ARX | Subaru Claims First Americas Rallycross Victory

Subaru Motorsport USA’s Scott Speed stormed to victory in the first round of the 2019 Americas Rallycross (ARX) Championship at the Cooper Tires ARX of Mid-Ohio to grab an early points advantage in what is shaping up to be an enthralling season of ARX action.

Speed took the pole with a victory in the second semi-final, before leading all six laps in the final to continue his title-winning form from 2018. In turn, Speed also secured the first ARX win for Subaru Motorsports USA at the brand-new Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course’s rallycross facility.

Things got wild in the first corner of the final when Subaru’s Chris Atkinson got forced wide by teammate and polesitter Speed, before he was spun around by Andretti Rallycross’ Tanner Foust, as Loenbro Motorsports’ Steve Arpin cut the course and climbed to second. Arpin’s rookie teammate Travis PeCoy climbed to third on Lap 1 after an entertaining battle with Foust in the first semi-final and hustled his team boss for the first two laps before Arpin took his joker. PeCoy took his joker on Lap 4 and held onto third, but behind him, Subaru’s Patrik Sandell came out of the joker and made contact with teammate Atkinson, damaging Atkinson’s left rear wheel and sending Sandell spinning into the infield.

Out in front and on his own, Speed took his joker on the second lap and held the lead to take Subaru’s first win in the category, as well as his first win in the classic Subaru colors, in his first attempt. Arpin was given a five-second penalty for cutting the course at Turn 2 on the opening lap, therefore promoting teammate PeCoy into second with Arpin rounding out the top three to secure a double podium for Loenbro Motorsports.

Foust recovered to finish fourth in front of Sandell and Atkinson, and as a result, sits second in the standings. Andretti’s Cabot Bigham ended a solid first weekend with the No. 02 Oink Clothing Volkswagen Beetle with a fourth-place finish in semi-final one, but came up just short from progressing to the final.

Jamaican Fraser McConnell stood on the top step of the podium for the first time in ARX’s official single specification support category, ARX2. DirtFish Motorsports’ McConnell started from pole position for the final and took control immediately from the start to lead all six laps and claim his first rallycross win. Dreyer & Reinbold Racing’s Cole Keatts started on the first row and recovered from a slow start to run second, but a clash with Buhl Sport Detroit’s Alex Keyes ended his race early. DRR’s Sage Karam dropped to fifth on the first lap but battled back to pass teammate Gray Leadbetter and Keyes, before pressuring McConnell throughout the final lap to secure another second-place finish to cap off a sensational rallycross debut weekend.

Keyes rounded out the podium in third to wrap up an excellent opening weekend for his 2019 championship aspirations, after winning Round 1 of the 2019 ARX2 Championship on Saturday in dominating fashion. JR Hildebrand came home fourth, ahead of Leadbetter who was forced to retire from the Final due to damage.

In the first ever weekend for the new Sierra ARX3 series, John McInnes took two wins in the SIERRA RX3 buggies thanks to some very assured performances all weekend. Jim Jonsin secured a pair of podium finishes with a second and a third, with James Kirkham and Dave Wallingford rounding out the podium places for the opening weekend.

ARX continues its 2019 campaign with a marquee event at World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway, just outside St. Louis, Missouri. The ARX of Gateway, July 13-14, features the first-ever duel double-header weekend for ARX Supercar and ARX2. Tickets are available online at and on

Event highlights from the Cooper Tires ARX of Mid-Ohio will air on CBS Sports Network on Wednesday, June 12 at 9:00 p.m. ET.

Swanson Tops Ventura's Battle at the Beach

Starting fifth, Jake Swanson (Anaheim, CA) raced past J.J. Ringo on the 24th lap and took the checkered flags at Ventura Raceway’s “ARP Battle at the Beach Race #3.”

Carlson Scores Fourth DMA Win at Bear Ridge

Seth Carlson of Stafford, CT dominated the night at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, VT driving a backup car owned by friend and fellow competitor Tim Gallant. Carlson, who would normally be driving his #2 Seals-it sponsored USAC DMA midget, has been having mechanical issues so getting behind the wheel of Galant’s 33 gave Carlson a chance to stay in the points hunt.

Stanfill Stands Tall at Spoon River

Bryan Stanfill led the final seven laps in a back-and-forth battle with Tyler Roth to win his first career USAC Engler IMRA Speed2 Midget feature event Saturday at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.

Windom Wins Smackdown Passing Master Title

By passing 23 cars throughout the three nights of Smackdown VIII, Chris Windom has claimed the ProSource Passing Master award for the eighth running of the event.

Courtney the King of Smackdown VIII at Kokomo

After positioning himself as King of the Hill earlier in the evening to earn a starting spot on the pole position for the feature, Tyler Courtney emerged as king of the mountaintop with his Smackdown VIII victory Saturday night, leading all 40 laps to join three-time winner Dave Darland in becoming the second multi-time victor of the event at Kokomo Speedway.

Courtney & Grant Reach 100 Straight USAC Sprint Starts

Friday night at Kokomo Speedway, a pair of USAC standouts reached the century mark in terms of consecutive USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature starts.

Smackdown VIII Points (After Night 2 of 3)

Justin Grant leads the Sprint Car Smackdown VIII points entering Saturday’s eighth annual finale featuring USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars at Indiana's Kokomo Speedway.

Windom Retains Smackdown Passing Master Lead

Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.) retains the lead of the ProSource Smackdown VIII Passing Master standings after advancing from his 16th to 7th in Thursday’s opening night feature and moving from 12th to 8th in Friday’s main event for a total of 13 cars passed in two nights of racing.

Seavey Sings a Winning Tune at Smackdown Night 2

One night after claiming a victory in Sprint Car Smackdown’s annual karaoke contest, Logan Seavey was singing a different tune Friday night on the track at Kokomo Speedway, ending it on a high note in victory lane following his first career USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car triumph.

Smackdown VIII Passing Master Points (After Night 1 of 3)

Longtime USAC supporter ProSource has pledged $400 to the overall Passing Master Award winner for Smackdown VIII, rewarding the driver advancing the most total positions throughout the week's three USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship feature events at Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway.