Port Royal Speedway Opening Day All-Time Win List

Port Royal Speedway Opening Day All-Time Win List

Port Royal Speedway Opening Day All-Time Win List

Mar 4, 2021 by Gary Silverman
Port Royal Speedway Opening Day All-Time Win List

Fayetteville, PA's Lance Dewease has won opening day at Port Royal Speedway in each of the past three decades (1994, 2003, 2018) and will attempt to add a fourth this Sunday at the 79th annual opener at the "Speed Palace".

In last year's opener, it was All Star Circuit of Champions invader, Cory Eliason, who picked up his first ever win at Port Royal.

Todd Shaffer remains the all-time king on opening day with three-win streaks in 1995-1997 and 2007-2009 giving "Mr. Excitement" a record tally of six.

Semi-active Dave Blaney holds the distinction of the having the longest gap between opening day wins, claiming his first 1984 and waiting 29 years before returning to victory lane in 2013.

The weekly Super Late Model division joined the opening day card in 2013 with Andy Haus victorious. Haus won again in 2016 and remains tied with Jason Covert (2017, 2019) with most SLM wins on opening day.

Check out the list of Port Royal opening day winners and watch the 2021 Opening Day at Port Royal Speedway this Sunday, March 7 live on FloRacing at 2:00 PM ET.


Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Throwback: Port Royal 1973 Season Recap

Port Royal Speedway All-Time Opening Day Win List

1950Elmer Gray
1951Curt Zook
1952Eddie McCardle
1953Carl Vogt
1954Luke Gutshall
1955Jimmy Gibbons
1956Eddie McCardle (2)
1957Eddie McCardle (3)
1958Al Chamberlain
1959Dick Tobias
1960Dick Tobias (2)
1961Sonny Kratzer
1962Bryan Osgood
1963Roger Sowers
1964Henry Jacoby
1965Dick Swarmer
1966Mitch Smith
1967Mitch Smith (2)
1968Milt Miller
1969Johnny Grum
1970Mitch Smith (3)
1971Mitch Smith (4)
1972Jan Opperman
1973Jan Opperman (2)
1974Lynn Paxton
1975Johnny Grum (2)
1976Jay Myers
1977Jay Myers (2)
1978Jay Myers (3)
1979Lynn Paxton (2)
1980Lynn Paxton (3)
1981Keith Kauffman
1982Steve Smith
1983Bobby Davis Jr.
1984Dave Blaney
1985Keith Kauffman (2)
1986Doug Wolfgang
1987Stevie Smith
1988Dan Dietrich
1989Joey Gravino
1990Dave Kelly
1991Jeff Swindell
1992Joey Kuhn
1993Keith Kauffman (3)
1994Lance Dewease
1995Todd Shaffer
1996Todd Shaffer (2)
1997Todd Shaffer (3)
1998Fred Rahmer
1999Kevin Gobrecht
2000Skip Jackson
2001Alan Cole
2002Keith Kauffman
2003Lance Dewease (2)
2004Mark Smith
2005Mark Smith (2)
2006Todd Shaffer (4)
2007Todd Shaffer (5)
2008Todd Shaffer (6)
2009Chad Layton
2010Rick Lafferty
2011Blaine Heimbach
2012Greg Hodnett
2013Dave Blaney-410 (2)
Andy Haus-SLM
2014Blane Heimbach-410 (2)
Tim Wilson-SLM
2015Aaron Ott-410
Mike Lupfer-SLM
2016Greg Hodnett-410 (2)
Andy Haus-SLM
2017Lynton Jeffery-410
Jason Covert-SLM
2018Lance Dewease-410 (3)
Jeff Rine-SLM
2019Dylan Cisney-410
Jason Covert-SLM (2)
2020Cory Eliason-410
Trever Feathers-SLM