Ryan Newman Returns for Vogler Classic

Ryan Newman (South Bend, Ind.) will return to the seat of a USAC Silver Crown Champ Car this Saturday night (Sept. 7) in the Rich Vogler Classic at Lucas Oil Raceway in Brownsburg, Ind.

WATCH 2019 USAC Silver Crown at Lucas Oil Raceway

Newman, the 1999 USAC Silver Crown champion, has gone on to have a highly-successful Monster Energy NASCAR Cup career with 51 poles and 18 victories, including wins in the 2008 Daytona 500 and the 2013 Brickyard 400.

He will drive the No. 2 for Bowman/Vance Racing, which will serve as a tribute to Johnny Vance, one of the most successful USAC car owners of all-time, who earned three National car owner titles and 52 National wins.  Newman raced in the USAC National Sprint Car and Silver Crown Series for Vance during the late 1990s-early 2000s.

Newman earned both his first career USAC National Midget victory in 1997 as well as his initial Silver Crown triumph in 1999, both of which were televised on ESPN’s “Saturday Night Thunder” program. He will race as a teammate to five-time Lucas Oil Raceway Silver Crown winner Tanner Swanson (Kingsburg, Calif.).  

Pits open for the Rich Vogler Classic at 12noon ET on Saturday, Sept. 7.  Grandstands open at 3pm, Silver Crown practice at 4:15pm, Silver Crown qualifying at 6:30pm and the green flag for the USAC Silver Crown main event slated for 7:45pm.

Advance general admission tickets are $25 for adults and $10 for children (11 & under).  Race day general admission tickets are $30 for adults and $10 for children (11 & under).  Pit passes are $30 for USAC members and $35 for non-members.

Speed51 Super Select joins the USAC Silver Crown Champ Cars on the event card.

The Rich Vogler Classic will have live, flag-to-flag coverage on FloRacing. 


1. (5) Mike Bliss & Tanner Swanson

3. (4) Bobby Santos & Kody Swanson

5. (3) Bobby East

6. (2) Kenny Irwin, Jr., Jim Keeker, Jason Leffler & Ken Schrader

10. (1) Pat Abold, Jeff Bloom, David Byrne, Bob Cicconi, Jay Drake, Bruce Field, Russ Gamester, Kyle Hamilton, Tracy Hines, Rick Hood, Kasey Kahne, Jason McCord, Ryan Newman, Johnny Parsons, George Snider, Dave Steele, Tony Stewart, Brian Tyler & J.J. Yeley



(Winchester Speedway)

1991: Robbie Stanley (Sprint) & Don Schilling (Midget)

1992: Jim Mahoney (Sprint) & Kenny Irwin, Jr. (Midget)

1993: Robbie Stanley (Sprint) & Stevie Reeves (Midget)

1994: Robbie Stanley (Sprint) & Mike Bliss (Midget)

1995: Kenny Irwin, Jr. (Sprint) & Mike Bliss (Midget)

1996: Andy Michner (Sprint) & Tracy Hines (Midget)

1997: Andy Michner (Sprint) & Tracy Hines (Midget)

1998: Chet Fillip (Sprint) & Ricky Shelton (Midget)

1999: Dave Steele (Sprint)

2000: Ryan Newman (Sprint) & Ryan Newman (Midget)

2002: Dave Steele (Sprint)

2003: Michael Lewis (Sprint)

2005: Dave Darland (Sprint)

2006: Bryan Clauson (Sprint)

2007: Marc Jessup (Sprint)

2008: Darren Hagen (Sprint)

2009: Tracy Hines (Sprint)

2010: Shane Hmiel (Sprint)

2011: Tracy Hines (Sprint)

(Indianapolis Raceway Park)

2012: Bobby Santos (Silver Crown) & Tracy Hines (Midget)

2013: Tanner Swanson (Silver Crown) & Tracy Hines (Midget)

2014: David Byrne (Silver Crown)

2015: Tanner Swanson (Silver Crown)

2016: Kody Swanson (Silver Crown)

2017: Bobby Santos (Silver Crown)

Midwest Winter Nationals Kicks Off Speed2 Season

The USAC SpeeD2 Midget season gets underway this weekend, February 28-29, indoors at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin.

Bacon Teams with Hinck for Shamrock Classic

Brady Bacon, who’s already gotten off to a red hot start early in the 2020 season, has secured a USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget ride in the Kelly Hinck owned No. 21H for the 5th annual Shamrock Classic presented by Dooling Machine on March 7 at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin.

Courtney, Bacon, Windom Enter Shamrock Classic

Three past USAC National champions who are all seeking a first Shamrock Classic victory are among those headlining the initial entry list for the 5th annual USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget event on March 7 at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin.

Aaron Reutzel Binge Watch


The best way to announce your presence is to do it early and often. And that's exactly the case with Aaron Reutzel. 

Bacon Doubles Up With Second Straight Ocala Score

Brady Bacon took no chances on his cool down lap following Saturday night’s USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Winter Dirt Games XI victory at Bubba Raceway Park.

Bacon Snags Winter Dirt Games Passing Master Award

Brady Bacon spent this past weekend racking up victories and prize money at Bubba Raceway Park.

Kyle Larson: From Dirt Track To Daytona


Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Kyle Larson will lock into another vehicle and push it to its limits today at the Daytona 500. 

Valentine's Day USAC History

Love is in the air on February 14 each year, but so is the smell of methanol and the sights and sounds of USAC racing, at least on a handful of occasions throughout the club’s 65 years of history.

Brady Bacon Bolts To Victory At Ocala


Entering Friday night’s USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship season opener, the most recent time Brady Bacon left Bubba Raceway Park with a top-five finish was three years ago.

Winter Dirt Games Success Translates to Championships

The beginning of a new USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car season is one in which drivers and teams either resume their cohesiveness or, for new teams, try to meld successful relationships that will ultimately reap their rewards with wins, and if everything works out just right, a championship at season’s end.