Thomas Pursues 3rd Straight Oval Nats Win

In the 23-year history of the Oval Nationals, four drivers have been able to score two consecutive victories in the event at California’s Perris Auto Speedway.

And no driver has found victory lane in three-straight years on the final night.  But this year, Kevin Thomas, Jr. faces that opportunity.

Watch Oval Nationals Live | Full Entries | Schedule

Nov. 7-9 | 9am ET

Thomas, of Cullman, Ala., joined Bud Kaeding (2001-02), Cory Kruseman (2003-04) and Dave Darland (2005-06) as the winner of two consecutive Oval Nationals final nights a year ago at Perris, leading the final eight laps en route to victory.  In 2017, Thomas captured the first of his two Oval Nationals triumphs, leading the final six circuits to get the big win. Three-straight wins in the event would be an enormous accomplishment for Thomas, something of which Kaeding, Kruseman and Darland each took their shot at during the early to mid-2000s.

Kaeding, who guns for his fourth overall final night win in this year’s Oval Nationals, won his first two in 2001 and 2002. He came the closest to accomplishing the feat in 2003, finishing 3rd behind winner Cory Kruseman on the final night. However, he did win the second preliminary night feature in 2003 to capture Oval Nationals victories, prelim or otherwise, three years running.

The 2003 score for Kruseman was the first of two-straight Oval Nationals wins for himself after another win the following year in 2004.  He wound up 10th in 2002 prior to his pair of wins and 27th in 2005 as he pursued his third.

Watch Oval Nationals Live | Full Entries | Schedule

Nov. 7-9 | 9am ET

The all-time winningest driver in USAC AMSOIL National Sprint car history, Dave Darland, went back-to-back in 2005 and 2006.  He was 10th in 2004 and 27th in 2007 at the bookends of his two wins.

Thomas has made a late-season surge in recent times with a win in his latest series outing at Lawrenceburg (Ind.) Speedway in early October and has finished in the top-six in six of his last eight starts.  The team he's equipped with is an Oval Nationals winning combination that’s gotten the job done before with team owner Brodie Hayward the entrant for Bryan Clauson’s winning performance on the final night in 2015, a race in which Thomas led the opening 22 laps of the 40-lap event.

Reutzel Opens All Star Points Season With Win


Although it has been over three months since the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 last hosted competition, two-time and defending Series champion, Aaron Reutzel, left zero doubt to those in attendance at Park Jefferson International Speedway in Jefferson, South Dakota, that the extended gap in the All Star schedule affected his focus and ability, ultimately ending his evening $6,600 richer, as well as the Series point leader. Including action that did not accumulate championship points in early February, the victory was Reutzel’s third of the 2020 season against the All Stars and the 28th of his career.

Jameson Rejoins Rattliff for Eldora Stream

Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg, Ind., quickly landed a ride for the June 4-6 Dirt Late Model Stream Invitational at Eldora Speedway, reuniting with former car owner James Rattliff just hours after learning he was one of the 44 drivers invited to participate in the Rossburg, Ohio, track’s spectator-free weekend that is topped by a 67-lap, $50,000-to-win feature.

Stream Invitee Has One Big Problem: No Race Car

Jason Jameson was pleased when he learned Friday afternoon that his name appeared on the list of 44 drivers invited to compete in the spectator-free Dirt Late Model Stream Invitational June 4-6 at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio.

Unlock this article, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Dirt Late Model Stream Fan Vote

We have 44 of the 48 Late Model drivers set to make history at the 2020 Dirt Late Model Stream Invitational, but we need you, the fans, the pick the final four drivers!

Eldora Dirt Late Model Stream Statistical Roster

How have Eldora Speedway's 44 Dirt Late Model Stream invitees fared in the legendary track's crown jewel events?  Andy Savary offers career statistical breakdowns of the numerical roster.

Unlock this article, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Eldora Schedules Dirt Late Model Stream Invitational June 4-6

Live dirt track racing returns to the legendary Eldora Speedway next weekend with the Dirt Late Model Stream Invitational – the first live racing event at Eldora since the lockdown resulting from the coronavirus. Set for exclusive live broadcast on FloRacing, the leading destination for grassroots racing, the highly-anticipated race is scheduled for Thursday, June 4 through Saturday, June 6 and will feature the nomadic stars of DIRTcar, the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, and Eldora’s local and regional stars. For the first time in Eldora’s history, the race will take place without fans present, adhering to guidelines set forth by local and state officials in Ohio. This special event will replace the 26th running of the Dirt Late Model Dream, one of the legendary half-mile dirt oval’s marquee events which has been rescheduled and will now take place in 2021.

All Stars Add Devil's Bowl June 10

Bumping the overall tally from eight to nine, the 2020 edition of Cometic Gasket Thunder Through The Plains presented by Hercules Tires featuring the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 will now consist of nine events over an 11-day span, as Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas, will host the winged warriors on Wednesday evening, June 10. Although not new to All Star Circuit of Champions competition like many of the facilities on the Thunder Through The Plains schedule, it has been over 30 years since the Series last left tracks at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, hosting a doubleheader on March 9-10, 1990.

Meet Your 2020 Full-Time All Stars


With the 2020 Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 championship point season commencing this weekend, a stout contingent of some of the nation’s finest open wheel competitors are expected to assemble and tour full-time with America’s Series, kicking things off, officially, with a two-day stay at Park Jefferson International Speedway in Jefferson, South Dakota, on Friday and Saturday, May 29-30.

Hedgecock Dominates Sexton Memorial for $10,052

Anybody aiming to win a Late Model feature at 411 Motor Speedway has to outrun home-track standout Cory Hedgecock. No one could do it at Monday night’s Scott Sexton Memorial.

I-55 Hosts USAC Sprints on June 7

Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo. has been added to the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship schedule for Sunday night, June 7, making it a doubleheader weekend for the series with a visit to 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa the night before on Saturday night, June 6.