2024 USAC Larry Rice Classic at Bloomington Speedway

Results: USAC Sprints Larry Rice Classic At Bloomington Speedway

Results: USAC Sprints Larry Rice Classic At Bloomington Speedway

USAC National Sprint Car Series Results Larry Rice Classic at Bloomington Speedway, Friday May 10, 2024.

May 11, 2024 by Tyler Burnett

After seeing victory slip away on late-race restarts in three of his past four USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship starts, Logan Seavey wasn't about to let another escape from his grasp.

On a late restart in Friday night's Larry Rice Classic, Seavey was picture perfect as he delivered his first career Bloomington Speedway victory in his Abacus Racing/CG CPAs – Indy Custom Stone – Forecheck Marketing/DRC/Stanton Chevy.

In February’s Winter Dirt Games finale at Florida’s Ocala Speedway, C.J. Leary scooted under Seavey on a restart with three laps to go. On a restart with 14 laps to go at Lawrenceburg (Ind.) Speedway, Kevin Thomas Jr. gained the upper hand by steadily driving past on the bottom for the top spot. Just two laps after the restart during last Saturday’s thriller at Ohio’s Eldora Speedway, Justin Grant stuck a slider in turns one and two on Seavey, then led the final three laps.

When a caution came with just four laps remaining in Friday’s main event at Bloomington, Seavey was game for the challenge, fending off the challenges from both Ricky Lewis and a surging Daison Pursley to win his third USAC National Sprint Car feature of the year.

Seavey and Abacus Racing have constructed one of the finest beginnings for a new driver and team combination in USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship history. The Bloomington round served as a microcosm of the season as a whole with the beginning of their 30-lap feature playing out just about as smoothly.  Seavey traveled from third to second on the opening lap and second to first on the second circuit, and from there on out, was never officially overtaken en route to the team’s third victory of the year.

Throughout the first quarter of the season, Seavey has now posted nine top-three finishes, which has allowed him to open up a 71-point lead, the largest throughout the first 10 USAC National Sprint Car events since Justin Grant 2017.

Furthermore, the race had another special, more personal meaning to Seavey. The Larry Rice Classic is held annually in memory of the three-time USAC national champion driver and television commentator. One year ago, Seavey (Sutter, Calif.) captured the USAC Silver Crown National Championship at the wheel of a Rice-owned car operated by Larry’s son, Robbie.

“I’ve been running this race for a handful of years now and my friendship with Robbie has really become more like family to me,” Seavey said. “He’s given me a shot in the Silver Crown cars and he’s done so much for me over the last few years just keeping me out here and giving me a place to live at times. He’s been such a huge part of my career over the last few years. I know this race is for his dad who meant a lot to the whole sport of USAC racing, so this is really cool.”

Seavey’s 13th career USAC National Sprint Car feature win moved him up another line on the series’ career win list, pushing him past Eric Gordon and into a tie with Steve Chassey on the list for 47th all-time. The victory also marked Seavey’s first at Bloomington’s 1/4-mile red clay oval after finishing third in each of his past two Larry Rice Classic starts in 2018 and 2023.


Highlights 2024 USAC Larry Rice Classic at Bloomington Speedway

USAC Sprint Car Results Larry Rice Classic At Bloomington Speedway

1. Logan Seavey (3)

 2. Daison Pursley (23)

 3. C.J. Leary (7)

 4. Ricky Lewis (2)

5. Shane Cottle (4)

6. Jake Swanson (9)

 7. Brady Bacon (20)

8. Kyle Cummins (14)

9. Justin Grant (12)

10. Matt Westfall (17)

11. Robert Ballou (8)

12. Brayden Fox (1)

 13. Kevin Thomas Jr. (22)

14. Chase Stockon (19)

 15. Harley Burns (15)

16. Anton Hernandez (13)

17. Mitchel Moles (18)

18. Carson Garrett (11)

19. Rylan Gray (16)

20. Joey Amantea (24)

21. Gabriel Gilbert (10)

 22. Geoff Ensign (6)

 23. Chance Crum (21)

24. Jadon Rogers (5). NT