Friesen Wins Thriller in Malta

It was a battle down to the very end for The Big Show 11 at Albany-Saratoga Speedway. A 111-lap thriller paying $11,111 was picked up by Stewart Friesen after a late race battle with the promoter himself, Brett Hearn.

“Brett is one heck of a race promoter as well as a race car driver,” Friesen said. “He hasn’t lost his touch. When him and Decker rubbed there, I was like ‘man these guys have been racing since the beginning of time, they have to be wearing themselves out.’ They were just fighting tooth and nail. It was a lot of fun to watch. It’s been a privilege to grow up watching those two guys.”

Hearn, who looked to be the man to beat was pleased with the outcome of his event. “Friesen is probably the most diverse driver we’ve seen in decades,” he said. “He’s definitely one of the best there is, no doubt about it. He always knows how to pull a little bit extra out in the last few laps. He knew what lap it was that he needed to pull it out.”

Mat Williamson and the Buzz Chew No.88 team posted a strong podium finish to round out the top-three.



You know it’s a big event when the cars are parked out by the road, the pits are full and the 50/50 is over $3,000. Hearn, the promoter of the event, never disappoints. He always makes sure to put on a fun atmosphere for the fans. There was an early meet and greet autograph session with the top-12 drivers in the Super DIRTcar Series where several fans got to get up close and chat with their favorites. They had the t-shirt alley stocked up with t-shirt karts and trailers with various drivers apparel as well as a DJ hyping up the event all evening long. Twelve lucky youngsters were chosen to do the top-12 redraw to lead into the 111-lap feature event.

43 Big Block Modifieds signed in for Tuesday nights competition and only 28 drivers qualified to take the green flag.



‘Lightning’ Larry Wight received the KSE Hard Charger Award after passing 10 cars. Wight started 22nd and finished 12th.

Mike Mahaney was the man to watch. After Mahaney and Rudolph came in contact running first and second at the beginning of the race, both wound up going pit side with flat tires. Mahaney made his way back through the field, clicking them off one-by-one on the top side of the track to climb his way back into the top-ten. Mahaney rebounded with a strong 8th-place finish in the No.35 car.

Hearn and Keith Flach were the hometown regulars who finished up front. Hearn finished second and Flach finished 11th after starting 18th.



Hearn opened up the evening by collecting the fast time award with a time of 15.677 seconds in time trials.

Heat races were won by Jimmy Phelps, Billy Decker, Hearn, and Matt Sheppard.

The last chance showdowns were won by Anthony Perrego and Larry Wight.

A non-qualifiers event was held where Andrew Ferguson ran away with the victory. Ferguson had the choice of starting in the main event or taking home $750. Ferguson elected to take the $750 and call it a night.



1. 44-Stewart Friesen [7]; 2. 20-Brett Hearn [4]; 3. 88-Mat Williamson [8]; 4. 6H-Max McLaughlin [10]; 5. 9s-Matt Sheppard [12]; 6. 91-Billy Decker [3]; 7. 98H-Jimmy Phelps [6]; 8. 35-Mike Mahaney [2]; 9. 26-Ryan Godown [13]; 10. 25-Erick Rudolph [5]; 11. 43-Keith Flach [18]; 12. 99L-Larry Wight [22]; 13. X-Chad Phelps [1]; 14. 27j-Danny Johnson [11]; 15. 42p-Pat Ward [19]; 16. 3j-Marc Johnson [24]; 17. 115-Kenny Tremont [20]; 18. 21A-Peter Britten [16]; 19. 19m-Jesse Mueller [17]; 20. 111-Demetrios Drellos [26]; 21. 2L-Jack Lehner [27]; 22. 60-Brian Berger [23]; 23. R2-Rusty Smith [28]; 24. 18-Anthony Perrego [21]; 25. 3d-Matt Delorenzo [15]; 26. 97-Bobby Hackel [9]; 27. 48T-Dave Rauscher [25]; 28. 2rj-Ronnie Johnson [14]



Next on tap for the Super DIRTcar Series is their first double header where the series will be making their first trip of the season into Canada. This Sunday, June 30th the Series will head to Cornwall Speedway and will head back across the border into Plattsburgh, NY for their loan visit to Plattsburgh Airborne Speedway on Monday, July 1st to kick off the holiday week.

Beaver Stripes Adds $5,000 Western World Bonus

Beaver Stripes has added a $5,000 bonus if a driver can collect feature victories on consecutive nights in the USAC AMSOIL National/CRA/Sands Chevrolet Southwest Sprint Car portion of the 52nd annual Western World Championships presented by San Tan Ford on November 15-16 at Arizona Speedway in San Tan Valley.

Mat Williamson Crowned Super DIRTcar Champion At Charlotte

If one thing was certain about the 2019 Super DIRTcar season, is that it belonged to Mat Williamson and Matt Sheppard. 

Bud Kaeding Collects Oval Nats Passing Master Honors

Bud Kaeding passed a total of 17 cars throughout the three nights of Oval Nationals to earn the ProSource Passing Master Award for the event.

C.J. Leary Lands Oval Nats Victory At Perris

In his seven previous Oval Nationals final night starts, C.J. Leary had never managed a finish better than 13th. But all that changed on Saturday night. 

Diatte Wins USAC iRacing Finale At Fairbury

D1RT’s Ryan Diatte made the deciding pass halfway through Wednesday night’s iRacing USAC World Championship presented by FloRacing feature at Fairbury American Legion Speedway, ending the season on a high note with his first World Championship victory. Championship runner-up Alex Bergeron made a late-race charge to finish second, while Bobby Sandt Jr. completed the podium after winning the pole and leading the first half of the race.

Richard Vander Weerd Vaults To Oval Nats Passing Master Lead

Richard Vander Weerd rocketed to the top of the Oval Nationals ProSource Passing Master standings following his charge from 19th to 8th during Friday’s night two feature event at California’s Perris Auto Speedway.

Brady Bacon Does It Again On Night 2 At Perris

It took Brady Bacon 27 starts over a span of 13 years to reach victory lane for the first time at California’s Perris Auto Speedway on Thursday night.

Brady Bacon Among 6 Locked Into Saturday Oval Nats A-Main

Two consecutive victories for Brady Bacon on Thursday and Friday night at Perris Auto Speedway have netted him the Oval Nationals point lead.

Chris Windom Tops Oval Nats Points After Night #1


Although he finished second in Thursday night’s feature, Chris Windom sits in first in the Oval Nationals point standings after the opening night at California’s Perris Auto Speedway.

Brady Bacon Gets Best Of Perris On Night #1 Of Oval Nats


In 26 previous USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car starts at Perris Auto Speedway, Brady Bacon was in contention in the majority of them, garnering 17 top-tens and nine top-fives between 2006 and 2018.