Seavey Crowned Indiana Midget Week Champ

Last November, Logan Seavey added a USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget championship to his resume.  Now, just a little over six months later, the Sutter, Calif. has gained an “Indiana Midget Week” title for 2019.

Seavey began his “Indiana Midget Week” with a flourish, leading the final 24 laps to win the opener on Tuesday at Montpelier Motor Speedway, which put him in the driver’s seat for the title right out of the box.

Wednesday’s round at Gas City I-69 Speedway proved to be the only setback to the week where he started 14th and finished 12th.  Despite that, he remained 4th in the IMW standings, 18 markers behind the point leader at the time, Keith Kunz Motorsports/Curb-Agajanian teammate Tanner Thorson.

Rolling into Lincoln Park Speedway for Thursday’s third round of IMW was the turning point for the team.  Although coming up short for the win, Seavey led eight laps and finished 2nd behind Thorson.  Seavey managed to clip off only a single point to knock down the IMW deficit to 17.  But, in championship battles, any slip can cause a loss of the grip in the position you hold.  That was proven the very next night.

Onward to Bloomington on Friday, Seavey was once again in position to challenge for the win, coming up just short on a last lap, turn three slider to winner Tyler Courtney, his closest suitor in the IMW standings.  The fortuitous wavering of the standings saw point leader Thorson walk away uninjured from a flip over the turn one banking on lap seven, giving Thorson a last-place result of 24th and the minimum 23 points.  Seavey’s consistent consistency provided him with a 67-point feature night, swaying the IMW title race completely in his direction where he now held a six-point bump over Courtney.

In what turned out to be the 2019 IMW finale due to Sunday’s Kokomo rain out, like he did the night before at Bloomington, Seavey was once again right in the thick of the hunt for the victory.  With less than three laps remaining, he actually claimed the lead briefly and was engaged in a side-by-side battle with Chris Windom for the win before being relegated to 2nd for the restart.  He wound up 3rd in the end as Chad Boat got by on the final lap to finish in the runner-up spot.

However, once again, it pays to have the fortitude and the fortune to finish up front consistently without having a mechanical issue or the misfortune that Tyler Courtney encountered when he had a right rear tire go down on lap 22 while running third.  He was relegated to a 15th place finish in the end, putting him, as it turned out, out of contention for a first IMW title after consecutive runner-up finishes the last two years.

Seavey claimed he felt like he had a car to win four of the five races and indicated a bit of remorse on not being able to pull out at least one more victory during the week.  However, it’s a race all its own for a driver just to simply put themselves in a position to win at the end.  Seavey has time and again accomplished that on the regular, a major reason why you can now call him both a National Champ and an “Indiana Midget Week” champ.

Seavey’s $1,000 IMW title was also the fifth for car owner Keith Kunz who also captured IMW crowns with Christopher Bell (2013), Rico Abreu (2014-15) and Spencer Bayston (2018). 

In the meantime, Seavey also became the sixth driver to win the IMW title the year directly after winning the USAC National Midget championship, joining Jerry Coons, Jr. (2007), Brad Kuhn (2010), Bryan Clauson (2011), Rico Abreu (2015) and Spencer Bayston (2018).



1. (352) Logan Seavey

2. (316) Tanner Thorson

3. (316) Tyler Courtney

4. (276) Shane Golobic

5. (267) Chris Windom

6. (253) Chad Boat

7. (247) Kevin Thomas, Jr.

8. (231) Jerry Coons, Jr.

9. (222) Jason McDougal

10. (222) Zeb Wise

11. (217) Justin Grant

12. (216) Zach Daum

13. (207) Tanner Carrick

14. (200) Cannon McIntosh

15. (200) Michael Pickens

16. (180) Tucker Klaasmeyer

17. (177) Jesse Colwell

18. (165) Andrew Layser

19. (155) Thomas Meseraull

20. (144) Brady Bacon

21. (124) Holley Hollan

22. (124) Dave Darland

23. (118) Karsyn Elledge

24. (117) C.J. Leary

25. (105) Ethan Mitchell

26. (103) Kyle Larson

27. (97) Dillon Welch

28. (74) Cole Bodine

29. (68) Noah Gass

30. (56) Kyle Cummins

31. (53) Zane Hendricks

32. (50) Sterling Cling

33. (40) Michael Koontz

34. (30) Anton Hernandez, Chris Baue & Oliver Akard

37. (20) Sam Johnson

38. (10) Billy Wease, Tyler Nelson, Ryan Padgett, Justin Peck, Critter Malone, Brent Watson, Kendall Ruble, Davey Ray & Justin Dickerson

Swanson Tops Ventura's Battle at the Beach

Starting fifth, Jake Swanson (Anaheim, CA) raced past J.J. Ringo on the 24th lap and took the checkered flags at Ventura Raceway’s “ARP Battle at the Beach Race #3.”

Carlson Scores Fourth DMA Win at Bear Ridge

Seth Carlson of Stafford, CT dominated the night at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, VT driving a backup car owned by friend and fellow competitor Tim Gallant. Carlson, who would normally be driving his #2 Seals-it sponsored USAC DMA midget, has been having mechanical issues so getting behind the wheel of Galant’s 33 gave Carlson a chance to stay in the points hunt.

Stanfill Stands Tall at Spoon River

Bryan Stanfill led the final seven laps in a back-and-forth battle with Tyler Roth to win his first career USAC Engler IMRA Speed2 Midget feature event Saturday at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.

Windom Wins Smackdown Passing Master Title

By passing 23 cars throughout the three nights of Smackdown VIII, Chris Windom has claimed the ProSource Passing Master award for the eighth running of the event.

Courtney the King of Smackdown VIII at Kokomo

After positioning himself as King of the Hill earlier in the evening to earn a starting spot on the pole position for the feature, Tyler Courtney emerged as king of the mountaintop with his Smackdown VIII victory Saturday night, leading all 40 laps to join three-time winner Dave Darland in becoming the second multi-time victor of the event at Kokomo Speedway.

Courtney & Grant Reach 100 Straight USAC Sprint Starts

Friday night at Kokomo Speedway, a pair of USAC standouts reached the century mark in terms of consecutive USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature starts.

Smackdown VIII Points (After Night 2 of 3)

Justin Grant leads the Sprint Car Smackdown VIII points entering Saturday’s eighth annual finale featuring USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars at Indiana's Kokomo Speedway.

Windom Retains Smackdown Passing Master Lead

Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.) retains the lead of the ProSource Smackdown VIII Passing Master standings after advancing from his 16th to 7th in Thursday’s opening night feature and moving from 12th to 8th in Friday’s main event for a total of 13 cars passed in two nights of racing.

Seavey Sings a Winning Tune at Smackdown Night 2

One night after claiming a victory in Sprint Car Smackdown’s annual karaoke contest, Logan Seavey was singing a different tune Friday night on the track at Kokomo Speedway, ending it on a high note in victory lane following his first career USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car triumph.

Smackdown VIII Passing Master Points (After Night 1 of 3)

Longtime USAC supporter ProSource has pledged $400 to the overall Passing Master Award winner for Smackdown VIII, rewarding the driver advancing the most total positions throughout the week's three USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship feature events at Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway.