Martin's Late Charge Earns Him Canyon Win

Starting third, “The Magic Man” Mike Martin (Yuma, AZ) worked his way past Brody Roa on lap 27 and powered to the “CSP Birthday Bash” win at Canyon Speedway Park.

Racing his #16 Naquin Precision Earth Moving / American Flowtech Consulting Services Maxim, Martin’s 30-lap triumph was his first Sands Chevrolet USAC SouthWest Sprint Car win of the season. Roa, fast qualifier “Chargin” Charles Davis Jr., Stevie Sussex, and hard charger R.J. Johnson rounded out the top-five drivers.

Johnson claimed the night’s Saldana Racing Products Hard Charger Award / Best Passing Job honors with a fifth place run from ninth. For the second consecutive race, Matt Lundy earned the AAA Car Buying 360 bonus with an eighth place finish. 

Defending champion Davis had top honors in Beaver Stripes Qualifying by posting a time of 15.373 over the 15-car roster.

The ten-lap heat race victories went to Johnson (Brown & Miller Racing Solutions First Heat) and Roa (Competition Suspension Incorporated / Ultra Shield Race Products Second Heat).  

The USAC SouthWest Sprint Cars will return to action on Saturday, July 13th at Perris Auto Speedway in a co-sanctioned event with the AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprints. 

The Sands Chevrolet USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Series thanks AAA Car Buying, AMSOIL, Beaver Stripes, Brown & Miller Racing Solutions, ButlerBuilt Professional Seat Systems, Competition Suspension Incorporated, Hoosier Racing Tire, Pyrotect Racing Cells, Saldana Racing Products, and Ultra Shield Race Products for their support. 

For more information on the series, visit and the social media for USAC Racing. You can also find exclusive content on and the USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Facebook and Twitter pages.

SANDS CHEVROLET USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT CAR SERIES RACE RESULTS: June 8, 2019 – Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, Arizona – “CSP Birthday Bash”

BEAVER STRIPES QUALIFYING: 1. Charles Davis Jr., 50, Davis-15.373; 2. Jake Swanson, 34AZ, Grau/Burkhart-15.477; 3. Stevie Sussex, 12, Allen-15.619; 4. Kyle Shipley, 34, Grau-15.651; 5. Michael Curtis, 11C, Turner/Wheeler-15.711; 6. Matt Lundy, 98, Lundy-15.857; 7. Mike Martin, 16, Martin-15.972; 8. Chris Bonneau, 15, Bonneau-16.137; 9. Dennis Gile, 13, Gile-16.255; 10. Brody Roa, 91R, Roa-16.257; 11. R.J. Johnson, 51, Martin-16.265; 12. Jonas Reynolds, 0, Reynolds-16.333; 13. Daylin Perreira, 21, Perreira-17.209; 14. Justin Kierce, 43, Kierce-17.340; 15. Tyler Most, 3, Most-18.064.

BROWN & MILLER RACING SOLUTIONS FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Johnson, 2. Gile, 3. Martin, 4. Davis, 5. Sussex, 6. Curtis, 7. Kierce. NT

COMPETITION SUSPENSION INC. / ULTRA SHIELD RACE PRODUCTS SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Roa, 2. Bonneau, 3. Lundy, 4. Shipley, 5. Perreira, 6. Most, 7. Reynolds. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps, with starting positions) 1. Mike Martin (3), 2. Brody Roa (1), 3. Charles Davis Jr. (6), 4. Stevie Sussex (7), 5. R.J. Johnson (9), 6. Chris Bonneau (2), 7. Kyle Shipley (5), 8. Matt Lundy (4), 9. Daylin Perreira (11), 10. Michael Curtis (8), 11. Justin Kierce (12), 12. Jonas Reynolds (10), 13. Tyler Most (13). NT


FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-26 Roa, Laps 27-30 Martin.



NEW SANDS CHEVROLET USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT CAR POINTS: 1-Roa-589, 2-Johnson-536, 3-Sussex-511, 4-Davis-482, 5-Martin-467, 6-Matt Rossi-381, 7-Lundy-368, 8-Swanson-357, 9-Curtis-347, 10-Bonneau-300.

NEXT SANDS CHEVROLET USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT CAR RACE: July 13 – Perris Auto Speedway – Perris, California – co-sanctioned with USAC/CRA

Swanson Tops Ventura's Battle at the Beach

Starting fifth, Jake Swanson (Anaheim, CA) raced past J.J. Ringo on the 24th lap and took the checkered flags at Ventura Raceway’s “ARP Battle at the Beach Race #3.”

Carlson Scores Fourth DMA Win at Bear Ridge

Seth Carlson of Stafford, CT dominated the night at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, VT driving a backup car owned by friend and fellow competitor Tim Gallant. Carlson, who would normally be driving his #2 Seals-it sponsored USAC DMA midget, has been having mechanical issues so getting behind the wheel of Galant’s 33 gave Carlson a chance to stay in the points hunt.

Stanfill Stands Tall at Spoon River

Bryan Stanfill led the final seven laps in a back-and-forth battle with Tyler Roth to win his first career USAC Engler IMRA Speed2 Midget feature event Saturday at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.

Windom Wins Smackdown Passing Master Title

By passing 23 cars throughout the three nights of Smackdown VIII, Chris Windom has claimed the ProSource Passing Master award for the eighth running of the event.

Courtney the King of Smackdown VIII at Kokomo

After positioning himself as King of the Hill earlier in the evening to earn a starting spot on the pole position for the feature, Tyler Courtney emerged as king of the mountaintop with his Smackdown VIII victory Saturday night, leading all 40 laps to join three-time winner Dave Darland in becoming the second multi-time victor of the event at Kokomo Speedway.

Courtney & Grant Reach 100 Straight USAC Sprint Starts

Friday night at Kokomo Speedway, a pair of USAC standouts reached the century mark in terms of consecutive USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature starts.

Smackdown VIII Points (After Night 2 of 3)

Justin Grant leads the Sprint Car Smackdown VIII points entering Saturday’s eighth annual finale featuring USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars at Indiana's Kokomo Speedway.

Windom Retains Smackdown Passing Master Lead

Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.) retains the lead of the ProSource Smackdown VIII Passing Master standings after advancing from his 16th to 7th in Thursday’s opening night feature and moving from 12th to 8th in Friday’s main event for a total of 13 cars passed in two nights of racing.

Seavey Sings a Winning Tune at Smackdown Night 2

One night after claiming a victory in Sprint Car Smackdown’s annual karaoke contest, Logan Seavey was singing a different tune Friday night on the track at Kokomo Speedway, ending it on a high note in victory lane following his first career USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car triumph.

Smackdown VIII Passing Master Points (After Night 1 of 3)

Longtime USAC supporter ProSource has pledged $400 to the overall Passing Master Award winner for Smackdown VIII, rewarding the driver advancing the most total positions throughout the week's three USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship feature events at Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway.