A First for Seehorn in Idaho

Five rounds into the 2019 American Rally Association, presented by AMSOIL series; five different winners.

Nestled deep in the Sawtooth Mountain range less than an hour outside of Boise, the Idaho Rally International was a showcase for the technical aspect of rallying. Twists and turns, tight roads and quick hairpins littered the scheduled 123-stage miles for the two-day event. Winning would require drivers to be fast, but also clean and steady, which is exactly how it played out for Seehorn Racing’s Jeff Seehorn and Cody Crawford.

Seehorn, who won the Overall and the Limited 4WD class, was textbook in his approach to the weekend. He ran consistently fast times on Saturday and was the beneficiary of mistakes and mechanical issues that plagued the top Subaru Motorsports USA teams of David Higgins and co-driver Craig Drew, and Oliver Solberg and co-driver Denis Giraudet. At the end of day one, Seehorn and Crawford were atop the leaderboard, more than 53-seconds ahead of Higgins and Drew.

“We were just going out and playing it safe,” said Seehorn after day one was completed. “we would only be pushing when we need to but stay on the road.”

Six stages awaited the field on Sunday, and the consensus was that Higgins and Drew were going to push hard and would significantly cut into Seehorn’s lead on the Meadow Creek stage. After three stages were completed on Sunday, what was once a 53-second lead for Seehorn and Crawford, was now a 32-second lead for Higgins and Drew. Over the next two stages, runs up Spanish Fork and a shortened Grimes Pass, Higgins and Drew increased that lead up to 1:47, and needed one final run to lock up back-to-back wins.

The last stage of the day, however, would tell the story for the weekend. Higgins and Drew were pushing hard across the twisty Meadow Creek road, but with about two miles left to the finish, Higgins was uncharacteristically caught off-guard while trying to change a map, pushing him off the stage road. They were able to get back on-stage, but by the time they dug out, more than 20 minutes were lost, more than enough time for Seehorn to push on to a mistake-free win, the first national overall win of his career.

“We are just stoked, to keep it clean, to not have any mechanical issues,” said Seehorn after the podium celebration. “I spent hours prepping this car myself and it’s just amazing to come out with the overall. In my six years of doing this, this is an amazing weekend.”

With the weekend-long struggles for both Higgins and Solberg, the podium would be without at least one of the Subaru Motorsports USA teams for the first time this season at events they’ve competed. Instead, a great battle developed for second place between the Ken Stanick and co-driver Shayne Peterson and Cameron Steely and Preston Osborn.

Competing in the Limited 4WD class, Steely and Osborn held a 13-second lead for third overall entering Sunday. Stanick and Peterson were able to flip the switch on Sunday’s first stage, and despite keeping it close, Steely and Osborn were never able to close the gap on their Open 4WD counterpart, finishing third overall.

Blake and Tricia Lind finished the Idaho Rally fourth overall and won the National NA4WD class. Flynn Baglin and Co-driver Alix Hakala rounded out the top five while finishing third in L4WD behind Seehorn and Steely.

Chris and Michelle Miller finished sixth overall, and took home the National Open 2WD class win, besting Brad Morris and Doug Nagy by 45-seconds. In Limited 2WD, Robert Sanders and Mickey Mettetal won with a total time of 3:17:11.

The stages in Idaho proved positive for the Side-by-Side contenders. Carl Marcum and Phouvanh Sichulailuck actually timed in third fastest for the rally. Their overall time of 2:32:59 was just 27-seconds ahead of Stephane Verdier and Co-driver Erica Sacks.

In all, 29 cars started the ARA West Championship Idaho Regional Rally, and only 15 cars finished. At the top were Dave and Mike Brown who pushed their 2001 Subaru Impreza 2.5 RS to the overall and NA4WD win. Matt Brassfield and Co-driver Kristi Berg finished second overall while winning the L4WD division. Ryan Booth and Co-driver Alison Laroza finished third in the regional rally and won the L2WD class. Jeff Gamroth and Jason Baird rallied to a fourth overall finish in their 1989 Porsche 964 and won the O2WD. Rounding out the top five, as well as winning the O4WD class was Ryan Bouffioux and co-driver Steven Winnat.

Full results of the Idaho Rally International can be found on the ARA website, or on the ARA Mobile App.

Round six of the American Rally Association, presented by AMSOIL national schedule will shift back East with the scenic New England Forest Rally July 19-20. More than 120 competition miles will be held around the Newry, Maine and Errol, N.H. areas.

Beaver Stripes Adds $5,000 Western World Bonus

Beaver Stripes has added a $5,000 bonus if a driver can collect feature victories on consecutive nights in the USAC AMSOIL National/CRA/Sands Chevrolet Southwest Sprint Car portion of the 52nd annual Western World Championships presented by San Tan Ford on November 15-16 at Arizona Speedway in San Tan Valley.

Mat Williamson Crowned Super DIRTcar Champion At Charlotte

If one thing was certain about the 2019 Super DIRTcar season, is that it belonged to Mat Williamson and Matt Sheppard. 

Bud Kaeding Collects Oval Nats Passing Master Honors

Bud Kaeding passed a total of 17 cars throughout the three nights of Oval Nationals to earn the ProSource Passing Master Award for the event.

C.J. Leary Lands Oval Nats Victory At Perris

In his seven previous Oval Nationals final night starts, C.J. Leary had never managed a finish better than 13th. But all that changed on Saturday night. 

Diatte Wins USAC iRacing Finale At Fairbury

D1RT’s Ryan Diatte made the deciding pass halfway through Wednesday night’s iRacing USAC World Championship presented by FloRacing feature at Fairbury American Legion Speedway, ending the season on a high note with his first World Championship victory. Championship runner-up Alex Bergeron made a late-race charge to finish second, while Bobby Sandt Jr. completed the podium after winning the pole and leading the first half of the race.

Richard Vander Weerd Vaults To Oval Nats Passing Master Lead

Richard Vander Weerd rocketed to the top of the Oval Nationals ProSource Passing Master standings following his charge from 19th to 8th during Friday’s night two feature event at California’s Perris Auto Speedway.

Brady Bacon Does It Again On Night 2 At Perris

It took Brady Bacon 27 starts over a span of 13 years to reach victory lane for the first time at California’s Perris Auto Speedway on Thursday night.

Brady Bacon Among 6 Locked Into Saturday Oval Nats A-Main

Two consecutive victories for Brady Bacon on Thursday and Friday night at Perris Auto Speedway have netted him the Oval Nationals point lead.

Chris Windom Tops Oval Nats Points After Night #1


Although he finished second in Thursday night’s feature, Chris Windom sits in first in the Oval Nationals point standings after the opening night at California’s Perris Auto Speedway.

Brady Bacon Gets Best Of Perris On Night #1 Of Oval Nats


In 26 previous USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car starts at Perris Auto Speedway, Brady Bacon was in contention in the majority of them, garnering 17 top-tens and nine top-fives between 2006 and 2018.