2022 Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout

Digging Into The Record-Breaking Tulsa Shootout Entry List

Digging Into The Record-Breaking Tulsa Shootout Entry List

The record-breaking Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout entry list includes drivers from NASCAR, USAC, All Star Circuit of Champions, ASCS and more.

Dec 8, 2021 by Brandon Paul
Digging Into The Record-Breaking Tulsa Shootout Entry List

They call it the Mecca of Micros. And this year, the Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout at the SageNet Center will be bigger than ever before.  

Event officials recently announced a record-breaking number of entries for the annual event for Micro Sprints, with 1,430 entries filed for 617 drivers across six divisions.  

Thirty-five U.S. states and one Australian province are represented on the entry list for the event, which will be held December 29 – January 1 in Tulsa, Oklahoma. 

Six divisions will be in action during this year’s event: Winged Outlaw, Non-Wing Outlaw, Winged A-Class, Stock Non-Wing, Restricted A Class and Junior Sprints. The famous quadruple duty consisting of Winged Outlaws, Non-Wing Outlaws, Winged A Class and Stock Non-Wings will be attempted by many drivers.  

Drivers entered include Micro Sprint standouts, Sprint Car champions, NASCAR national series drivers and winners from all over the grassroots racing world.  

A trio of national Sprint Car champions from the 2021 season plan to compete in this year’s Tulsa Shootout.  

2021 All Star Circuit of Champions champion Tyler Courtney is entered for both the Winged A-Class and Stock Non-Wing races, while 2021 USAC National Sprint Car Series champion Brady Bacon is scheduled to pull quadruple duty. Bacon is a four-time Tulsa Shootout winner, with Winged Outlaw wins in 2008 and 2016, a Winged A-Class win in 2004 and a Non-Wing Outlaw win in 2020.  

2021 Lucas Oil ASCS National champion and multi-time Tulsa Shootout winner Blake Hahn will also attempt the quadfecta. Hahn won his first Tulsa Shootout in the Junior Sprints division in 2006 before Winged Outlaw and Non-Wing Outlaw features in 2011. He also won in non-active divisions include the ECOtec Midgets and 600cc Modified division.  

A pair of NASCAR national series drivers will also try to compete in all four divisions.  

NASCAR Cup Series driver Christopher Bell will return to the Tulsa Shootout looking to back up his Winged Outlaw win in 2018. Of course, Bell has plenty of additional success at Tulsa Expo Raceway with three Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals wins on his resume.  

Behind The Scenes: C-Bell's Micro Shop

VIDEO: NASCAR Cup Series driver Christopher Bell discusses the Tulsa Shootout with FloRacing. 

2020 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Sheldon Creed, who has dabbled in Micro Sprints at Millbridge Speedway, has filed an entry for all four headline divisions.  

Out of all the drivers who have attempted the famed quadruple duty, Jason McDougal has recorded the most impressive result. McDougal won three of the four features – Non-Wing Outlaw, Stock Non-Wing and Winged A-Class – during the 2018 event.  

Five of the six defending Tulsa Shootout champions from last year – Kris Carroll (Non-Wing Outlaw), Lucas Mauldin (Jr. Sprint), Mitchel Moles (Outlaw), Jaxton Wiggs (Restricted), Mason Keefer (600cc Modified) – will return to defend their crowns.  

Other previous Tulsa Shootout winners entered include Jade Avedisian, Jett Barnes, Brad Best, Alex Bright, Michael Faccinto, Frank Flud, Kyle Jones, Jake Hagopian, Trey Marcham, Jadon Rogers, Kyle Spence, Darren Stewart, Jason Tyer, Chad Winfrey and Austin Wood.  

Open-wheel stars Logan Seavey and Kevin Thomas Jr. have both filed entries for the event. Seavey plans to compete in the Winged Outlaw and Non-Wing Outlaw divisions, while KTJ is entered in the Non-Wing Outlaws, Winged A-Class and Stock Non-Wing.  

The full list of 1,430 entries (and counting) can be found on the Tulsa Shootout website by clicking here 

Race fans unable to make it to Tulsa, Oklahoma for the event will be able to watch all the action live on FloRacing. If you’re not already a subscriber, click here to become one today.