2022 Tezos ASCoC OH Speedweek at Portsmouth Raceway Park

Brent Marks Claims Ohio Speedweek Finale; Justin Peck Wins War

Brent Marks Claims Ohio Speedweek Finale; Justin Peck Wins War

Brent Marks won the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions Ohio Sprint Speedweek finale at Portsmouth, while Justin Peck claimed the speedweek championship.

Jun 19, 2022 by FloRacing Staff

PORTSMOUTH, OH -- Myerstown, Pennsylvania’s Brent Marks flexed some muscle on Saturday night at Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, Ohio, not only earning his second Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 victory of the 2022 season, but scoring $20,554 in the process, simultaneously helping “America’s Series” cap Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Hercules Tires with the annual Dean Knittel Memorial.

Marks, who earned his first All Star triumph of the season in Williams Grove Speedway’s Tommy Hinnershitz Classic, led the final ten circuits around Portsmouth’s high banked oval, taking command over fellow Central Pennsylvania native, Danny Dietrich, with a dive through turns one and two on lap 21. The ace of the Murray Marks Motorsports No. 19 was third just two laps prior, following Dietrich by race-long leader, Tyler Courtney, on lap 20, then taking command the very next circuit. Marks started the 30-lapper from the outside-pole position.

Dietrich hung on to finish second, followed by Justin Peck, Tyler Courtney, and Sam Hafertepe Jr.

“Really, I was just trying to go where they weren’t,” Brent Marks said, ace of the M&M Painting and Construction No. 19 sprint car. “I was waiting for the bottom groove to come in, and when Danny (Dietrich) and Tyler (Courtney) started to race each other, it gave me the opportunity to slip by both of them. To get a Speedweek win is pretty special, and to win one like this is just incredible. I can’t say enough about this team. We’re looking forward to the opportunity to compete in Ohio Sprint Speedweek in the future.”


VIDEO: Watch highlights from Saturday's All Stars feature at Portsmouth Raceway Park. 

Peck’s podium finish helped him officially clinch the 2022 Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Hercules Tires championship, earning a $5,000 payday to go along with his pair of Speedweek victories. In all, Peck found the top-five on seven occasions in nine Speedweek starts, holding down a final championship margin of 26 points over “Sunshine” Tyler Courtney. Fellow two-time Speedweek winner, Danny Dietrich, was third in the Ohio Sprint Speedweek standings, followed by Cap Henry and Zeb Wise.

“This is what I’ve worked my whole life for, to come out here and win races, and be in a position to win championships like this,” Justin Peck, driver of the Coastal Race Parts No. 13, said. “I’ve always idolized guys that came out here and won Speedweek championships, and it’s great that Tom Buch gave us the opportunity to come out here and accomplish that goal. I’m a little speechless right now because I never thought I’d ever be in this position.”

For those who can not witness the All Star Circuit of Champions live and in person, FloRacing.com, the official media partner and broadcast provider of the All Stars, has you covered. To access live and on-demand racing action from the All Star Circuit of Champions, visit FloRacing.com and become an annual PRO subscriber. Race fans can see all the USAC and dirt late-model action they want in addition to Eldora Speedway’s slate of races and those of the All Star Circuit of Champions. The subscription unlocks access to premium content across the entire FloSports network. Watch the events across all screens by downloading the FloSports app on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire and Chromecast.