2020 Short Track Nationals

Blake Hahn Eyes Short Track Nationals Three-peat

Blake Hahn Eyes Short Track Nationals Three-peat

Since 1988, the COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires has seen five drivers pull off back-to-back wins.

Oct 2, 2020 by FloRacing Staff
Blake Hahn Eyes Short Track Nationals Three-peat

Since 1988, the COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires has seen five drivers pull off back-to-back wins.

Steve Kinser started the trend with the first two events. The Little Rock oval did not see another back-to-back winner until Gary Wright in 2003 and 2004. Tony Bruce, Jr. was next in 2008 and 2009, with Sammy Swindell earning his fourth and fifth overall Short Track Nationals' titles in 2016 and 2017.

Since 2018, the name on top as been Oklahoma's Blake Hahn.

Watch the Short Track Nationals at I-30 Speedway LIVE on FloRacing!

Riding into the weekend with five wins on the season in both Sprint Car and Midget competition, Hahn has his sight set on making history as the first driver to pull off the Short Track Nationals three-peat.

"The goal is always to win, but a win this weekend would be big," stated Hahn. "To be on a list with Bruce, Kinser, Swindell, and Wright is already a huge accomplishment, especially at an event like Short Track, so to be the first to go three for three; I don't know if I can put into words what that would mean for me, much less this team."

Winning his last visit to "Hammer Hill" during ASCS Sprint Week competition by the narrowest of margins over Tim Crawley, the field of 54 was tough, but Hahn knows that Short Track is a much different story.

"The field we had during Sprint Week was some of the best you can race against, but when it comes to the Short Track Nationals, it's a different beast," explained Hahn.

"Everyone turns it up and lets loose and for good reason. To have a Short Track Nationals win on your list of accomplishments is career-defining, and everyone is on another level, so we're not looking at our last win as an indication of this weekend's outcome. We need to bring our absolute best and focus on making sure we're there at the end and not getting ourselves buried."

Sitting at 59 confirmed entries, with more on the way, the star-studded event takes place Friday, October 2, and Saturday, October 3, with a Thursday night Test and Tune preceding the event. Two-day tickets are on sale for $40. Tickets purchased the day of the race are $20 for Friday and $28 for Saturday. For the two-day tickets and day of purchase, paying by Debit or Credit Card will add $2.

Tickets can be purchased by calling (501) 455-4567 or online at https://www.i-30speedway.com/short-track-nationals.

Past STN Champions:

Blake Hahn (2018 and 2019); Sammy Swindell (2017, 2016, 2013, 2011, and 1990); Christopher Bell (2014); Paul McMahan (2012 and 2002); Brad Sweet (2010); Tony Bruce, Jr. (2009 and 2008); Jason Meyers (2007); Jason Johnson (2006); Tim Montgomery (2005); Gary Wright (2004, 2003, 1999, and 1995); Jason Sides (2001); Mike Ward (2000); Tim Crawley (1998); Wayne Johnson (1997); Pete Butler (1996); Terry Gray (1994); John Gerloff (1993); Steve Kinser (1991; 1989, and 1988); Rain (2015 and 1992)

2020 Driver Standings (Top 15): 

1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 1,942; 2. Roger Crockett 1,680; 3. Harli White 1,613; 4. Scott Bogucki 1,600; 5. Jordon Mallett 1,581; 6. Blake Hahn 1,539; 7. Dylan Westbrook 1,526, 8. Matt Covington 1,446; 9. Garet Williamson 1,367; 10. Danny Sams 1,282; 11. Chase Randall 1,237; 12. Alex Hill 1,226; 13. Ryan Bickett 1,133; 14. Travis Reber 1,107; 15. Justin Sanders 907

2020 A-Feature Winner(s): 

Sam Hafertepe, Jr. – 6 (2/29 – Canyon Speedway Park; 6/25 – Caney Valley Speedway; 6/27 – I-30 Speedway; 7/17 – U.S. 36 Raceway; 9/13 – I-80 Speedway; 9/19 – Lucas Oil Speedway); Mark Smith – 2 (9/17 – Lucas Oil Speedway, 9/18 – Lucas Oil Speedway); Matt Covington - 1 (2/28 - Canyon Speedway Park); Brad Sweet – 1 (3/6 – Merced Speedway); Andy Forsberg – 1 (3/8 – Petaluma Speedway); Harli White – 1 (7/11 – Riverside International Speedway); Austin McCarl – 1 (8/6 – Knoxville Raceway); Lynton Jeffrey – 1 (8/7 – Knoxville Raceway); Kerry Madsen – 1 (8/8 – Knoxville Raceway); Brian Brown – 1 (8/9 – Southern Iowa Speedway)

ASCS Sponsors:

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV Motorsports Network is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto http://www.mavtv.com for more information.

Sawblade.com is the official SawBlade of the American Sprint Car Series and title sponsor of every National Tour A-Feature as well as Victory Lane. For more information, log onto https://www.sawblade.com and follow along on Social Media at @SawBladecom on Twitter, on Instagram at Sawblade.com_, and Facebook.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented the MAVTV Motorsports Network include Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix. All Heat Races are brought to you by SCE Gaskets. All B-Features are presented by BMRS.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Geico, SRI, General Tire, MAVTV Motorsports Network, LucasOilRacing.tv, and General Tire.

All events are broadcast online at http://www.racinboys.com.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by SCE Gaskets, K&N Filters, BMRS, SpeedMart, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, MyRacePass.com, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley's Racing Products, and Triple X Race, Co.