Carson Short Teams Up With Daigh/Phillips For 2020

Marion, Ill. pilot Carson Short will compete on the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car trail in 2020 for Daigh/Phillips Motorsports beginning with the season openers on February 13-14-15 at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla.

Short, a one-time winner with the series during the 2016 Indiana Sprint Week round at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind., has driven his family-owned No. 21 on the circuit since 2014.  For 2020, the ninth-place driver in last season’s standings will be back in black, this time with the No. 71p for the team which has won 19 series events since 2013 with drivers Dave Darland (17) and Jason McDougal (2).

McDougal vacated the Daigh/Phillips Motorsports seat during the offseason, allowing Short the opportunity to jump in the seat for 2020.

“I got word that Jason was going to do something else this year and not run the sprint car, so I called them up,” Short recalled.  “I try to keep a good close relationship with everybody, but I related more to them just because they’re a smaller team, a family team per se, and just good, dedicated racers.  I kind of based my stuff off that as well.  They’re family owned and they’re there to race and not much else, and they’re strongly passionate about it."

Short, whose offseason job throughout this winter involves laying pipeline in North Carolina, is proud to join a team whose 19 career wins with the series rank them within the 25 in USAC National Sprint Car history.  Short’s three top-fives and 14 top-tens in 26 starts during the 2019 season ranked him within the top-ten in all three categories, and he feels the transition to Daigh/Phillips should be a match, considering their passion, talent and both having regularly competed utilizing the DRC chassis.

“(Steve Phillips) isn’t there for any BS,” Short stated.  “He’s there to win races and contend for a championship because that’s what pays the bills.  I can relate a lot to that.  When I race my car, that race dictates what race I’m going to after that.  With him setting up the cars for as many different drivers as he has, I don’t think there’ll be a problem with him and I mending well.”

The debut of the Short and Daigh/Phillips combo will begins in February in Ocala, Fla. where Short recorded fast qualifying time and established new one-lap USAC Sprint Car track records on successive nights to open the year.

The 2020 season openers for the USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championship and the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship begin in February at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla.  Midgets hit the track for practice on Feb. 6 with two full nights of racing to follow on Feb. 7-8.  The sprints take their turn the following week with practice on Feb. 12 and three-straight nights of full racing programs on Feb. 13-14-15.

Donnie Moran Headlines Early East Bay WinterNationals Modified Entry List

The early entry list for Modified Week of the 44th Annual East Bay Winternationals is headlined by Dirt Late Model Hall of Famer Donnie Moran of Dresden, OH. Moran will be driving the 2A for Matt Altiers. Watch every lap from Modified Week at the East Bay Winternationals January 21 - 25 at FloRacing!

Sheppard Wins 2nd in a Row in Arizona

With his toughest competitor failing to hunt him down, Brandon Sheppard continued his hunt for a five-figure bonus Wednesday at FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway.

Anthony D'Alessio To Contend For 2020 USAC Sprint Rookie of the Year

Anthony D’Alessio is stepping up to challenge for USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Rookie of the Year honors in the upcoming 2020 season.

CJ Leary Selected as Non-Wing Driver of the Year

C.J. Leary, who captured his initial USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car championship during the 2019 season, was named North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll driver of the year.

Shane Cockrum Teams With Five-Three For 2020

Shane Cockrum, a three-time winner on the USAC Silver Crown Champ Car Series trail during his career, has joined Five Three Motorsports for the dirt portion of the series schedule for the 2020 season.

Brandon Sheppard Claims Wild West Shootout Victory

The low groove carried Brandon Sheppard into the lead Sunday at FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway. The high groove helped the New Berlin, Ill., driver keep it in the closing laps of his second-round Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout victory worth $5,000.

Brian Shirley Takes Round #1 At The 2020 Wild West Shootout


Brian Shirley’s winning debut Saturday at FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway almost didn’t happen.

2020 Wild West Shootout Late Model Roster Released


The tentative alphabetical Late Model roster for the 2020 Wild West Shootout from FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway:

Everything You Need To Know About 2020 Wild West Shoutout


The action is heading out west once again for the 2020 Wild West Shootout which will be live on And to make sure you're ready for this year's event check out everything you need to know below.