Atko Takes Dramatic First ARX Victory at Gateway

Australian driver Chris Atkinson won the second round of Americas Rallycross (ARX) 2019 for Subaru Motorsports USA by making a last corner overtake for the race lead at the World Wide Technology Raceway in Madison, Illinois.

Atko won the ARX of Gateway from the back row of the grid in the final, but the holeshot was taken by front row starter Steve Arpin. The Loenbro Motorsports Canadian driver beat pole starter and Championship leader Scott Speed into the first turn and led the race until the very last corner when he was passed by Atkinson.

Although Arpin’s Ford Fiesta spun over the finish line, he finished second, as Sweden’s Patrik Sandell crossed the line third to take his first ARX podium and the first double-podium in ARX for Subaru. TQ (top qualifier) driver Speed challenged Arpin for the lead on the first lap but dropped back with technical issues and was passed by both of his team mates on lap three. But, he finished P4 due to problems for Loenbro’s Travis PeCoy and Andretti Rallycross’ Tanner Foust.

Former rallycross champion Foust made a fast start from row two of the grid but was spun by contact in the pack and retired. PeCoy got further in the race before he also had to retire. The Loenbro team had to work flat out between semi final two and the final after PeCoy retired on track in the semi from contact at the joker lap merge with Sandell that broke the Fiesta’s steering. He made it onto the final grid with seconds to spare. The other 2019 ARX Supercar freshman, Andretti’s Cabot Bigham, had a race long battle with Atkinson in the semis but just missed a place in the final. “I was closing the gap, there stuff going on everywhere, Steve slammed himself over the jump and I nearly got him there then he made a mistake second last corner and I just slid it up in the inside rally style. Man, from back row, that is so sick, so sick,” said Subaru WRX STI driver Atkinson. “It’s been a wild few races but I’m really happy with that.”

Reining ARX2 Champion Conner Martell took victory in his return to the series, this season with the Dreyer & Reinbold Racing team. Like Atkinson in ARX, Martell started from the back row of the grid but took his joker lap early, got the hammer down and passed the cars in front when they also took their jokers.

Alex Keyes took the holeshot at the start to move ahead of pole starter Brad Deberti. The Buhl Sport driver led until he took his joker on the last lap, when he was passed by Martell, but at the joker exit he clipped the car of JR Hildebrand which rolled his car off the circuit. Cole Keatts took the advantage to finish second and Hildebrand recovered to make it a DRR 1-2-3. DirtFish Motorsports’ Deberti finished fourth and Keyes was classified fifth because on his ARX2 debut, Loenbro Motorsports’ Michael Leach had to retire on lap two. Round two winner Fraser McConnell spun out of contention in the semi finals and DRR’s Gray Leadbetter was slowed in her semi by a puncture. “That was incredible. We got a little bit of luck but I drove the wheels off this DRR car,” said Martell. “The team has been awesome, we started almost last but what an incredible race. I’m just happy to be back on the podium for the first race back.”

BC39 Entry List Rises to 83!

The entry list for the Driven2SaveLives BC39 powered by NOS Energy Drink continues to grow by leaps and bounds and now stands at 83 cars for the September 4-5 event at The Dirt Track at IMS.  Just one week remains until the entry cutoff on Thursday night, August 29 at The BC39.

Grant Gasses it to #GYATK Night Triumph

Sprint Car Smackdown week began just as it left off the year before with Justin Grant racing to victory Wednesday in #GYATK Night following the Ione, California driver’s victory in the Smackdown finale in 2018.

#GYATK Night Fires Off Big Week at Kokomo

#GYATK Night comes to life this Wednesday night, August 21, at Kokomo Speedway, igniting a stacked weeklong racing docket at the quarter-mile oval leading into Sprint Car Smackdown VIII Aug. 22-23-24.

Smackdown VIII Race Preview

Sprint Car Smackdown VIII arrives with a bang this week as one of the most prestigious events on the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car calendar gets underway for its eighth edition Aug. 22-24 with the kickoff companion event, #GYATK Night, beginning the racing feast on Wednesday, Aug. 21.

Ironman Stockon in Line for Record at Kokomo

One of the ultimate ironman streaks is on the line for Chase Stockon as he prepares to equal the series’ most consecutive starts streaks this week during Sprint Car Smackdown VIII at Aug. 22-24 at Kokomo Speedway.

BC39 Kicks Off with Draft Party on Sept. 3

The Driven2SaveLives BC39 powered by NOS Energy Drink gets amped up on Tuesday, Sept. 3, the night before the dirt flies at The Dirt Track at IMS.

Busch Named Darlington USAC.25 Grand Marshal

Kyle Busch, the 2015 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Champion, has been named the Honorary Grand Marshal for the USAC.25 Se-ries event at Darlington Raceway, Aug. 29 - Sept.1. He is scheduled to visit the USAC.25 track across from Darlington Raceway at the Manheim Auction lot on Satur-day, Aug. 31.

USAC Stat Book: Smackdown Edition

We’re on the road and headed to Indiana's Kokomo Speedway for four-straight-events for the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship, beginning with the non-points #GYATK Night on Wednesday, Aug. 21 and three consecutive nights of Sprint Car Smackdown VIII Aug. 22-23-24.

Briscoe Enters BC39 as List Grows to Near 70

Chase Briscoe, who currently ranks sixth in NASCAR Xfinity Series standings, has filed his entry for the Driven2SaveLives BC39 powered by NOS Energy Drink on September 4-5 at The Dirt Track at IMS, as the list of cars for the mega event has risen to 69 with less than two weeks remaining until the entry cutoff on Thursday night, August 29 at

Darland a Smackdown Master Over the Past Decade

To be a consistent front runner on a race-by-race basis is a task that drivers and teams are constantly faced with in pursuit of feature wins and season championships.