Liggett Tops Peter Murphy Classic at Tulare

Securing the lead from Richard Vander Weerd on lap 14, Austin Liggett (Tracy, CA) held off all challengers to win the “Peter Murphy Classic” at Tulare’s Thunderbowl Raceway.

For Liggett, the $4,000 USAC West Coast Sprint Car victory was his second win of 2019 and the ninth of his career. Driving the family owned #83 Excel Environmental Services / Liggett Trucking Maxim, the defending champion finished ahead of Ryan Bernal, Jace Vander Weerd, Richard Vander Weerd, and “The Radio Flyer” Bruce St. James.

Michael Faccinto earned the night’s Saldana Racing Products Hard Charger Award / Best Passing Job honors with a sixth place run from twenty-first. “The Rickster” Ricky Kirkbride scored the Wilwood Disc Brakes “Lucky 13 Award” with a thirteenth place finish.

2011 Champion Richard Vander Weerd posted his series leading 20th Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Award over the 22-car roster with a time of 15.432. Richard’s twin brother Jace won the special $500 3-lap Dash For Cash.

The ten-lap heat race victories went to Jace Vander Weerd (Extreme Mufflers First Heat), Koen Shaw (Brown & Miller Racing Solutions Second Heat), and Faccinto (Competition Suspension Incorporated / Ultra Shield Race Products Third Heat).

The USAC West Coast Sprint Cars are back in action on Saturday, June 1st at Ventura Raceway for the “ARP Battle of the Beach Race #2.”

The USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series thanks AMSOIL, Brown & Miller Racing Solutions, Butlerbuilt Professional Seat Systems, Chris Kearns Presents, Competition Suspension Incorporated, Extreme Mufflers, Five Star Grafix, Hoosier Racing Tire, Loudpedal Productions, Pyrotect Racing Cells, Saldana Racing Products, Ultra Shield Race Products, Wilwood Disc Brakes, and Woodland Auto Display for their support.

For more information on the series, visit and the social media for USAC Racing. You can also find exclusive content on and the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram pages.


USAC WEST COAST SPRINT CAR SERIES RACE RESULTS: May 17, 2019 – Thunderbowl Raceway – Tulare, California – “6th Annual Peter Murphy Classic”

WOODLAND AUTO DISPLAY QUALIFYING: 1. Richard Vander Weerd, 10, Vander Weerd-15.432; 2. Austin Liggett, 83, Liggett-15.444; 3. Danny Faria Jr., 17V, Faria-15.828; 4. Jace Vander Weerd, 88, Vander Weerd-15.866; 5. Tristan Guardino, 15T, Guardino-15.933; 6. D.J. Johnson, 33, Johnson-16.022; 7. Ryan Timmons, 29T, Timmons-16.118; 8. Bruce St. James, 7K, St. James-16.149; 9. Ryan Bernal, 21, Tarlton-16.155; 10. J.J. Ringo, 2, Keller-16.157; 11. Slater Helt, 81X, Watt-16.247; 12. T.J. Smith, 8M, May-16.295; 13. Kyler Shaw, 92K, Shaw-16.362; 14. Koen Shaw, 88K, Shaw-16.450; 15. Tanner Boul, 99T, Quiring-16.478; 16. Scotty Farmer, 81, Watt-16.490; 17. Ricky Kirkbride, 87, Kirkbride-16.495; 18. Hannah Mayhew, 43, Mayhew-16.543; 19. Steve Hix, 57, Hix-16.769; 20. Austin Ervine, 51, AJ-NT; 21. Michael Faccinto, 8, Richardson-NT; 22. Colby Copeland, 16A, Copeland-NT.

BUTLERBUILT SEATS DASH FOR CASH: (3 laps) 1. J.Vander Weerd, 2. Faria, 3. Liggett, 4. R.Vander Weerd. NT

EXTREME MUFFLERS FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. J.Vander Weerd, 2. R.Vander Weerd, 3. Ky.Shaw, 4. Timmons, 5. Ringo, 6. Farmer, 7. Copeland, 8. Hix. NT

BROWN & MILLER RACING SOLUTIONS SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Ko.Shaw, 2. Guardino, 3. St. James, 4. Liggett, 5. Helt, 6. Kirkbride, 7. Ervine. NT

