2024 Indianapolis 500 Coverage

The 2024 Indy 500 Starting Lineup: See Where Kyle Larson Starts

The 2024 Indy 500 Starting Lineup: See Where Kyle Larson Starts

Kyle Larson will start the 2024 Indianapolis 500 from fifth, right behind Team Penske's front-row sweep.

May 19, 2024 by Kyle McFadden

It's the second and final day of Indianapolis 500 qualifications on Sunday ahead of the 108th running of The Greatest Spectacle in Racing at famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Here is a blog-style notebook to keep up with the many happenings — specifically Kyle Larson's bid at the Indy 500 pole as one of the Fast 12 qualifiers — that are bound to arise throughout another long day at the 2.5-mile oval.

Larson Starts Fifth In 2024 Indy 500

Kyle Larson will start fifth in the 108th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on May 26 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, making a bid for the pole by advancing into the Fast 6 before falling short to Team Penske's front-row sweep and teammate Alexander Rossi.

  1. Scott McLaughlin 234.220 mph
  2. Will Power 233.917
  3. Josef Newgarden 233.808
  4. Alexander Rossi 233.090
  5. Kyle Larson 232.846
  6. Santino Ferrucci 232.692
  7. Rinus VeeKay 
  8. Pato O'Ward 
  9. Felix Rosenqvist 
  10. Takuma Sato
  11. Kyle Kirkwood
  12. Ryan Hunter-Reay 
  13. Colton Herta
  14. Alex Palou
  15. Callum Ilott 
  16. Marcus Armstrong 
  17. Ed Carpenter 
  18. Kyffin Simpson
  19. Marco Andretti
  20. Helio Castroneves 
  21. Scott Dixon 
  22. Agustin Canapino 
  23. Sting Ray Robb 
  24. Christian Rasmussen 
  25. Tom Blomqvist 
  26. Romain Grosjean 
  27. Linus Lundqvist 
  28. Christian Lundgaard 
  29. Conor Daly
  30. Pietro Fittipaldi
  31. Katherine Legge
  32. Marcus Ericsson
  33. Graham Rahal

Larson Advances To Fast 6

(4:15 p.m. UPDATE): Kyle Larson moved one step closer to a front row starting spot — or perhaps the pole — in the 108th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge, officially locking himself into the evening's Fast 6 after his fifth-fastest 232.788 mph four-lap average during Fast 12 qualifications.

Fast 6 qualifying begins at 5:25 p.m. on NBC, which pits the top-six drivers from the Fast 12. Positions seven through 12 will start the Indy 500 as is:

  1. Scott McLaughlin 233.492 mph
  2. Will Power 233.483
  3. Josef Newgarden 233.286
  4. Alexander Rossi 233.071
  5. Kyle Larson 232.788
  6. Santino Ferrucci 232.723
  7. Rinus VeeKay 232.610
  8. Pato O'Ward 232.584
  9. Felix Rosenqvist 232.305
  10. Takuma Sato 232.171
  11. Kye Kirkwood 230.993
  12. Ryan Hunter-Reay 230.567

Fast 12 Practice Results

(1:05 p.m. UPDATE): That'll do it for the hour-long Fast 12 practice. Kyle Larson turned in the seventh-quickest four-lap average while clocking the sixth-fastest single-best lap. Josef Newgarden topped both categories in the speed chart.

Fast 12 qualifying begins at 3:05 p.m. on NBC. Practice results from single-best laps:

  1. Josef Newgarden 234.052 mph
  2. Felix Rosenqvist 233.485
  3. Pato O'Ward 233.465
  4. Alexander Rossi 233.155
  5. Kyle Kirkwood 232.896
  6. Kyle Larson 232.845
  7. Scott McLaughlin 232.817
  8. Takuma Sato 232.715
  9. Ryan Hunter-Reay 232.211
  10. Santino Ferrucci 232.068
  11. Will Power 231.990
  12. Rinus VeeKay, did not practice

Picking Up Speed

(12:45 p.m. UPDATE): Kyle Larson jumped from the ninth-best four-lap average to sixth-best at 232.091 mph with roughly 15 minutes left of Fast 12 practice.

