Darland a Smackdown Master Over the Past Decade

To be a consistent front runner on a race-by-race basis is a task that drivers and teams are constantly faced with in pursuit of feature wins and season championships.

To be consistent year-after-year-after is taking it to another level.  When faced with different challenges and facing off with stout competition from one season to the next, it can become a chore to get the job done for three, five, 10 or even 20-plus straight years.  The best of the best are those who can thrive repeatedly and deliver results.

No single driver has had as much consistent success throughout the history of Sprint Car Smackdown at Kokomo Speedway than has Dave Darland.  Of course, he’s the winningest driver in the history of the track and the owner of four sprint car titles at the quarter-mile dirt oval, but his “Smackdown” success has been something to behold entering this week’s eighth annual edition of the event, Aug. 22-23-24.

No driver has earned more total Smackdown wins than Darland, of Lincoln, Ind., with five.  Likewise, no other driver has won more Smackdown finales than Darland, which he achieved consecutively in 2013-2014-2015.

A deeper dig into the numbers shows that, in the seven previous editions of Smackdown, only four drivers have started each and every feature on the final night: Chris Windom, Chase Stockon, Shane Cottle and Darland.  Darland’s average feature finish over that seven-race span is an eye-popping 3.3, ahead of Windom (9.4), Stockon (10.4) and Cottle (11.7).

In fact, Darland’s “worst” finish in his seven Smackdown starts came last year with a seventh-place result, a solid run for many driver’s measuring stick.  Just one driver has as good of a record in terms of average finish at Smackdown than does Darland with a 3.3 average – Bryan Clauson, winner of the inaugural edition of the event who achieved the same average in just three starts.

It’s pretty incredible that Darland has been able sustain the success he’s had over the years with seven top-seven finishes in seven starts.  There’s only one driver who’s started at least four of the seven main events and finished in the top-ten in all – defending Smackdown winner Justin Grant (Ione, Calif.), who’s started each of the last five finales with finishes of 6th (2014-16-17), 7th (2015), and 1st (2018).

Darland’s finishes throughout his Smackdown run have been superb with three victories (2013-14-15), and finishes of 4th (2012-16), 5th(2017) and 7th (2018).  A similar run this week would be a boon for Darland, who’s had three top-ten finishes in 16 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car starts this season.  It’s a place the USAC Triple Crown champion has been around and won at more than any other driver; where the home track and the home crowd are always a welcoming sight to the National Sprint Car Hall of Famer.

The racing festivities at Kokomo first get underway on Wednesday, August 21, with #GYATK Night, a USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car non-points Special Event in honor of the late, great Bryan Clauson, winner of the first Smackdown in 2012.  Admission is FREE for all racefans.  Driver pit passes are also all FREE courtesy of AllStar Performance.  All gates open at 3pm Eastern, draw closes at USAC trailer at 6:10pm, drivers meeting in front grandstands at 6:15pm and cars on track at 6:30pm.

For the first two nights of Smackdown on Thursday, August 22 and Friday, August 23, all gates open at 3pm Eastern with cars on track at 6:45pm.  Adult general admission tickets are $25 and children age 12 and under free.  Pit passes are $35 apiece.  3-day advance reserved: $80.00, call 815-468-8690 for tickets. Advanced tickets sales will end on 8/19, after 8/19 3-day tickets can be purchased at the ticket window on race night for $85.00.

On the final night of Smackdown on Saturday, August 24, all gates open at 3pm Easter with cars on track at 6pm.  Adult general admission tickets are $35 and children age 12 and under free.  Pit passes are $45 apiece.  The Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series will also be on the event card.

All three nights of Smackdown, in addition to #GYATK Night, will be shown live and on-demand on FloRacing.  You can listen to live audio of each night on the USAC app and follow along with live timing and scoring on the Race-Monitor app as well as the USAC app.



1. (3.3) Bryan Clauson & Dave Darland

3. (5.2) Justin Grant

4. (6.7) Tyler Thomas

5. (7.7) Kevin Thomas Jr.

6. (8.8) Tracy Hines

7. (9.2) C.J. Leary

8. (9.3) Brady Bacon

9. (9.4) Chris Windom

10. (9.6) Kyle Cummins

11. (9.7) Tyler Courtney

12. (10.4) Chase Stockon

13. (10.8) Robert Ballou & Jon Stanbrough

15. (11.2) Scotty Weir

16. (11.7) Shane Cottle

17. (12.0) Jarett Andretti

18. (12.8) Chad Boespflug

19. (13.7) Hunter Schuerenberg

20. (14.0) Casey Shuman

21. (15.0) Logan Jarrett

22. (15.8) Jerry Coons, Jr.

23. (18.0) Thomas Meseraull

24. (19.3) Kyle Robbins

Midwest Winter Nationals Kicks Off Speed2 Season

The USAC SpeeD2 Midget season gets underway this weekend, February 28-29, indoors at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin.

Bacon Teams with Hinck for Shamrock Classic

Brady Bacon, who’s already gotten off to a red hot start early in the 2020 season, has secured a USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget ride in the Kelly Hinck owned No. 21H for the 5th annual Shamrock Classic presented by Dooling Machine on March 7 at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin.

Courtney, Bacon, Windom Enter Shamrock Classic

Three past USAC National champions who are all seeking a first Shamrock Classic victory are among those headlining the initial entry list for the 5th annual USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget event on March 7 at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin.

Aaron Reutzel Binge Watch


The best way to announce your presence is to do it early and often. And that's exactly the case with Aaron Reutzel. 

Bacon Doubles Up With Second Straight Ocala Score

Brady Bacon took no chances on his cool down lap following Saturday night’s USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Winter Dirt Games XI victory at Bubba Raceway Park.

Bacon Snags Winter Dirt Games Passing Master Award

Brady Bacon spent this past weekend racking up victories and prize money at Bubba Raceway Park.

Kyle Larson: From Dirt Track To Daytona


Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Kyle Larson will lock into another vehicle and push it to its limits today at the Daytona 500. 

Valentine's Day USAC History

Love is in the air on February 14 each year, but so is the smell of methanol and the sights and sounds of USAC racing, at least on a handful of occasions throughout the club’s 65 years of history.

Brady Bacon Bolts To Victory At Ocala


Entering Friday night’s USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship season opener, the most recent time Brady Bacon left Bubba Raceway Park with a top-five finish was three years ago.

Winter Dirt Games Success Translates to Championships

The beginning of a new USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car season is one in which drivers and teams either resume their cohesiveness or, for new teams, try to meld successful relationships that will ultimately reap their rewards with wins, and if everything works out just right, a championship at season’s end.