COMPETITION SUSPENSION INC. / ULTRA SHIELD RACE PRODUCTS THIRD HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Faccinto, 2. Boul, 3. Faria, 4. Johnson, 5. Bernal, 6.Smith, 7. Mayhew. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps, with starting positions) 1. Austin Liggett (5), 2. Ryan Bernal (9), 3. Jace Vander Weerd (3), 4. Richard Vander Weerd (6), 5. Bruce St. James (8), 6. Michael Faccinto (21), 7. Ryan Timmons (7), 8. Colby Copeland (22), 9. T.J. Smith (12), 10. Kyler Shaw (13), 11. Tristan Guardino (2), 12. Tanner Boul (15), 13. Ricky Kirkbride (17), 14. D.J. Johnson (1), 15. Steve Hix (19), 16. Koen Shaw (14), 17. Hannah Mayhew (18), 18. Austin Ervine (20), 19. Danny Faria Jr. (4), 20. Scotty Farmer (16), 21. J.J. Ringo (10), 22. Slater Helt (11). NT


**Johnson flipped on lap 18 of the feature.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-8 Guardino, Laps 9-13 R.Vander Weerd, Laps 14-30 Liggett.

SALDANA RACING PRODUCTS HARD CHARGER:  Michael Faccinto (21st to 6th)


NEW USAC WEST COAST SPRINT CAR POINTS: 1-Guardino-405, 2-Timmons-286, 3-Ko.Shaw-262, 4-Jake Swanson-238, 5-Liggett-227, 6-Faria-221, 7-Helt-212, 8-Mayhew-203, 9-Ringo-197, 10-Ervine-187.

NEXT USAC WEST COAST SPRINT CAR RACE: June 1 – Ventura Raceway – Ventura, California – “ARP Battle at the Beach Race #2” – co-sanctioned with VRA

Swanson Tops Ventura's Battle at the Beach

Starting fifth, Jake Swanson (Anaheim, CA) raced past J.J. Ringo on the 24th lap and took the checkered flags at Ventura Raceway’s “ARP Battle at the Beach Race #3.”

Carlson Scores Fourth DMA Win at Bear Ridge

Seth Carlson of Stafford, CT dominated the night at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, VT driving a backup car owned by friend and fellow competitor Tim Gallant. Carlson, who would normally be driving his #2 Seals-it sponsored USAC DMA midget, has been having mechanical issues so getting behind the wheel of Galant’s 33 gave Carlson a chance to stay in the points hunt.

Stanfill Stands Tall at Spoon River

Bryan Stanfill led the final seven laps in a back-and-forth battle with Tyler Roth to win his first career USAC Engler IMRA Speed2 Midget feature event Saturday at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill.

Windom Wins Smackdown Passing Master Title

By passing 23 cars throughout the three nights of Smackdown VIII, Chris Windom has claimed the ProSource Passing Master award for the eighth running of the event.

Courtney the King of Smackdown VIII at Kokomo

After positioning himself as King of the Hill earlier in the evening to earn a starting spot on the pole position for the feature, Tyler Courtney emerged as king of the mountaintop with his Smackdown VIII victory Saturday night, leading all 40 laps to join three-time winner Dave Darland in becoming the second multi-time victor of the event at Kokomo Speedway.

Courtney & Grant Reach 100 Straight USAC Sprint Starts

Friday night at Kokomo Speedway, a pair of USAC standouts reached the century mark in terms of consecutive USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature starts.

Smackdown VIII Points (After Night 2 of 3)

Justin Grant leads the Sprint Car Smackdown VIII points entering Saturday’s eighth annual finale featuring USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars at Indiana's Kokomo Speedway.

Windom Retains Smackdown Passing Master Lead

Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.) retains the lead of the ProSource Smackdown VIII Passing Master standings after advancing from his 16th to 7th in Thursday’s opening night feature and moving from 12th to 8th in Friday’s main event for a total of 13 cars passed in two nights of racing.

Seavey Sings a Winning Tune at Smackdown Night 2

One night after claiming a victory in Sprint Car Smackdown’s annual karaoke contest, Logan Seavey was singing a different tune Friday night on the track at Kokomo Speedway, ending it on a high note in victory lane following his first career USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car triumph.

Smackdown VIII Passing Master Points (After Night 1 of 3)

Longtime USAC supporter ProSource has pledged $400 to the overall Passing Master Award winner for Smackdown VIII, rewarding the driver advancing the most total positions throughout the week's three USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship feature events at Indiana’s Kokomo Speedway.