2024 Chili Bowl Nationals

BREAKING: Kyle Larson Is Returning To The Chili Bowl Nationals

BREAKING: Kyle Larson Is Returning To The Chili Bowl Nationals

Two-time Chili Bowl Nationals winner Kyle Larson announced on Tuesday that he is racing in the 2024 Chili Bowl Nationals on Thursday.

Jan 9, 2024 by FloRacing Staff

In a shocking turn of events, two-time Chili Bowl Nationals champion and American motorsports icon Kyle Larson announced he’s returning to the biggest Midget race in the world this week.

Larson, the 2020-21 Golden Driller winner, will reunite with former longtime car owner Keith Kunz and Pete Willoughby to drive the Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports No. 98K sponsored by DH Horton, FloRacing, HendrickCars.com

The 2021 NASCAR champion will compete in Thursday’s preliminary at the Chili Bowl Nationals, facing other notable names such as Tanner Thorson, Spencer Bayston, Brady Bacon, Ryan Bernal, Jesse Love, Kaylee Bryson, Ricky Thornton Jr, Gavan Boschele, Casey Shuman, Andrew Deal, Tim Buckwalter, CJ Leary, and many more.

Why Kyle Larson Is A Late 2024 Chili Bowl Nationals Entry 

It all started on Tuesday morning at 8:13 a.m. when Keith Kunz’ phone rang. Larson rang his former owner to congratulate him on Monday’s preliminary win with Tanner Carrick and asked if there was any chance at all he had another car available? Kunz had a car, and Larson immediately booked the travel arrangements.

If he locks-in to his 11th Chili Bowl Championship A-Main - via a top-two finish on Thursday - Larson plans to do the dirt double. He’ll race first that afternoon at Vado Speedway Park for the Wild West Shootout in Kevin Rumley’s Dirt Late Model, and then fly straight to Tulsa to drive the KKM No. 98K in the 55-lap main event with his third Golden Driller on the line.

Both races Larson would compete in will be streamed exclusively on FloRacing.  If you’re not a FloRacing subscriber, click here to become one today.

Chili Bowl Nationals 2024 Streaming On FloRacing

The Chili Bowl Nationals is streaming on FloRacing and the FloSports app. Replays of the event, breaking news, and every qualifying racing will be on both platforms. 

Every Chili Bowl Nationals Winner 

Here's who has won the Chili Bowl: 

  • 1987: Rich Vogler
  • 1988: Scott Hatton
  • 1989: Sammy Swindell
  • 1990: John Heydenreich
  • 1991: Lealand McSpadden
  • 1992: Sammy Swindell
  • 1993: Dave Blaney
  • 1994: Andy Hillenburg
  • 1995: Donnie Beechler
  • 1996: Sammy Swindell
  • 1997: Billy Boat
  • 1998: Sammy Swindell
  • 1999: Dan Boorse
  • 2000: Cory Kruseman
  • 2001: Jay Drake
  • 2002: Tony Stewart
  • 2003: Dan Boorse
  • 2004: Cory Kruseman
  • 2005: Tracy Hines
  • 2006: Tim McCreadie
  • 2007: Tony Stewart
  • 2008: Damion Gardner
  • 2009: Sammy Swindell
  • 2010: Kevin Swindell
  • 2011: Kevin Swindell
  • 2012: Kevin Swindell
  • 2013: Kevin Swindell
  • 2014: Bryan Clauson
  • 2015: Rico Abreu
  • 2016: Rico Abreu
  • 2017: Christopher Bell
  • 2018: Christopher Bell
  • 2019: Christopher Bell
  • 2020: Kyle Larson
  • 2021: Kyle Larson
  • 2022: Tanner Thorson
  • 2023: Logan Seavey

Why Is It Called The Chili Bowl?

The Chili Bowl Nationals were started back in 1987 by Lanny Edwards and Emmett Hahn. The two promoters partnered with “The Chili Bowl Company" owned by the Berryhill family. Edwards and Hahn decided to name the event after the company.

“My father bought into a restaurant on 11th street (in Tulsa),” said Bob Berryhill. “And it was called the Chili Bowl.”

Eventually, the Berryhill family took the Original Chili Bowl restaurant and turned it into a company that sold their chili in grocery stores. 

-Rob Blount

How To Watch Every Chili Bowl

With the help of MAVTV and Greg Stephen's Motorsports Video, FloRacing has assembled every championship feature event replay from the inception of the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals from 1987 to the present!

Fans can watch all 37 main events from the Chili Bowl Nationals on FloRacing by clicking here.  

Join The Racing Conversation on FloRacing Social