Leary Lands New Midget Ride

Leading USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget Rookie of the Year contender C.J. Leary got the call to be the new pilot for the Steve Reynolds No. 21KS beginning this weekend when the series travels to Dirt Oval 66 in Joliet, Ill.

Leary, of Greenfield, Ind., takes over the seat vacated by Jason McDougal following “Indiana Midget Week.”  Leary becomes the third driver of the Reynolds-owned car in 2019, following Karter Sarff, who made two starts for the team at the opening rounds in Ocala, Fla. in February, and McDougal, who drove to three top-four finishes in eight starts this year, including a 2nd place result at the “Kokomo Grand Prix” in April.

Leary had racked up five top-ten finishes in his first five starts for FMR Racing.  After a tumultuous beginning to “Indiana Midget Week” with three finishes outside the top-ten, Leary and FMR parted ways.  Former FMR driver Brady Bacon moved into the ride at that point.

Leary had been as high as third in the USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championship standings prior to IMW.  Coming into this weekend’s event, though, he’s now 10th in points, just 13 ahead of fellow Rookie Jesse Colwell (Red Bluff, Calif.).

Leary now resumes his fight for the Midget Rookie of the Year title.  If he was to pull it off, he’d be the first son of a past USAC National Midget Rookie of the Year to accomplish the same feat.  C.J.’s father, Chuck, was the top Rookie in 1993.

Leary could also become just the second driver to win the Rookie of the Year award in all three USAC National divisions: Silver Crown, Sprint Car and Midget, joining Ryan Newman.  Leary previously won the 2012 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car and 2015 Silver Crown RoY honors.

Saturday’s event also features the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions and the Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series.  The parking lot opens at 3pm (Central), front gates at 3pm, pre-race party at 3pm and showtime at 7:30pm.

Adult general admission tickets are $25, children general admission is $10, reserved adult tickets are $30, adult pit passes are $40 apiece and children pit passes are $10.

Watch the Dirt Oval 66 race live and on-demand at http://www.FloRacing.com/.  Listen live on the USAC app.  Follow along with live updates on https://www.facebook.com/usacracing/ and https://twitter.com/USACNation, plus live timing and scoring on the Race Monitor app.

Beaver Stripes Adds $5,000 Western World Bonus

Beaver Stripes has added a $5,000 bonus if a driver can collect feature victories on consecutive nights in the USAC AMSOIL National/CRA/Sands Chevrolet Southwest Sprint Car portion of the 52nd annual Western World Championships presented by San Tan Ford on November 15-16 at Arizona Speedway in San Tan Valley.

Mat Williamson Crowned Super DIRTcar Champion At Charlotte

If one thing was certain about the 2019 Super DIRTcar season, is that it belonged to Mat Williamson and Matt Sheppard. 

Bud Kaeding Collects Oval Nats Passing Master Honors

Bud Kaeding passed a total of 17 cars throughout the three nights of Oval Nationals to earn the ProSource Passing Master Award for the event.

C.J. Leary Lands Oval Nats Victory At Perris

In his seven previous Oval Nationals final night starts, C.J. Leary had never managed a finish better than 13th. But all that changed on Saturday night. 

Diatte Wins USAC iRacing Finale At Fairbury

D1RT’s Ryan Diatte made the deciding pass halfway through Wednesday night’s iRacing USAC World Championship presented by FloRacing feature at Fairbury American Legion Speedway, ending the season on a high note with his first World Championship victory. Championship runner-up Alex Bergeron made a late-race charge to finish second, while Bobby Sandt Jr. completed the podium after winning the pole and leading the first half of the race.

Richard Vander Weerd Vaults To Oval Nats Passing Master Lead

Richard Vander Weerd rocketed to the top of the Oval Nationals ProSource Passing Master standings following his charge from 19th to 8th during Friday’s night two feature event at California’s Perris Auto Speedway.

Brady Bacon Does It Again On Night 2 At Perris

It took Brady Bacon 27 starts over a span of 13 years to reach victory lane for the first time at California’s Perris Auto Speedway on Thursday night.

Brady Bacon Among 6 Locked Into Saturday Oval Nats A-Main

Two consecutive victories for Brady Bacon on Thursday and Friday night at Perris Auto Speedway have netted him the Oval Nationals point lead.

Chris Windom Tops Oval Nats Points After Night #1


Although he finished second in Thursday night’s feature, Chris Windom sits in first in the Oval Nationals point standings after the opening night at California’s Perris Auto Speedway.

Brady Bacon Gets Best Of Perris On Night #1 Of Oval Nats


In 26 previous USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car starts at Perris Auto Speedway, Brady Bacon was in contention in the majority of them, garnering 17 top-tens and nine top-fives between 2006 and 2018.