Josef Newgarden's 233.707 mph four-lap average leads the Fast 12 drivers in their one and only hour-long practice ahead of 3:05 p.m.'s top-12 qualifications.

Halfway Through Fast 12 Practice

(12:30 p.m. UPDATE): We're halfway through Fast 12 practice, which ends at 1 p.m. and Kyle Larson is currently eighth-fastest with a lap of 232.341 mph.

Reigning Indy 500 champion Josef Newgarden leads all drivers at 234.052 mph. Felix Rosenqvist, Pato O'OWard, Alexander Rossi, Kyle Kirkwood, Scott McLaughlin, Takuma Sato, Larson, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Santino Ferrucci and Will Power are the top-11 with 30 minutes remaining of practice. Rinus VeeKay has not timed.

Larson also had to evoke some of his dirt-track racing prowess to catch a slide with his Chevy-Dallara No. 17 Hendrickcars.com Arrow McLaren race machine.

Setting The Stage

(12 p.m. UPDATE): Team Penske's Will Power, Scott McLaughlin and Josef Newgarden topped Saturday's Indianapolis 500 qualifications in that order while Larson turned the sixth-fastest speed of the day despite a plenum event that foiled his morning qualifying run and forced him to work his magic in the heat of the afternoon day.

Indy 500 Qualifying Results: Kyle Larson Advances To Sunday's Fast 12

Does Larson have a real chance to land on the front row — or perhaps the pole? — of the legendary event? Race strategist Brian Campe says it's game on.

“Now it’s, what’s possible? With a bit of handwaving on temperatures and scenarios, I think we have a shot at a front-row start tomorrow,” Campe told FloRacing after Saturday's momentous qualifying run. “We should approach tomorrow with that in mind.”

Larson will be up against a diverse and stout crop of NTT INDYCAR Series drivers in the Fast 12: The powerful Team Penske trio of 2018 Indy 500 champ Power, McLaughlin and reigning Indy 500 champ Newgarden; 2016 Indy 500 winner and teammate Alexander Rossi; McLaren teammate Pato O'Ward; fan favorite Santino Ferrucci; Japan's beloved two-time Indy 500 winner Takuma Sato; qualifying ace Rinus Veekay; 2012 Indy 500 winner and former INDYCAR champ Ryan Hunter-Reay; and Sweden's own Felix Rosenqvist.

RELATED: Why Kyle Larson Needed A Second Indy 500 Qualifying Run On Saturday

Should Larson replicate Saturday's superb qualifying run — advancing into the Fast 6 starts at 5:25 p.m. — it'll create quite the evening schedule for him as he has to be in North Wilkesboro, N.C., before 8 p.m.'s NASCAR Cup All-Star Race at North Wilkesboro Speedway. The Fast 6, meanwhile, ends at 5:55 p.m.

“I think that’s great. It’s just really cool," Larson said of the vying for the Indy 500 pole after Saturday's run. "It makes the windows a lot tighter for tomorrow.

He laughed, then continued.

"It’s something to be proud of for sure on my part, but qualifying is about the team," he added. "They brought a fast race car. Proud of everybody’s effort.”

2024 Indianapolis 500 Coverage

Kyle Larson Indy 500 Coverage

2024 Indianapolis 500 Sunday Schedule

(All times Eastern Standard Time)

8:30 a.m. — INDYCAR Ministry 

10:00-10:15 a.m. — Track sweep

10:45-11:30 a.m. — Enlistment ceremony

12:00 p.m. — Peacock broadcast goes live

12:00-1:00 p.m. — Fast 12 practice

1:00-2:00 p.m. — Last Chance qualifying practice

2:00 p.m. — Intermission; qualifying technical inspection

3:00-6:00 p.m. — NBC broadcast goes live

3:05-4:05 p.m. — Fast 12 qualifying

4:15-5:15 p..m.— Last Chance qualifying

5:25-5:55 p.m. — Fast 6 qualifying

Pole Award Presentation

Front Row Press Conference

6:15 p.m. — Race day pit selection

INDYCAR teams move pits to race day location