Rich Vogler Classic Entry List Released

Six past USAC Silver Crown winners at Lucas Oil Raceway are entered for this Saturday’s Rich Vogler Classic for the .686-mile paved oval west of Indianapolis.

Watch 2019 USAC Silver Crown at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis

With one more victory, Tanner Swanson (Kingsburg, Calif.), a five-time Silver Crown winner at LOR, would surpass Mike Bliss as the winningest Silver Crown driver in the history of the track, which has hosted Silver Crown racing regularly since 1985.  Bliss is a two-time victor of the Rich Vogler Classic, winning in 2013 and 2015.

Tanner’s older brother, Kody Swanson (Kingsburg, Calif.), leads the series points and is a four-time LOR Silver Crown winner with a Vogler Classic triumph back in 2016.

Like Kody, Bobby Santos (Franklin, Mass.) is a four-time winner on the LOR oval with two Vogler Classic scores in 2012 and again in the most recent race back in 2017.

Ryan Newman (South Bend, Ind.) returns to make his first Silver Crown appearance in two seasons as a teammate to Tanner Swanson.  Newman won his first career USAC National Midget feature in 1997 and as well as winning a Silver Crown feature in 1999 at LOR, which was at that time called Indianapolis Raceway Park. Newman, the 1999 Silver Crown champ is the lone driver in Saturday’s field to have to won at the Vogler Classic’s former home of Winchester Speedway (Ind.),  sweeping the NAMARS Sprint/Midget doubleheader in 2000.

The last time Silver Crown visited LOR was back in May when Kyle Hamilton (Danville, Ind.) raced to his first career Silver Crown victory. He will man the Klatt Enterprises No. 6 on Saturday, which took over the Silver Crown owner championship point race following a top-five run with the team's dirt driver, Brady Bacon, last Sunday at Du Quoin.

David Byrne’s (Shullsburg, Wisc.) top Silver Crown moment came in the 2014 Rich Vogler Classic at LOR, where he raced by Tanner Swanson on the final corner of the last lap to win his first series victory in spectacular fashion.

Eric Gordon (Fortville, Ind.) has won in USAC Sprint Car competition at LOR while Brian Gerster (Fishers, Ind.) tallied a pair of victories with the USAC Midget division at LOR.

Five-time Indianapolis 500 starter James Davison (Melbourne, Australia) aims to make his second Silver Crown series after a 9th place run at Salem Speedway (Ind.) in August.

Pits open for the Rich Vogler Classic at 12noon ET on Saturday, Sept. 7.  Grandstands open at 3pm, Silver Crown practice is at 4:15pm, Silver Crown qualifying is at 6:30pm and the green flag for the USAC Silver Crown main event slated for 7:45pm.

Advance general admission tickets are $25 for adults and $10 for children (11 & under).  Race day general admission tickets are $30 for adults and $10 for children (11 & under).  Pit passes are $30 for USAC members and $35 for non-members.

Speed51 Super Select joins the USAC Silver Crown Champ Cars on the event card.

The Rich Vogler Classic will have live, flag-to-flag coverage on FloRacing. 


02 TANNER SWANSON/Kingsburg, CA (Bowman Racing)

1 KYLE O’GARA/Beech Grove, IN (SFH Racing Development)

2 PATRICK LAWSON/Edwardsville, IL (Patrick Lawson)

2V RYAN NEWMAN/South Bend, IN (Bowman/Vance Racing)

6 KYLE HAMILTON/Danville, IN (Klatt Enterprises)

7 KYLE ROBBINS/New Castle, IN (KR Racing)

11 ®JAMES DAVISON/Melbourne, AU (DHR-Byrd Racing)

16 AUSTIN NEMIRE/Sylvania, OH (Nemire-Lesko Racing)

17 CHRIS WINDOM/Canton, IL (Goodnight-Byrd Racing)

20 KODY SWANSON/Kingsburg, CA (Gene Nolen Racing)

22 BOBBY SANTOS/Franklin, MA (DJ Racing)

24 MIKE HAGGENBOTTOM/Levittown, PA (John Haggenbottom)

31 ®DAVE BERKHEIMER/Mechanicsburg, PA (Berkheimer Racing)

32 JOE LIGUORI/Tampa, FL (Williams & Wright Racing)

39 MATT GOODNIGHT/Winchester, IN (Goodnight Racing)

40 DAVID BYRNE/Shullsburg, WI (Byrne Racing)

43 ®JOHN HEYDENREICH/Riverside, CA (A.J. Felker Racing)

78 ERIC GORDON/Fortville, IN (Armstrong-Slinkard Racing)

80 ®ANNIE BREIDINGER/Hillsborough, CA (Breidinger Racing)

81 ®CODY GALLOGLY/Pataskala, OH (Curtis Williams)

91 JUSTIN GRANT/Ione, CA (Hemelgarn Racing)

92 ®JIM ANDERSON/Joliet, IL (Kazmark Motorsports)

94 BRIAN GERSTER 94 Brian Gerster/Fishers, IN (Ram Engineering)

131 ®DEREK BISCHAK Angola, IN (Derek Bischak)

® = USAC Silver Crown Rookie

Midwest Winter Nationals Kicks Off Speed2 Season

The USAC SpeeD2 Midget season gets underway this weekend, February 28-29, indoors at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin.

Bacon Teams with Hinck for Shamrock Classic

Brady Bacon, who’s already gotten off to a red hot start early in the 2020 season, has secured a USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget ride in the Kelly Hinck owned No. 21H for the 5th annual Shamrock Classic presented by Dooling Machine on March 7 at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin.

Courtney, Bacon, Windom Enter Shamrock Classic

Three past USAC National champions who are all seeking a first Shamrock Classic victory are among those headlining the initial entry list for the 5th annual USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget event on March 7 at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin.

Aaron Reutzel Binge Watch


The best way to announce your presence is to do it early and often. And that's exactly the case with Aaron Reutzel. 

Bacon Doubles Up With Second Straight Ocala Score

Brady Bacon took no chances on his cool down lap following Saturday night’s USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Winter Dirt Games XI victory at Bubba Raceway Park.

Bacon Snags Winter Dirt Games Passing Master Award

Brady Bacon spent this past weekend racking up victories and prize money at Bubba Raceway Park.

Kyle Larson: From Dirt Track To Daytona


Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Kyle Larson will lock into another vehicle and push it to its limits today at the Daytona 500. 

Valentine's Day USAC History

Love is in the air on February 14 each year, but so is the smell of methanol and the sights and sounds of USAC racing, at least on a handful of occasions throughout the club’s 65 years of history.

Brady Bacon Bolts To Victory At Ocala


Entering Friday night’s USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship season opener, the most recent time Brady Bacon left Bubba Raceway Park with a top-five finish was three years ago.

Winter Dirt Games Success Translates to Championships

The beginning of a new USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car season is one in which drivers and teams either resume their cohesiveness or, for new teams, try to meld successful relationships that will ultimately reap their rewards with wins, and if everything works out just right, a championship at season’s end.