Foust Prevails on Opening Day at Mid-Ohio

Andretti Rallycross’ Tanner Foust was quickest in a drama filled Q2 at the Cooper Tires ARX of Mid-Ohio as Subaru Motorsports’ Scott Speed crashed out.

Reigning Americas Rallycross (ARX) Champion Speed, racing for Subaru Motorsports for the first time at the Mid Ohio Sports Courses new Rallycross facility, launched from the pole on Q2 race 1 but when Foust and Leonbro Motorsports’ Steve Arpin touched on the way to the first turn, Foust’s Volkswagen Beetle was spun into Speed. The WRX STI was pushed into a tire barrier and damaged both rear wheels, bringing out the red flags.

Foust took the hole-shot in the restart and held off Subaru’s Chris Atkinson for the win and fastest time. Arpin spun on the dirt on lap 1 and was P4 in Q2 behind race 1 winner Travis PeyCoy in the times. Turn 1 also had drama in race 1, Andretti Rallycross’ Cabot Bigham and Subaru’s Patrik Sandell came together and Sandell crashed out into a track marker. Bigham also had a spin in the race. Foust leads after the first two qualifiers. Speed is P2 and Arpin P3.

In ARX2, Buhl Sport’s Alex Keyes took the win in the first Final of the weekend, ahead of IndyCar's Sage Karam and DirtFish Motorsports' Brad DeBerti.

Meet Your 2020 Full-Time All Stars


With the 2020 Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 championship point season commencing this weekend, a stout contingent of some of the nation’s finest open wheel competitors are expected to assemble and tour full-time with America’s Series, kicking things off, officially, with a two-day stay at Park Jefferson International Speedway in Jefferson, South Dakota, on Friday and Saturday, May 29-30.

Hedgecock Dominates Sexton Memorial for $10,052

Anybody aiming to win a Late Model feature at 411 Motor Speedway has to outrun home-track standout Cory Hedgecock. No one could do it at Monday night’s Scott Sexton Memorial.

I-55 Hosts USAC Sprints on June 7

Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo. has been added to the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship schedule for Sunday night, June 7, making it a doubleheader weekend for the series with a visit to 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa the night before on Saturday night, June 6.

Relive Everything from USAC's T-Town Midget Showdown

USAC's return to action with the T-Town Midget Showdown did not disappoint. If you missed it, or just want to relive it again, here is all the action from the May 22-23 event at Port City.

Stovall Grabs $9,000 Triumph at West Plains

Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., picked up a $9,000 Comp Cams Super Late Model Series victory Saturday at Legit Speedway Park, a purse boosted by the late addition of $5,000 by Karl Chevrolet. Stovall overtook polesitter Logan Martin at halfway and survived a restart with five laps remaining to secure the victory as he took the checkers 0.737 seconds ahead of Martin.

Casebolt Hangs on for $10,000 at West Plains

With eight laps remaining in Saturday’s 50-lap Comp Cams Super Dirt Series feature at Legit Motor Speedway, second-running Payton Looney of Republic, Mo., had 5,000 reasons to stay exactly where he was.

Unlock this article, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Grant Rides Wave to Night #2 Port City Victory

In any instance, you take inspiration from anywhere you can gather it up.

USAC Sprints Return June 6 at Iowa's 34 Raceway

The USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship is back in action on Saturday, June 6, at 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa.

Courtney Takes T-Town Port City USAC Debut

It’s been quite awhile since Tyler Courtney and the USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championship were last in competition – 76 nights to be exact.

McIntosh Tops T-Town Showdown Practice

In the first USAC on-track action in 75 days, Cannon McIntosh recorded the fastest single lap in Thursday’s USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget practice session, turning in a time of 9.459 seconds to blister around the 1/8-mile in preparation for this Friday and Saturday’s racing events at Port City Raceway in Tulsa, Okla.