2024 Chili Bowl Nationals

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Adds His Name To Chili Bowl Entry List

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Adds His Name To Chili Bowl Entry List

NASCAR Cup Series driver Ricky Stenhouse Jr. has added his name to the roster for the 2024 Chili Bowl Nationals.

Jan 10, 2024 by Brandon Paul

Following Tuesday’s announcement that Kyle Larson will be back in action Thursday at the 2024 Chili Bowl Nationals powered by NOS Energy, another phone call to Keith Kunz by Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will see the return of the Mississippi shoe on Friday night.

“Really looking forward to getting back to Chili Bowl. Obviously, took last year off and I missed it. I was sitting on the couch watching this week, and my wife looked at me and said, I can tell you really want to go; just go,” explained Stenhouse.

Feeling the itch to race before the event, Justin Grant had been on Stenhouse about running his second car, but being mid-way through the event, time did not allow that to happen. A text to Kyle Larson later, and things fell into place.

“I was texting with [Kyle] Larson, telling him, the same time you were trying to get your deal together, I was trying to get a deal together, and he said to call Keith [Kunz], which I’ve run for him one other time at the Chili Bowl, and I didn’t really perform the way I wanted to, so I wasn’t sure if he would let me back in one of his cars, but I shot him a text, and he said, let me get on that, so here we are. Obviously, Keith has the best cars out there, and they show every night, so I’m looking forward to getting back in a Midget at the Expo to see what we can do.”

The late entry marks the 17th time Stenhouse has participated in the Chili Bowl Nationals powered by NOS Energy, of which he has made the 55-lap championship event eight times, with a trio of top-ten finishes. Stenhouse will pilot the Keith Kunz Motorsports-Curb-Agajanian/NOS Energy No. 71R.

The 38th annual Chili Bowl Nationals takes place January 8-13, 2024, under the giant roof of the SageNet Center in Tulsa, Okla. Fans unable to attend the Chili Bowl Nationals can watch every lap live at http://www.floracing.com.

The General Admission Pit Pass is sold at the event and never sells out. They are $60 per weekday and $75 on Saturday. 

Chili Bowl Nationals 2024 Streaming On FloRacing

The Chili Bowl Nationals is streaming on FloRacing and the FloSports app. Replays of the event, breaking news, and every qualifying racing will be on both platforms. 

Every Chili Bowl Nationals Winner 

Here's who has won the Chili Bowl: 

  • 1987: Rich Vogler
  • 1988: Scott Hatton
  • 1989: Sammy Swindell
  • 1990: John Heydenreich
  • 1991: Lealand McSpadden
  • 1992: Sammy Swindell
  • 1993: Dave Blaney
  • 1994: Andy Hillenburg
  • 1995: Donnie Beechler
  • 1996: Sammy Swindell
  • 1997: Billy Boat
  • 1998: Sammy Swindell
  • 1999: Dan Boorse
  • 2000: Cory Kruseman
  • 2001: Jay Drake
  • 2002: Tony Stewart
  • 2003: Dan Boorse
  • 2004: Cory Kruseman
  • 2005: Tracy Hines
  • 2006: Tim McCreadie
  • 2007: Tony Stewart
  • 2008: Damion Gardner
  • 2009: Sammy Swindell
  • 2010: Kevin Swindell
  • 2011: Kevin Swindell
  • 2012: Kevin Swindell
  • 2013: Kevin Swindell
  • 2014: Bryan Clauson
  • 2015: Rico Abreu
  • 2016: Rico Abreu
  • 2017: Christopher Bell
  • 2018: Christopher Bell
  • 2019: Christopher Bell
  • 2020: Kyle Larson
  • 2021: Kyle Larson
  • 2022: Tanner Thorson
  • 2023: Logan Seavey

Why Is It Called The Chili Bowl?

The Chili Bowl Nationals were started back in 1987 by Lanny Edwards and Emmett Hahn. The two promoters partnered with “The Chili Bowl Company" owned by the Berryhill family. Edwards and Hahn decided to name the event after the company.

“My father bought into a restaurant on 11th street (in Tulsa),” said Bob Berryhill. “And it was called the Chili Bowl.”

Eventually, the Berryhill family took the Original Chili Bowl restaurant and turned it into a company that sold their chili in grocery stores. 

-Rob Blount

How To Watch Every Chili Bowl

With the help of MAVTV and Greg Stephen's Motorsports Video, FloRacing has assembled every championship feature event replay from the inception of the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals from 1987 to the present!

Fans can watch all 37 main events from the Chili Bowl Nationals on FloRacing by clicking here.  

Join The Racing Conversation on FloRacing Social