Title Race Between Robert Dalby & Cory Elliott Heads To Ventura

After hard fought battles at Placerville and Bakersfield, the USAC Western States Midget championship will be decided at Jim Naylor’s Ventura Raceway.

Set for Thursday, November 28th, the “79th Running of the Turkey Night Grand Prix” is one of the most prestigious and longest running motorsports events in the country. The NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midgets will also battle for their crown in a special 98-lap main event and the USAC West Coast and VRA Sprint Cars will join the card.

Watch 2019 USAC Turkey Night at Ventura Raceway Live!

Nov. 27-28 | 3PM ET

The festivities for the “79th Running of the Turkey Night Grand Prix” will start on Wednesday, November 27th. That night, the USAC West Coast and VRA Sprint Cars will clash in a special non-points event and the USAC National and Western States Midgets will have their practice sessions. On Thursday, the Sprint Cars will return for their non-point “ARP Battle of the Beach” finale along with the complete midget show with time trials, last chance races, and 98-lap main event. There will be a special driver autograph session at intermission.

The Wednesday Pit Gates at the “The Best Little Dirt Track in America” will open at 11:45am, the Driver’s Meeting will be held at 2:45pm, the Spectator Gates open at 3:00pm, and practice starts at 3:15pm. On Thursday, the Pit Gates will open at 11:00am and the other times will be the same.

Since Bob Swanson took the checkered flags at Gilmore Stadium in 1934, the “Turkey Night Grand Prix” (TNGP) has been a “must win” race for drivers from across the country. While other venues like Gardena, Speedway 605, Saugus, Bakersfield, Irwindale, and Perris have showcased the event, it is perhaps best known at the legendary Ascot Park. In 1997, Ventura Raceway hosted it’s first “granddaddy of all midget races” and Billy Boat claimed his third-straight “Thanksgiving Classic.” Last year, Christopher Bell outdueled NASCAR’s Kyle Larson to add his name for the third time to the perpetual “Aggie Trophy” alongside many legends of the sport. A complete win list of the “Turkey Night Grand Prix is at the end of this release.

Watch 2019 USAC Turkey Night at Ventura Raceway Live!

Nov. 27-28 | 3PM ET

Since May 24, 1986, 148 USAC Western States Midget events have been held at the Ventura County Fairgrounds. Sleepy Tripp claimed the inaugural victory and leads all drivers with eighteen Ventura wins. When the series last visited the popular oval on October 26th, Northern California’s Chase Johnson earned his first series win. At press time, Johnny Cofer holds the 1-lap qualifying record of 11.675, set on November 18, 1995 and a complete series Ventura win list is at the bottom of this release.

Heading to the “Turkey Night Grand Prix,” Robert Dalby (Anaheim, CA) has a 29-point lead over the competition. To date, the driver of the family owned #4D R-D Spring & Stamping / Lucas Oil Spike has posted three feature wins, one Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Award, four heat race victories, eight top-10 finishes, and 46 feature laps led on the year. Robert will be looking to clinch the title with another win at Ventura Raceway.

Cory Elliott (Bakersfield, CA) is second in the Western States Midget point standings. Racing the family owned #11E Capital E Trucking / Nagel Earthworks Spike, Elliott has two Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Awards, three heat race victories, one Saldana Racing Products Hard Charger Award, eight top-10 finishes, and 30 feature laps led to his credit. The 2015 Rookie of the Year will have his sights on the championship at the Thanksgiving Classic.

Watch 2019 USAC Turkey Night at Ventura Raceway Live!

Nov. 27-28 | 3PM ET

David Prickett (Fresno, CA) has climbed to third in the chase for the championship. The pilot of the Neverlift Motorsports’ #15DJ Monster Seal Tire Sealant / Western Performance Spike has two heat race victories, two Saldana Racing Products Hard Charger Awards, and six top-10 finishes on the year. The 2012 Dirt Champion will be looking to add the prestigious race to his resume.

Leading rookie contender Ben Worth (Coalinga, CA) has risen to fourth in the Western point standings. Racing Dean Alexander’s #5G Walker Air Filtration / WFX Spike, Worth has posted one feature win, six top-10 finishes, and 32 feature laps led in the campaign. Ben will have his sights on claiming the 98-lap main event at the Ventura County Fairgrounds. 

C.J. Sarna (Palm Desert, CA) has climbed to fifth in the championship point chase. Driving his #20 Cactus Jack’s Bar & Grill / Final Final Clothing Spike, Sarna has one heat race victory, two Saldana Racing Products Hard Charger Awards, and six top-10 finishes on the year. The 2007 co-rookie of the year will be looking for the feature win at Ventura Raceway. 

Watch 2019 USAC Turkey Night at Ventura Raceway Live!

Nov. 27-28 | 3PM ET

While Worth leads the chase for Rookie of the Year honors, Austin Liggett (Tracy, CA), Gage Rucker (Truxton, MO), Troy Morris III (Bakersfield, CA), Mike Leach Jr. (Orange, CA), Anthony Lopiccolo (Yorba Linda), Robert Carson (Concord, CA), Jackson Dukes (Clovis, CA), Beau Lemire (Placerville, CA), and Ricky Lewis (Oxnard, CA) are also in contention.

“Sunshine” Tyler Courtney (Indianapolis, IN) leads the NOS Energy Drink USAC National point chase. Chris Windom, Logan Seavey, “KTJ” Kevin Thomas Jr., Zeb Wise, Tanner Carrick, Jerry Coons Jr., Jason McDougal, Tucker Klassmeyer, and Chad Boat round out the top-10 in points.

Bacon Doubles Up With Second Straight Ocala Score

Brady Bacon took no chances on his cool down lap following Saturday night’s USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Winter Dirt Games XI victory at Bubba Raceway Park.

Bacon Snags Winter Dirt Games Passing Master Award

Brady Bacon spent this past weekend racking up victories and prize money at Bubba Raceway Park.

Kyle Larson: From Dirt Track To Daytona


Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Kyle Larson will lock into another vehicle and push it to its limits today at the Daytona 500. 

Valentine's Day USAC History

Love is in the air on February 14 each year, but so is the smell of methanol and the sights and sounds of USAC racing, at least on a handful of occasions throughout the club’s 65 years of history.

Brady Bacon Bolts To Victory At Ocala


Entering Friday night’s USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship season opener, the most recent time Brady Bacon left Bubba Raceway Park with a top-five finish was three years ago.

Winter Dirt Games Success Translates to Championships

The beginning of a new USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car season is one in which drivers and teams either resume their cohesiveness or, for new teams, try to meld successful relationships that will ultimately reap their rewards with wins, and if everything works out just right, a championship at season’s end.

Ocala Presents Opportunity for Rare USAC History

The early part of the season in Florida is noted for being the place to climb out of the cold and dreary months of winter and heat up with both the weather and the racing action on hand.

Chris Windom Fastest In Winter Dirt Games Practice


Just four days following his latest victory at Bubba Raceway Park, Chris Windom turned the fastest time in Wednesday night’s USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car practice with a lap of 13.564 seconds.

Kyle Larson Claims Night #2 Win


‘Yung Money’ Kyle Larson has become synonymous with winning.

Aaron Reutzel Scores 2nd Consecutive All Star Victory


If Florida results could give any indication on how the 2020 All Star title chase will unfold, Clute, Texas’ Aaron Reutzel is a surefire favorite to earn the $65,000 top prize which would ultimately increases his consecutive championship run to three.