Tri-City USAC Sprints Fall to Rain

For the second consecutive Saturday, rain captured the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature, this time in Saturday’s Brandt “River Town Showdown” at Tri-City Speedway. A subsequent makeup date for the event will be announced soon.

Tyler Courtney’s impressive qualifying feats continued Saturday at Tri-City, sweeping Fatheadz Eyewear Quick time in both the Sprint Car and the NOS Energy Drink National Midget for the second-straight night.  Robert Ballou, Kevin Thomas, Jr. and Brady Bacon captured heat race wins.

Contingency award winners Saturday night at Tri-City Speedway were Tyler Courtney (Fatheadz Eyewear Fast Qualifier), Robert Ballou (Simpson Race Products First Heat Winner), Kevin Thomas, Jr. (Competition Suspension, Inc. Second Heat Winner), Brady Bacon (AutoMeter Third Heat Winner) and Chase Stockon (Roger & Barb Tapy 13th Fastest Qualifier).

C.J. Leary remains the series point leader heading into Wednesday’s 49th annual “Tony Hulman Classic” at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track.  He leads by eight points over Thomas, Chris Windom (-57), Courtney (-62) and Chase Stockon (-68).

“Tony Hulman Classic” activities get underway with pits opening at 3pm eastern, drivers meeting at 6pm and cars on track at 6:30pm, with qualifications and racing to immediately follow.  Tickets are $25 for adult general admission and $15 adult infield tickets.  Children 11 and under are FREE!  Pit passes are $30 for members and $35 for non-members.

A great deal is available for those who don't want to miss a single lap of "The Week of Indy.”  A Superticket is being sold for a savings of 25% off of the regular three-day prices for the Wednesday, May 22 “Tony Hulman Classic” for USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars at the Terre Haute Action Track, the Thursday, May 23 “Hoosier Hundred” for USAC Silver Crown at the Indiana State Fairgrounds and on Friday, May 24 for the Dave Steele “Carb Night Classic” Silver Crown race at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis.

For just $60, a savings of $20, a fan will receive general admission at Terre Haute and Lucas Oil Raceway as well as a reserved seat for the Hoosier Hundred.  To purchase a Superticket, visit

For more information on any of the events, visit,, or call the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

The Terre Haute Action Track is located at 3901 South US Hwy 41, Terre Haute, IN 47807.  You can reach the promoter, Track Enterprises, by phone at (217) 764-3200 and on race day at (812) 232-4040.

Watch the race live and on-demand at  Listen live on the USAC app.  Follow along with live updates on and, plus live timing and scoring on the Race Monitor app.


USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE RESULTS: May 18, 2019 – Tri-City Speedway – Granite City, Illinois – Brandt “River Town Showdown” – 3/8-Mile Dirt Oval

FATHEADZ EYEWEAR QUALIFYING: 1. Tyler Courtney, 7BC, Clauson/Marshall/Newman-14.737; 2. Carson Short, 21, RCM-14.875; 3. Justin Grant, 4, TOPP-14.945; 4. C.J. Leary, 19AZ, Reinbold/Underwood-15.020; 5. Chris Windom, 5G, Goacher-15.022; 6. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-15.027; 7. Chad Boespflug, 98e, EZR-15.088; 8. Kevin Thomas, Jr., 19, Hayward/Thomas-15.155; 9. Zach Daum, 5D, Daum-15.232; 10. Robert Ballou, 12, Ballou-15.264; 11. Jason McDougal, 71p, Daigh/Phillips-15.268; 12. Mario Clouser, 6, MCM-15.314; 13. Chase Stockon, 32, 32 TBI-15.329; 14. Isaac Chapple, 52, LNR/Chapple-15.608; 15. T.J. Artz, 57, Artz-15.612; 16. Mitchell Davis, 56, Davis-15.706; 17. Dustin Smith, 77s. Smith-15.826; 18. James Lyerla, 11, Lyerla-16.081; 19. Korey Weyant, 99, Weyant-16.795; 20. Brad Wyatt, 41, RNS-16.856; 21. Steve Thomas, 20, Thomas-17.193; 22. Patrick Budde, 90, Budde-17.603; 23. Scottie Gretzmacher, 16G, Gretzmacher-17.785; 24. Robert Bell, 71, Bell-NT.

SIMPSON RACE PRODUCTS FIRST HEAT: (8 laps, all transfer) 1. Ballou, 2. Leary, 3. Courtney, 4. Stockon, 5. Boespflug, 6. Davis, 7. Weyant, 8. Budde. 2:13.90

COMPETITION SUSPENSION (CSI) SECOND HEAT: (8 laps, all transfer) 1. K. Thomas, 2. Short, 3. Windom, 4. McDougal, 5. Chapple, 6. Smith, 7. Wyatt, 8. Gretzmacher. NT

AUTOMETER/INDY RACE PARTS THIRD HEAT: (8 laps, all transfer) 1. Bacon, 2. Clouser, 3. Daum, 4. Grant, 5. Lyerla, 6. Artz, 7. S. Thomas. NT



NEW USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS: 1-Leary-480, 2-K. Thomas-472, 3-Windom-423, 4-Courtney-418, 5-Stockon-412, 6-Bacon-401, 7-Grant-374, 8-Short-369, 9-Ballou-356, 10-McDougal-333.

NEXT USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE: May 22, 2019 – Terre Haute Action Track – Terre Haute, Indiana – 49th“Tony Hulman Classic” – 1/2-Mile Dirt Oval

Swanson Tops Ventura's Battle at the Beach

Starting fifth, Jake Swanson (Anaheim, CA) raced past J.J. Ringo on the 24th lap and took the checkered flags at Ventura Raceway’s “ARP Battle at the Beach Race #3.”

Carlson Scores Fourth DMA Win at Bear Ridge

Seth Carlson of Stafford, CT dominated the night at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, VT driving a backup car owned by friend and fellow competitor Tim Gallant. Carlson, who would normally be driving his #2 Seals-it sponsored USAC DMA midget, has been having mechanical issues so getting behind the wheel of Galant’s 33 gave Carlson a chance to stay in the points hunt.

Stanfill Stands Tall at Spoon River

Bryan Stanfill led the final seven laps in a back-and-forth battle with Tyler Roth to win his first career USAC Engler IMRA Speed2 Midget feature event Saturday at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.

Windom Wins Smackdown Passing Master Title

By passing 23 cars throughout the three nights of Smackdown VIII, Chris Windom has claimed the ProSource Passing Master award for the eighth running of the event.

Courtney the King of Smackdown VIII at Kokomo

After positioning himself as King of the Hill earlier in the evening to earn a starting spot on the pole position for the feature, Tyler Courtney emerged as king of the mountaintop with his Smackdown VIII victory Saturday night, leading all 40 laps to join three-time winner Dave Darland in becoming the second multi-time victor of the event at Kokomo Speedway.

Courtney & Grant Reach 100 Straight USAC Sprint Starts

Friday night at Kokomo Speedway, a pair of USAC standouts reached the century mark in terms of consecutive USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature starts.

Smackdown VIII Points (After Night 2 of 3)

Justin Grant leads the Sprint Car Smackdown VIII points entering Saturday’s eighth annual finale featuring USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars at Indiana's Kokomo Speedway.

Windom Retains Smackdown Passing Master Lead

Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.) retains the lead of the ProSource Smackdown VIII Passing Master standings after advancing from his 16th to 7th in Thursday’s opening night feature and moving from 12th to 8th in Friday’s main event for a total of 13 cars passed in two nights of racing.

Seavey Sings a Winning Tune at Smackdown Night 2

One night after claiming a victory in Sprint Car Smackdown’s annual karaoke contest, Logan Seavey was singing a different tune Friday night on the track at Kokomo Speedway, ending it on a high note in victory lane following his first career USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car triumph.

Smackdown VIII Passing Master Points (After Night 1 of 3)

Longtime USAC supporter ProSource has pledged $400 to the overall Passing Master Award winner for Smackdown VIII, rewarding the driver advancing the most total positions throughout the week's three USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship feature events at Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway.