Hard Charging Windom is IMW Passing Master

Following Saturday’s victory in the 15th annual “Indiana Midget Week” finale at Lawrenceburg Speedway, Chris Windom lamented the fact that they had put themselves behind the eight ball early on in each of the first four races of the series, forcing them to fight from the back of the pack every night.

However, passing cars can pay plenty of dividends, and Windom did plenty of that over the past five nights to capture the $300 ProSource Passing Master bonus.

No driver passed more cars throughout the five-race series than did Windom, who overtook a total of 46 cars for a tick over an average of nine positions of advancement each night.  However, on the second night of IMW at Gas City, his 14-place advancement from 23rd to 9th didn’t calculate toward the ProSource Passing Master standings due to being a provisional starter, giving him an official total of 32 passes during IMW.

Windom started 11th and finished 10th in the opener at Montpelier, then the big charges began to happen in rapid succession.  The Canton, Ill. driver charged from 23rd to 9th at Gas City, from 14th to 5th at Lincoln Park, from 22nd to 4th at Bloomington and, finally, 5th to 1st at Lawrenceburg.

ProSource paid out $100 to each race’s hard charger who advanced the most positions from his or her starting spot (provisional starters excluded).  Jerry Coons, Jr. (20th to 11th at Montpelier), Tyler Courtney (15th to 6th at Gas City), Tanner Thorson (15th to 1st at Lincoln Park), Chris Windom (22nd to 4th at Bloomington), Chad Boat (15th to 2nd at Lawrenceburg).

Furthermore, ProSource sponsored the Hard Work award, which rewarded $100 to the slowest qualifying driver each night who transferred to the night’s main event: Boat (Montpelier), Andrew Layser (Gas City), Boat (Lincoln Park), Windom (Bloomington) and Zeb Wise (Lawrenceburg).



1. (32) Chris Windom

2. (31) Tanner Thorson

3. (29) Zeb Wise

4. (28) Chad Boat

5. (21) Logan Seavey

6. (21) Zach Daum

7. (15) Jason McDougal

8. (15) Jesse Colwell

9. (14) Tyler Courtney

10. (13) Cannon McIntosh

11. (10) Shane Golobic

12. (10) Andrew Layser

13. (9) Jerry Coons, Jr.

14. (8) Tanner Carrick

15. (8) Tucker Klaasmeyer

16. (7) Kevin Thomas, Jr.

17. (6) Holley Hollan

18. (4) Brady Bacon

19. (3) Cole Bodine

20. (2) Kyle Larson

21. (2) Ethan Mitchell

22. (2) Dillon Welch

23. (2) Dave Darland

24. (1) Justin Grant

25. (0) Anton Hernandez, Billy Wease, Brent Watson, C.J. Leary, Chris Baue, Critter Malone, Davey Ray, Karsyn Elledge, Kyle Cummins, Michael Koontz, Michael Pickens, Noah Gass, Oliver Akard, Ryan Padgett, Sterling Cling, Thomas Meseraull, Tyler Nelson, Zane Hendricks, Sam Johnson, Justin Dickerson, Kendall Ruble & Justin Peck

Swanson Tops Ventura's Battle at the Beach

Starting fifth, Jake Swanson (Anaheim, CA) raced past J.J. Ringo on the 24th lap and took the checkered flags at Ventura Raceway’s “ARP Battle at the Beach Race #3.”

Carlson Scores Fourth DMA Win at Bear Ridge

Seth Carlson of Stafford, CT dominated the night at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, VT driving a backup car owned by friend and fellow competitor Tim Gallant. Carlson, who would normally be driving his #2 Seals-it sponsored USAC DMA midget, has been having mechanical issues so getting behind the wheel of Galant’s 33 gave Carlson a chance to stay in the points hunt.

Stanfill Stands Tall at Spoon River

Bryan Stanfill led the final seven laps in a back-and-forth battle with Tyler Roth to win his first career USAC Engler IMRA Speed2 Midget feature event Saturday at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.

Windom Wins Smackdown Passing Master Title

By passing 23 cars throughout the three nights of Smackdown VIII, Chris Windom has claimed the ProSource Passing Master award for the eighth running of the event.

Courtney the King of Smackdown VIII at Kokomo

After positioning himself as King of the Hill earlier in the evening to earn a starting spot on the pole position for the feature, Tyler Courtney emerged as king of the mountaintop with his Smackdown VIII victory Saturday night, leading all 40 laps to join three-time winner Dave Darland in becoming the second multi-time victor of the event at Kokomo Speedway.

Courtney & Grant Reach 100 Straight USAC Sprint Starts

Friday night at Kokomo Speedway, a pair of USAC standouts reached the century mark in terms of consecutive USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature starts.

Smackdown VIII Points (After Night 2 of 3)

Justin Grant leads the Sprint Car Smackdown VIII points entering Saturday’s eighth annual finale featuring USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars at Indiana's Kokomo Speedway.

Windom Retains Smackdown Passing Master Lead

Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.) retains the lead of the ProSource Smackdown VIII Passing Master standings after advancing from his 16th to 7th in Thursday’s opening night feature and moving from 12th to 8th in Friday’s main event for a total of 13 cars passed in two nights of racing.

Seavey Sings a Winning Tune at Smackdown Night 2

One night after claiming a victory in Sprint Car Smackdown’s annual karaoke contest, Logan Seavey was singing a different tune Friday night on the track at Kokomo Speedway, ending it on a high note in victory lane following his first career USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car triumph.

Smackdown VIII Passing Master Points (After Night 1 of 3)

Longtime USAC supporter ProSource has pledged $400 to the overall Passing Master Award winner for Smackdown VIII, rewarding the driver advancing the most total positions throughout the week's three USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship feature events at Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway.