Mother Nature Claims Tri-City USAC Midgets

Rain fell just as cars were pushed off for the start of the semi-feature, forcing cancellation of Saturday’s Brandt “River Town Showdown” program for the USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championship at Tri-City Speedway.  A subsequent makeup date for the event will be announced soon.

Tyler Courtney swept Fatheadz Eyewear Qualifying on both Friday and Saturday night in both the midget and the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship divisions.  Chad Boat, Cannon McIntosh and Brady Bacon claimed heat race victories.

Next up on the USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championship schedule is the 15th annual running of “Indiana Midget Week,” six races in six nights beginning at Montpelier Motor Speedway on June 4, then to Gas City I-69 Speedway on June 5, Lincoln Park Speedway (Putnamville) on June 6, Bloomington Speedway on June 7, Lawrenceburg Speedway on June 8 and Kokomo Speedway on June 9.

Contingency award winners Saturday night at Tri-City Speedway were Tyler Courtney (Fatheadz Eyewear Fast Qualifier), Chad Boat (Simpson Race Products First Heat Winner), Cannon McIntosh (Competition Suspension, Inc. Second Heat Winner) and Brady Bacon (Auto Meter/Indy Race Parts Third Heat Winner).


USAC NOS ENERGY DRINK MIDGET NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE RESULTS: May 18, 2019 – Tri-City Speedway – Granite City, Illinois – Brandt “River Town Showdown” – 3/8-Mile Dirt Oval

FATHEADZ EYEWEAR QUALIFYING: 1. Tyler Courtney, 7BC, Clauson/Marshall-15.270; 2. Kevin Thomas, Jr., 5, Petry-15.515; 3. Logan Seavey, 67, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-15.521; 4. Justin Grant, 4A, RAMS-15.577; 5. Tyler Thomas, 91T, Thomas-15.624; 6. Tanner Carrick, 71K, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-15.735; 7. Chad Boat, 84, Tucker/Boat-15.779; 8. Jesse Colwell, 71, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-15.823; 9. Brady Bacon, 76, FMR-15.841; 10. Chris Windom, 17BC, Clauson/Marshall-15.849; 11. Jake Neuman, 3N, Neuman-15.870; 12. Andrew Layser, 47BC, Clauson/Marshall-15.878; 13. Zeb Wise, 39BC, Clauson/Marshall-15.935; 14. Jerry Coons, Jr., 25, Petry-15.948; 15. Zane Hendricks, 27z, Hendricks-15.991; 16. Jason McDougal, 21KS, Reynolds-16.005; 17. Cannon McIntosh, 08, Dave Mac-16.020; 18. Holley Hollan, 67K, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-16.100; 19. C.J. Leary, 76m, FMR-16.203; 20. Tucker Klaasmeyer, 27, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-16.296; 21. Presley Truedson, 5T, Daum-16.402; 22. Karsyn Elledge, 1, Tucker/Boat-16.414; 23. Zach Daum, 5D, Daum-16.462; 24. Cole Bodine, 15, Petry-16.565; 25. Kyle O’Gara, 67F, SFHR-17.319; 26. Sterling Cling, 35, Petry-NT.

SIMPSON RACE PRODUCTS FIRST HEAT: (8 laps, top-5 transfer) 1. Boat, 2. McDougal, 3. Windom, 4. Courtney, 5. Grant, 6. Elledge, 7. Leary, 8. Wise. 2:09.42

COMPETITION SUSPENSION (CSI) SECOND HEAT: (8 laps, top-5 transfer) 1. McIntosh, 2. Coons, 3. Colwell, 4. Klaasmeyer, 5. Daum, 6. T. Thomas, 7. K. Thomas, 8. Neuman. 2:12.19

AUTOMETER THIRD HEAT: (8 laps, top-5 transfer) 1. Bacon, 2. Layser, 3. Carrick, 4. Seavey, 5. Hollan, 6. Hendricks, 7. Bodine, 8. Truedson. 2:14.50



**Cling flipped during qualifying.

NEW USAC NOS ENERGY DRINK MIDGET NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS: 1-Courtney-456, 2-K. Thomas-417, 3-Leary-373, 4-Wise-367, 5-Windom-361, 6-Seavey-357, 7-Boat-347, 8-Klaasmeyer-331, 9-Carrick-295, 10-Colwell-287.

NEXT USAC NOS ENERGY DRINK MIDGET NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE: June 4, 2019 – Montpelier Motor Speedway – Montpelier, Indiana – 15th “Indiana Midget Week” – 1/4-Mile Dirt Oval

Swanson Tops Ventura's Battle at the Beach

Starting fifth, Jake Swanson (Anaheim, CA) raced past J.J. Ringo on the 24th lap and took the checkered flags at Ventura Raceway’s “ARP Battle at the Beach Race #3.”

Carlson Scores Fourth DMA Win at Bear Ridge

Seth Carlson of Stafford, CT dominated the night at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, VT driving a backup car owned by friend and fellow competitor Tim Gallant. Carlson, who would normally be driving his #2 Seals-it sponsored USAC DMA midget, has been having mechanical issues so getting behind the wheel of Galant’s 33 gave Carlson a chance to stay in the points hunt.

Stanfill Stands Tall at Spoon River

Bryan Stanfill led the final seven laps in a back-and-forth battle with Tyler Roth to win his first career USAC Engler IMRA Speed2 Midget feature event Saturday at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.

Windom Wins Smackdown Passing Master Title

By passing 23 cars throughout the three nights of Smackdown VIII, Chris Windom has claimed the ProSource Passing Master award for the eighth running of the event.

Courtney the King of Smackdown VIII at Kokomo

After positioning himself as King of the Hill earlier in the evening to earn a starting spot on the pole position for the feature, Tyler Courtney emerged as king of the mountaintop with his Smackdown VIII victory Saturday night, leading all 40 laps to join three-time winner Dave Darland in becoming the second multi-time victor of the event at Kokomo Speedway.

Courtney & Grant Reach 100 Straight USAC Sprint Starts

Friday night at Kokomo Speedway, a pair of USAC standouts reached the century mark in terms of consecutive USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature starts.

Smackdown VIII Points (After Night 2 of 3)

Justin Grant leads the Sprint Car Smackdown VIII points entering Saturday’s eighth annual finale featuring USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars at Indiana's Kokomo Speedway.

Windom Retains Smackdown Passing Master Lead

Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.) retains the lead of the ProSource Smackdown VIII Passing Master standings after advancing from his 16th to 7th in Thursday’s opening night feature and moving from 12th to 8th in Friday’s main event for a total of 13 cars passed in two nights of racing.

Seavey Sings a Winning Tune at Smackdown Night 2

One night after claiming a victory in Sprint Car Smackdown’s annual karaoke contest, Logan Seavey was singing a different tune Friday night on the track at Kokomo Speedway, ending it on a high note in victory lane following his first career USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car triumph.

Smackdown VIII Passing Master Points (After Night 1 of 3)

Longtime USAC supporter ProSource has pledged $400 to the overall Passing Master Award winner for Smackdown VIII, rewarding the driver advancing the most total positions throughout the week's three USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship feature events at Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway.