2022 Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions at Fremont Speedway

Cole Duncan Wins All Stars Finale; Tyler Courtney Crowned Champ

Cole Duncan Wins All Stars Finale; Tyler Courtney Crowned Champ

Cole Duncan dominated the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions season finale at Fremont Speedway, while Tyler Courtney was officially crowned champion.

Oct 9, 2022 by FloRacing Staff

FREMONT, Ohio -- Lockbourne, Ohio’s Cole Duncan was certainly the driver to beat Saturday night in Fremont Speedway’s Jim and Joanne Ford Classic Finale featuring the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1, not only activating the Classic Ink USA All Star Season Finale with the fastest qualifying lap, but driving on to earn the evening’s pole position via dash win, then ultimately conquering all 30 circuits of the $10,000-to-win main event. For Duncan, ace of the Sam McGhee Motorsports/Mike McGhee & Associates No. 11 sprint car, the All Star victory bumped his season count to two, also earning high honors in Atomic Speedway’s Freedom 40 in early June.

Although able to pressure Duncan on a few occasions, Travis Philo would race on to finish second, followed by Kyle Reinhardt, Cole Macedo, and Zeb Wise.

“When the track gets like that, we were lucky enough to draw the outside of the front row for the dash and it was my job to get a good start there and I didn’t want to let these guys down,” said Cole Duncan. “Sammy and Kevin and Jim Bob worked really hard this weekend and gave me two really, really good race cars. Just so thankful for the opportunity. We had a rough patch through the middle of the year and you almost feel like you are washed up…you can’t do anything right. It was a breath of fresh air to come and just be a driver tonight. I love driving my family car and putting in the work on it but it was really nice and relaxing to just come and drive and we were good from the time we unloaded.”

For the second time in as many tries, Indianapolis, Indiana’s Tyler Courtney and Clauson Marshall Racing are Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 champions, capping their 2022 title run with a ninth-place score in Fremont Speedway’s Jim & Joanne Ford Classic finale. Known as “Sunshine,” Courtney highlighted his title chase with eight All Star victories, seven of which accumulated during points action, with his most recent achievement in the Jim and Joanne Ford Classic preliminary on Friday, October 7.

“I certainly wouldn’t be here without these guys standing behind me,” said Tyler Courtney. “Just an overall very consistent season for this NOS Energy Drink team. It’s hard to think about points racing early on in the season, but once you get into June and Ohio Sprint Speedweek, you have to start thinking long term and putting yourself in the right position. To sit back and realize where I’m out and what I’m a part of, it’s really special. It’s been a ride, for sure, and I can’t wait to see what the future brings.”

Buch Motorsports’ Justin Peck finished second in the All Star driver standings, followed by Hunter Scheuerenberg, Cap Henry, Zeb Wise, Bill Balog, Chris Windom, and Kyle Reinhardt.

For those who can not witness the All Star Circuit of Champions live and in person, FloRacing.com, the official media partner and broadcast provider of the All Stars, has you covered. To access live and on-demand racing action from the All Star Circuit of Champions, visit FloRacing.com and become an annual PRO subscriber. Race fans can see all the USAC and dirt late-model action they want in addition to Eldora Speedway’s slate of races and those of the All Star Circuit of Champions. The subscription unlocks access to premium content across the entire FloSports network. Watch the events across all screens by downloading the FloSports app on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire and Chromecast.