2024 Indianapolis 500 Coverage

Back-To-Back Indy 500 Winners

Back-To-Back Indy 500 Winners

The history of the Indianapolis 500 spans more than a century. Familiar names and unknown drivers have won. But how many have won in back-to-back years?

May 15, 2024 by Matt Cannizzaro

Sure, only 33 drivers start the Indianapolis 500 each year, but that doesn’t make it any easier to be the one hoisting the trophy and chugging the traditional bottle of milk when it’s over.

To be the one who successfully conquers the grueling 500 miles means maintaining a speed of more than 165 miles per hour for three or four hours, while circling the 2.5-mile track at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis 200 times in front of more than 300,000 in-person spectators. 

Since the inaugural Indianapolis 500 in 1911, 75 drivers have won the race. 

The record for victories is four, shared by four drivers – AJ Foyt (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977), Al Unser Sr. (1970, 1971, 1978, 1987), Rick Mears (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991) and Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009, 2021).

Six other drivers have won the Indianapolis 500 three times, while 10 more have taken the checkered flag twice.

To win once in a lifetime – wow. To win again – unbelievable. 

But of the 20 drivers who have won the Indy 500 more than once, how many were able to pull off the feat in back-to-back years? The answer is five. 

Here's who they are and when they won:

Drivers To Win The Indianapolis 500 In Back-To-Back Years

  • Al Unser Sr. – 1970, 1971
  • Helio Castroneves – 2001, 2002
  • Wilbur Shaw – 1939, 1940
  • Mauri Rose – 1947, 1948
  • Bill Vukovich – 1953, 1954

How To Watch The 2024 Indianapolis 500

NBC Sports will provide coverage of the 2024 Indianapolis 500 on NBC, Peacock and Universo (Spanish), which will log more than 60 hours of programming this year. 

Pre-race coverage on May 26 will begin exclusively on Peacock at 9 a.m. Eastern, then move to Peacock and NBC at 11 a.m. EDT. The race is scheduled to begin around 12:45 p.m. EDT.

A post-race show will be shown on Peacock Premium. All broadcasts will be available for streaming on Peacock, the NBC Sports App and NBCSports.com.

FloRacing will provide results, editorial content and more throughout May, as the festivities in Indianapolis will get underway May 14 with the start of practice. Qualifying will be May 18-19.

Schedule For The 2024 Indianapolis 500

The complete schedule for the month of May and the official day of the 2024 Indianapolis 500 can be found here.

To follow the FloTrack coverage, click HERE.

Results For The 2024 Indianapolis 500

Results For the 2024 Indianapolis 500 will be available here.

Check out the official Indianapolis 500 race hub HERE.

FloRacing Is The Streaming Home For Many Racing Events Each Year

Don’t miss all the dirt, pavement, drag, action racing and more, much of which can be enjoyed live on FloRacing. Check out the FloRacing schedule for more events.

FloRacing Archived Footage

Video footage from the event will be archived and stored in a video library for FloRacing subscribers to watch for the duration of their subscription.

Join The Conversation On Social