Leffel Takes USAC MTM Opener at Gas City

Two-time and defending USAC Midwest Thunder Speed2 Midget Series Champion Aaron Leffel of Springfield, Ohio captured the 2019 series opener Friday night at Gas City I-69 Speedway.

He passed John Heydenreich on lap 16 and led the final five laps to beat Gunnar Lucius, Heydenreich, Stratton Briggs and Chris Bounds. The series continues tonight at Montpelier (Ind.) Motor Speedway.

USAC MIDWEST THUNDER SPEED2 MIDGET SERIES RACE RESULTS: May 17, 2019 – Gas City, Indiana – Gas City I-69 Speedway

FEATURE: (20 laps) 1. Aaron Leffel (#11L Taylor), 2. Gunnar Lucius (#22L Lucius), 3. John Heydenreich (#22H Givens), 4. Stratton Briggs (#71 Briggs), 5. Chris Bounds (#84 Bounds), 6. Ian Creager (#36 Creager), 7. Tommy Bigelow (#2B Bigelow), 8. Kevin Smith (#11T Taylor), 9. Anthony Haas (#66 Haas), 10. Kyle Kriegbaum (#63 Kriegbaum), 11. Alex Watson (#3 Watson), 12. Adam Schmenk (#6 Schmenk), 13. Don Bigelow (#4B Bigelow), 14. Bryce Dues (#23 Dues), 16. Tim Key (#6K Key), 16. Tyler Key (#5T Key), 17. Matt Cogley (#50 Cogley), 18. Zane Briggs (#10 Briggs), 19. Jon Steed (#7 Steed), 20. Alex Cogley (#18 Cogley), 21. Kevin Blue (#Dw7 Blue), 22. Cory Guingrich (#62 Guingrich). NT


FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-7 Briggs, Laps 8-15 Heydenreich, Laps 16-20 Leffel.

NEW USAC MIDWEST MIDGET THUNDER SPEED2 MIDGET SERIES POINTS: 1-Leffel-70, 2-Lucius-67, 3-Heydenreich-64, 4-Briggs-61, 5-Bounds-58, 6-Creager-55, 7-T. Bigelow-52, 8-Smith-49, 9-Haas-46, 10-Kriegbaum-43.


Leary Captures 2019 Eastern Storm Title

More often than not, Eastern Storm has proven to be a harbinger of even more success.

Eastern Storm Finale at Weedsport Rained Out

Persistent rain has washed out and forced cancellation of Sunday’s “Eastern Storm” finale for the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship at New York’s Weedsport Speedway.

Gronholm Heads The Pack in Hell After Day One

Finland’s Niclas Gronholm set his second career quickest time in Q2 at the Team Verksted World RX of Norway, round five of the FIA World Rallycross Championship to take the overnight TQ (top qualifier) position.

Gronholm Makes Rapid Return

Finland’s Gronholm missed the Belgian and UK rounds of World RX with illness but bounced back at Hell RX with a race win in Q1 Race 3 and the quickest time with the GRX Hyundai i20 Supercar.

Guardino Continues to Roll at Santa Maria

Regaining the lead from Jake Swanson on lap 21, Tristan Guardino (Fremont, CA) claimed the “Ron Otto Memorial” at Santa Maria Raceway.

Courtney Rules Port Royal Eastern Storm Round

For Tyler Courtney, the date of June 15th and the location of Port Royal Speedway means more than just another stop on the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car tour.

Johnny Kent Reads the Red Dirt to Victory

Johnny Kent (Kiefer, Okla.) caught reigning series champion Brett Wilson (Sapulpa, Okla.) in lapped traffic with five laps remaining, took over the lead and carried onto victory in Friday night’s USAC Wingless Sprints Oklahoma feature at Red Dirt Raceway.

Gehrke Gets MTM Win at Gas City

Chett Gehrke (Broken Arrow, Oklahoma) captured the victory in Friday’s USAC Speed2 Midwest Thunder Midget feature at Indiana’s Gas City I-69 Speedway.

Trammell Strikes Again at Thunder Valley

Midwest Mini Sprint Association point leader Cody Trammell took Thunder Valley Raceway by storm Friday night.  Trammell had a near-perfect night, first winning his heat and then rolling on to win the night’s feature.

Home Hopes Rest with Bakkerud in Hell

The fifth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy visits Hell for the Team Verksted World RX of Norway this weekend with home hopes resting heavily on the broad shoulders of Andreas Bakkerud.