Kirk Alexander, driving for Norm Perry, Tommy Barrett and Chris Pasteryak. NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour regular Kyle Bonsignore, local favorite Jake Johnson, Brian Robie, Sam Rameau, Matt Kimball, Matt Swanson, Dan Wesson, Les Hinckley and more are also expected to compete.

Seekonk’s Open Wheel Wednesday is a three-division program, headlined by the Monaco Modified Tri-Track Series. The 350 SMAC Supermodifieds and NEMA Lites will also join a full card of racing for the mid-week event. Tickets are available in advance at SeekonkSpeedway.com, where fans can purchase them and skip the lines on race day. Pit passes are also available online in advance. All tickets will also be sold at the track.

For more information on Seekonk Speedway, visit SeekonkSpeedway.com and follow the track on social media. For more information on the Monaco Modified Tri-Track Series, visit MonacoModifieds.com and follow the series on Facebook for the latest updates, including from the track on race day.