Rookie Contenders Take On Turkey Night GP


Each year, the Turkey Night Grand Prix presents a massively talented crop of drivers from top to bottom. Among them are the Rookies who arrive to stake their claim and make their initial mark on this great race featuring USAC’s NOS Energy Drink National and Western States Midget divisions.

Watch 2019 USAC Turkey Night at Ventura Raceway LIVE!

Nov 27-28 | 3:00 PM ET

Over the years, Don Basile Rookie of the Race honors at Turkey Night have been awarded to some of the most talented young racers in America. A glance at the list reveals some of the top names from the sport over the past two decade which include: Kasey Kahne, Dave Steele, Bobby East, Kody Swanson, Kyle Larson, and most recently, Jason McDougal in 2018.

The group consists of individuals who've made an impact in their first appearance at the prestigious race before going onto achieve big things within the racing world. This year’s rookie lineup has its own share of drivers who are on the cusp of big things themselves, along with a number of drivers who’ve already established themselves as stars in their own disciplines outside of midget racing. Gio Scelzi, a recent winner at the opening night of the Hangtown 100 is among those. At just 17 years old, the Fresno, Calif. native has already become the youngest sprint car winner in the history of the World of Outlaws, Williams Grove Speedway and Knoxville Raceway. That's all in addition to becoming the season’s 14th different winner in the USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget division, winning in just his sixth career start.

Aaron Reutzel, has claimed each of the last two Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions titles and, like Scelzi, has won on the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car trail in 2019. Reutzel recently made his first career USAC Midget start in November at Placerville, finishing 10th. Collegeville, Pennsylvania’s Andrew Layser is the top rookie in USAC’s National Midget series with eight top-10 finishes in 24 series starts for Clauson/Marshall Racing. Also like Scelzi, Cannon McIntosh of Bixby, Okla. is one of the five first-time winners with the USAC National Midgets this season. He accomplished this back in March of this year at the Southern Illinois Center's indoor track in Du Quoin.

Chase Johnson (Penngrove, Calif.) won the most recent USAC Western States Midget round at Ventura in October which was his first career win with the series. Ben Worth joined Johnson as a first-time winner with the series in the opener at California’s Bakersfield Speedway. Buddy Kofoid, attempted to make the Turkey Night field a year ago, but didn’t quite make the cut. He’s back again this year as one of eight cars out of the Keith Kunz Motorsports/Curb-Agajanian stable along with fellow Turkey Night rookie, Daison Pursley, a 2017 USAC Micro Sprint champion.

Watch 2019 USAC Turkey Night at Ventura Raceway LIVE!

Nov 27-28 | 3:00 PM ET

Sydney, Australia’s Kaidon Brown is the 2018 Australian Speedcar Champion and won the New South Wales title in 2019. The 18-year-old recent high school graduate is one of two international drivers in the field and the only rookie. 

PAST DON BASILE TURKEY NIGHT ROOKIES OF THE RACE: 1998: Kasey Kahne, 1999: Dave Steele, 2000: Aaron Pollock, 2001: Bobby East, 2002: Jerome Rodela, 2003: Ryan Durst, 2004: Brad Loyet, 2005: Kevin Swindell, 2006: Kody Swanson, 2007: Mike Murgoitio, 2008: Nic Faas, 2009: Levi Roberts, 2010: Dalton Armstrong, 2011: Kyle Larson, 2012: Ryan Bernal, 2013: Tanner Thorson, 2014: Isaac Chapple, 2015: Robert Dalby, 2016: Carson Macedo, 2017: Zeb Wise, 2018: Jason McDougal.


07x ®TROY MORRIS III/Bakersfield, CA


08m ®ETHAN MITCHELL/Mooresville, NC

1 ®KARSYN ELLEDGE/Mooresville, NC




5G ®BEN WORTH/Coalinga, CA

5H ®CASEY HICKS/Platt City, MO

9 ®DAISON PURSLEY/Locust Grove, OK

9H ®EMILIO HOOVER/Broken Arrow, OK

19w ®JAKE MORGAN/Fair Oaks, CA

20 ®C.J. SARNA/Palm Desert, CA


25x ®CHASE JOHNSON/Penngrove, CA

27B ®JAKE BUBAK/Arvada, CO

c27 ®CLINT WILSON/Paradise, CA


33p ®MIKE LEACH, JR./Orange, CA

47BC ®ANDREW LAYSER/Collegeville, PA


56x ®MARK CHISHOLM/Cheyenne, WY


67x ®BRITTON BOCK/Fresno, CA


73 ®DYLAN ITO/Ventura, CA1


84 ®GIO SCELZI/Fresno, CA


91 ®CHRIS SHEIL/Aurora, CO

97w ®KAIDON BROWN/Sydney, AU

98 ®BUDDY KOFOID/Penngrove, CA

99 ®COLTON HEATH/Marysville, WA

Anton Hernandez To Run USAC Sprint Trail In 2020

Driver Anton Hernandez will team up with car owner Ken Baldwin to chase the full 2020 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car tour and pursue Rookie of the Year honors with the series.

USAC Silver Crown Debuts At Selinsgrove In 2020

Pennsylvania’s Selinsgrove Speedway and the United States Auto Club (USAC) will present the Bill Holland Classic for the USAC Silver Crown Champ Car Series at 7 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 9, 2020, in what promises to be a must-see event 74 years in the making!

2020 Indiana Sprint Week Dates Revealed

The 33rd annual Indiana Sprint Week schedule will feature seven races in a nine-night span between July 24 and August 1 at seven familiar Hoosier-state venues on the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car trail. 

2020 Indiana Midget Week Slate

Indiana Midget Week enters its 15th year in 2020. It will have a new look in the new year with the addition of Paragon Speedway as the opener to the star studded six-straight nights of USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget racing June 2-7.

Kyle Larson Logs 3rd Turkey Night Win

Nearing the halfway point of Friday night’s 98-lap feature at California’s Ventura Raceway, Kyle Larson nearly saw his Turkey Night Grand Prix end in shambles after biking hard into turn one.

Turkey Night Postponed to Friday

Overnight rain mixed with a heavy downpour around 10am Pacific time on Thursday has forced postponement of the 79th running of the Turkey Night Grand Prix to Friday, November 29, at California's Ventura Raceway.

Tyler Courtney Eyes Walk Off Moment At Turkey Night

There aren’t too many better ways for a champion to celebrate a title than in victory lane after winning the season finale.  It’s akin to a walk-off homer to win the World Series ala Bill Mazeroski or Joe Carter.  Nothing could be finer.

Jesse Colwell: Fastest In Turkey Night Practice

Jesse Colwell made his very first USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget start at Ventura Raceway one year ago.

Stenhouse Joins Stacked Turkey Night Field

Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., a five-time USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget feature winner and 2007 series Rookie of the Year, has filed an entry to become the latest addition to the massive field for the 79th running of the Turkey Night Grand Prix on Thursday, November 28, at California’s Ventura Raceway.

Everything You Need To Know About Turkey Night

Starting Wednesday, November 27th, the USAC West Coast and VRA Sprints will clash at Ventura Raceway for two nights of action.