2021 All Star Circuit of Champions at Knoxville Raceway

Kerry Madsen Scores Second Straight All Star Victory With Knoxville Triumph

Kerry Madsen Scores Second Straight All Star Victory With Knoxville Triumph

For the second straight night, Kerry Madsen stood in FloRacing All Star Circuit of Champions victory lane; this time at the world-famous Knoxville Raceway.

Jul 31, 2021 by FloRacing Staff
Kerry Madsen Scores Second Straight All Star Victory With Knoxville Triumph

KNOXVILLE, Iowa - - For the second time in as many nights, the “Madman” Kerry Madsen is a FloRacing All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 main event winner, this time finding victory lane at the world-famous Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville, Iowa, on Saturday, July 31. Lining up third on the 25-lap grid, Madsen’s path to victory lane was hard-fought and determined, forced to outduel Sam McGhee Motorsports’ Spencer Bayston, as well as KCP Racing’s Gio Scelzi. The driver of the Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian Racing No. 14 sprint car took command for the first time on lap 16, driving on from third to secure a $7,000 payday, as well as an 11th-career Series victory.

“We didn’t really know where the predominant lines were going to be,” said Madsen in Knoxville Raceway victory lane, pilot of the Rush Truck Centers, Advance Auto Parts, Sage Fruit, Curb Records, Ford Performance, No. 14 sprint car. “It was pretty tricky, and you could gain a spot, and lose a spot. I decided to calm down and just hit the bottom, and we were able to get back by a couple cars. From there we just stayed down there. We probably weren’t the best we’ve been tonight, but it doesn’t matter when you get the victory.”

Bayston, who started from the pole position, led the first 12 circuits of the 25-lap contest, smooth sailing ahead of the field until lap traffic entered the picture on lap eight. It was Bayston’s run in with slower cars that allowed Madsen to close in on the leader. The duo battled side-by-side at the line for two consecutive circuits, each scoring in Bayston’s favor. Meanwhile, Scelzi gradually entered the picture, powering by Madsen for second on lap 12, all before taking command from Bayston the following circuit. Trying to mimic Scelzi’s move, Madsen also scooted by Bayston on lap 13.

Switching his primary focus to the bottom of the speedway, Madsen gained momentum and caught the tailtank of Scelzi on lap 16, eventually driving by the KCP Racing entry at the exit of turn two. The main event’s first and only caution appeared on lap 18 ultimately ridding the track of traffic; just what Madsen needed.

From that point forward, it was the “Madman Show” at the front of the field, withstanding some late-race pressure by Bayston, who snuck back by Scelzi on lap 21.

Bayston held on to finish second, followed by Gio Scelzi, Brian Brown, and Rico Abreu.

“I felt I was setting a pretty good pace,” said Bayston of the early stages of the race. “I kept hearing them behind me, and when you get to traffic, you never know what’s going to happen. If you make one slipup, these guys pounce. You have to be on your ‘A game,’ but I felt we did everything we needed to do...I just needed to race a little better in the traffic. When the track started going away, I had to get the wing back and that hurt me a little on the bottom. I still felt we were a really good car overall.”

The All Star Circuit of Champions will not return to competition until Friday and Saturday, August 20-21, with a pair of stops at I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Michigan, and Plymouth Speedway in Plymouth, Indiana. The events will award $5,000 and $6,000, respectively.

For those who can not witness the All Star Circuit of Champions live and in person, FloRacing.com, the official media partner and broadcast provider of the All Stars, has you covered. To access live and on-demand racing action from the All Star Circuit of Champions, visit FloRacing.com and become an annual PRO subscriber. Race fans can see all the USAC and dirt late-model action they want in addition to Eldora Speedway’s slate of races and those of the All Star Circuit of Champions. The subscription unlocks access to premium content across the entire FloSports network. Watch the events across all screens by downloading the FloSports app on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire and Chromecast.


1. 14-Kerry Madsen [3]; 2. 11-Spencer Bayston [1]; 3. 18-Gio Scelzi [4]; 4. 21-Brian Brown [7]; 5. 24-Rico Abreu [8]; 6. 56N-Davey Heskin [14]; 7. 17A-Austin McCarl [9]; 8. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr. [13]; 9. 7BC-Tyler Courtney [11]; 10. 5P-Parker Price Miller [19]; 11. 5-Paul McMahan [2]; 12. 27-Carson McCarl [10]; 13. O9-Matt Juhl [15]; 14. 1M-Don Droud Jr [17]; 15. 24X-Terry McCarl [18]; 16. 17W-Shane Golobic [16]; 17. 13-Justin Peck [23]; 18. 3-Ayrton Gennetten [6]; 19. 26-Cory Eliason [25]; 20. 4-Cap Henry [26]; 21. 2KS-Chad Kemenah [20]; 22. 17B-Bill Balog [21]; 23. 83-Lynton Jeffrey [12]; 24. 7-Justin Henderson [5]; 25. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg [24]; 26. 49-Josh Schneiderman [22] 

Lap Leaders: Spencer Bayston (1-12), Gio Scelzi (13-15), Kerry Madsen (16-25)