Tyler Courtney Eyes Walk Off Moment At Turkey Night

There aren’t too many better ways for a champion to celebrate a title than in victory lane after winning the season finale.  It’s akin to a walk-off homer to win the World Series ala Bill Mazeroski or Joe Carter.  Nothing could be finer.

Watch 2019 USAC Turkey Night at Ventura Raceway Live!

Nov. 28 | 6:15 PM ET

Tyler Courtney has already wrapped up the 2019 USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget title.  A cherry on top, in more ways than one, would be a win in this Thursday night’s Turkey Night Grand Prix at California’s Ventura Raceway.

Firstly, he’d win the Turkey Night Grand Prix, the premier midget event on the west coast and the longest, most tradition-race in the entire sport which dates to the infancy of midget racing in 1934.

Secondly, it would put the 18-time USAC National feature winner in 2019 into yet another exclusive category of drivers who’ve won the season finale and the title in the same season.

To date, it’s occurred five times over the course of the past six-plus decades with Shorty Templeman as the first individual to accomplish the feat in 1957, walking out of Bonelli Stadium in Saugus, Calif. with multiple pieces of hardware after winning for car owners Ashley and Kathryn Wright.  Bob Wente was the next to do so in 1963 for Bob Higman indoors at Ohio’s Cincinnati Gardens.

In most recent years, the final sendoff to the season has been Turkey Night in a variety of California locations.  Jason Leffler is the lone driver to win both the season opener (Phoenix, Ariz.), the season finale (Irwindale, Calif.) and the series championship all within the same year.  Courtney is in line to become the second to pull off the trifecta with a February win in the first race at Ocala, Fla. and a title already in his possession.  An elusive Turkey Night crown, where he finished a career best 5th last year, awaits.

Watch 2019 USAC Turkey Night at Ventura Raceway Live!

Nov. 28 | 6:15 PM ET

The two most recent drivers to pull off the racing “walk off” were Bobby East in 2004 who, like Leffler, pulled off the feat in the famed Steve Lewis No. 9 while Bryan Clauson got the job done in 2010 aboard Corey Tucker/BCI/Keith Kunz’s No. 39.  Both East and Clauson won their closers at Irwindale.

There’ve been a number of drivers who’ve started their season on the right foot and used the early season momentum to propel them to a USAC National Midget title.  Courtney, of Indianapolis, Ind., could become the second consecutive driver to win the season opening race and cruise to a championship following Logan Seavey’s run starting at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin in 2018.

Fellow drivers who’ve done it include Mel Kenyon (1968), Rich Vogler (1978) and Steve Lotshaw (1979) who all were victorious in cool January events at the unpredictable indoor concrete bullring of the Memorial Coliseum in Ft. Wayne, Ind.

Watch 2019 USAC Turkey Night at Ventura Raceway Live!

Nov. 28 | 6:15 PM ET

Leffler, of course, got the job done at Phoenix International Raceway in 1999 followed by Bryan Clauson at Dodge City Raceway Park in Kansas to kick off 2011 and Rico Abreu at Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway in 2014.

Championship or otherwise, it’s been nearly two decades since a driver has won both the season opener and finale within the same year.  Tony Stewart was the most recent in 2000, winning both February’s Copper World at Phoenix and Turkey Night at Irwindale at November.

Parnelli Jones bookended the 1964 campaign with wins at Ascot Park.  Rich Vogler won indoors to open 1984 and ended it in victory lane under the sunshine of Phoenix.  Billy Boat ramped up a spectacular year in 1996 with a February Copper World triumph and wound it down with his second of three-straight Turkey Night wins at Perris, Calif.  Leffler scored both ends of the 1999 season at Phoenix and Irwindale.


1957: Shorty Templeman

1963: Bob Wente

1999: Jason Leffler

2004: Bobby East

2010: Bryan Clauson


1968: Mel Kenyon

1978: Rich Vogler

1979: Steve Lotshaw

1999: Jason Leffler

2011: Bryan Clauson

2014: Rico Abreu

2018: Logan Seavey

2019: Tyler Courtney


1964: Parnelli Jones

1984: Rich Vogler

1996: Billy Boat

1999: Jason Leffler

2000: Tony Stewart

Adams Rallies to Claim Winternationals Mod Finale


The fifth and final night of the first week of the 2020 Winternationals kept the theme of high drama to the end well in play. With longer distance features for Street Stocks and Modifieds, story lines played out to the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat.

East Bay Binge Watch: Everything From Mod Week At East Bay


As we go into the final day of Modified week at East Bay action, let's binge watch and catch up on everything we've seen so far this week. 

Unlock this article, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Burrows Doubles Down with Second Winternationals Win


Night number four of the 2020 Winternationals was a pivotal night for the racers in the Modified and Street Stocks divisions. When it was all said and done on Friday night, the top six in weekly points would be locked in with an automatic spot in the Saturday A-main.

Lee Brings Home East Bay Winternationals Win on Night #3


The third night of the 2020 Winternationals saw the third different feature winner in the Modified ranks. Tennessee racer Lucas Lee held off all challengers in the 30-lap to record the victory.

Burrows Edges Hughes for Night Two East Bay Triumph


For the second night in a row, drama prevailed in the running of the Modified A Main as the outcome wasn’t decided until the last lap. On the second night of the action, the winner would take the top prize by a half car length at the checkers.

Dixon Opens Winternationals Modified Week in Victory Lane


A chilly night greeted the hardy fans who attended the opening night of the 44th annual Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park. On tap was a 25-lap main event for UMP/EBRP Modifieds and a 20-lapper for the companion Street Stocks.

Watch Guide: Winternationals Modified Week at East Bay

The 44th Annual East Bay Winternationals returns January 21 - 25 LIVE on FloRacing.com. Modifieds will race for a top prize of $1,000 on the first two nights with the Street Stocks doing battle for $400 to win for the first three nights. The winner’s share jumps to $1,500 on the next two nights for the Modifieds while the Friday Street Stock winner claims $500. For the Saturday finale, the Modified winner will receive $5,000 with the Street Stock champion getting $1,000.

Sheppard Takes Loot in Wild West Shootout Finale

Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., captured the biggest prize of the 14th annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout on Sunday at FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway, winning the $15,000 Shaw Trucking 50 finale along with a $10,000 bonus for his third victory of the miniseries.

2020 USAC West Coast Sprint Schedule Announced

USAC’s West Coast Sprint Car division is raring to go entering its 11th season in 2020.

Jimmie Johnson Named Daytona USAC.25 Grand Marshal

Seven-time NASCAR champion and two-time Daytona 500 winner, Jimmie Johnson, has been named the Honorary Grand Marshal for the USAC.25 Series' national race at Daytona International Speedway Feb 6-9, 2020.