Schuerenberg Tops the Spring Showcase at Canyon

Securing the lead for good on lap 25, Hunter Schuerenberg (Sikeston, MO) claimed the Saturday night finale of the “Spring Showcase” at Canyon Speedway Park.

Driving the Reinbold / Underwood Motorsports #19 AME Electrical / Mesilla Valley Transportation Spike, Hunter earned his first $3,000 USAC/CRA and USAC SouthWest Sprint Car win over Damion Gardner, Brody Roa, R.J. Johnson, and Jason McDougal. McDougal was the night’s hard charger with a thirteenth to fifth place run.

Gardner posted his 82nd career Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Award over the 24-car field. The 7-time USAC/CRA Champion clocked in with a time of 13.469 on the 1/3-mile oval. 

Friday night winner Josh Hodges took the checkered flags in Extreme Mufflers Heat Race #1. USAC SouthWest drivers “The Bull” Tye Mihocko and Dennis Gile claimed their 10-lap heats.

AMSOIL USAC/CRA & SANDS CHEVROLET USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT CAR SERIES RACE RESULTS: March 9, 2019 – Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, Arizona –  "2nd Annual Spring Showcase”

WOODLAND AUTO DISPLAY / BEAVER STRIPES QUALIFYING: 1. Damion Gardner, 4, Alexander-13.469; 2. R.J. Johnson, 51, Martin-13.485; 3. Hunter Schuerenberg, 19, Reinbold/Underwood-13.674; 4. Austin Williams, 92, Sertich-13.680; 5. Matt Rossi, 02, Rossi-13.746; 6. Brody Roa, 91R, BR-13.795; 7. Isaac Chapple, 52, Chapple-13.807; 8. Mike Martin, 16, Martin-13.814; 9. Stevie Sussex, 12, Allen-13.868; 10. Josh Hodges, 74X. Hodges-13.923; 11. Tommy Malcolm, 5X, Napier-13.926; 12. Charles Davis Jr., 50, Davis-13.931; 13. Jason McDougal, 42, Cheney-13.992; 14. Tye Mihocko, 5, Mihocko-14.069; 15. Dennis Gile, 13, Gile-14.102; 16. Landon Cling, 34C, Cling-14.154; 17. Michael Curtis, 11C, Turner/Wheeler-14.208; 18. Chris Gansen, 4G, Gansen-14.456; 19. Matt Lundy, 98, Lundy-14.559; 20. Ryan Cully, 21J, Cully-14.563; 21. Eddie Tafoya Jr., 51T, Tafoya-14.651; 22. Matt McCarthy, 28M, McCarthy-14.747; 23. Jeff Dyer, 39, Cal-Sun-15.120; 24. Stephen Sanchez, 7, Sanchez-15.698.

EXTREME MUFFLERS FIRST HEAT: (10 laps, Top 4 finishers eligible for invert) 1. Hodges, 2. McDougal, 3. Gardner, 4. Williams, 5. Chapple, 6. Cling, 7. McCarthy, 8. Lundy. NT

SECOND HEAT: (10 laps, Top 4 finishers eligible for invert) 1. Mihocko, 2. Johnson, 3. Martin, 4. Malcolm, 5. Rossi, 6. Curtis, 7. Cully, 8. Dyer. NT

THIRD HEAT: (10 laps, Top 4 finishers eligible for invert) 1. Gile, 2. Schuerenberg, 3. Sussex, 4. Roa, 5. Davis, 6. Gansen, 7. Tafoya, 8. Sanchez. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps, starting positions in parenthesis) 1. Hunter Schuerenberg (4), 2. Damion Gardner (6), 3. Brody Roa (2), 4. R.J. Johnson (5), 5. Jason McDougal (13), 6. Stevie Sussex (9), 7. Austin Williams (3), 8. Isaac Chapple (8), 9. Josh Hodges (10), 10. Tommy Malcolm (11), 11. Landon Cling (16), 12. Mike Martin (1), 13. Matt Lundy (19), 14. Charles Davis Jr. (12), 15. Matt Rossi (7), 16. Chris Gansen (18), 17. Michael Curtis (17), 18. Dennis Gile (15), 19. Ryan Cully (20), 20. Matt McCarthy (22), 21. Stephen Sanchez (24), 22. Jeff Dyer (23), 23. Eddie Tafoya Jr. (21), 24. Tye Mihocko (14). NT


**Mihocko flipped on lap 4 of the feature.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-12 Roa, Laps 13-23 Schuerenberg, Lap 24 Johnson, Laps 25-30 Schuerenberg.

HARD CHARGER: Jason McDougal (13th to 5th)

NEW AMSOIL USAC/CRA SPRINT CAR POINTS: 1-Roa-142, 2-Johnson-142, 3-Gardner-139, 4-Hodges-131, 5-Chapple-126, 6-McDougal-124, 7-Schuerenberg-119, 8-A.Williams-115, 9-Sussex-110, 10-Rossi-93.

NEW SANDS CHEVROLET USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT CAR POINTS: 1-Roa-214, 2-Hodges-202, 3-Chapple-200, 4-Johnson-180, 5-Sussex-156, 6-Martin-155, 7-Davis-147, 8-Gardner-139, 9-Jake Swanson-134, 10-Rossi-128.

NEXT AMSOIL USAC/CRA SPRINT CAR RACE: March 30 – Perris (CA) Auto Speedway  – “So-Cal Showdown”

NEXT SANDS CHEVROLET USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT CAR RACE: April 20 – Arizona Speedway – San Tan Valley, Arizona

Adams Rallies to Claim Winternationals Mod Finale


The fifth and final night of the first week of the 2020 Winternationals kept the theme of high drama to the end well in play. With longer distance features for Street Stocks and Modifieds, story lines played out to the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat.

East Bay Binge Watch: Everything From Mod Week At East Bay


As we go into the final day of Modified week at East Bay action, let's binge watch and catch up on everything we've seen so far this week. 

Unlock this article, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Burrows Doubles Down with Second Winternationals Win


Night number four of the 2020 Winternationals was a pivotal night for the racers in the Modified and Street Stocks divisions. When it was all said and done on Friday night, the top six in weekly points would be locked in with an automatic spot in the Saturday A-main.

Lee Brings Home East Bay Winternationals Win on Night #3


The third night of the 2020 Winternationals saw the third different feature winner in the Modified ranks. Tennessee racer Lucas Lee held off all challengers in the 30-lap to record the victory.

Burrows Edges Hughes for Night Two East Bay Triumph


For the second night in a row, drama prevailed in the running of the Modified A Main as the outcome wasn’t decided until the last lap. On the second night of the action, the winner would take the top prize by a half car length at the checkers.

Dixon Opens Winternationals Modified Week in Victory Lane


A chilly night greeted the hardy fans who attended the opening night of the 44th annual Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park. On tap was a 25-lap main event for UMP/EBRP Modifieds and a 20-lapper for the companion Street Stocks.

Watch Guide: Winternationals Modified Week at East Bay

The 44th Annual East Bay Winternationals returns January 21 - 25 LIVE on Modifieds will race for a top prize of $1,000 on the first two nights with the Street Stocks doing battle for $400 to win for the first three nights. The winner’s share jumps to $1,500 on the next two nights for the Modifieds while the Friday Street Stock winner claims $500. For the Saturday finale, the Modified winner will receive $5,000 with the Street Stock champion getting $1,000.

Sheppard Takes Loot in Wild West Shootout Finale

Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., captured the biggest prize of the 14th annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout on Sunday at FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway, winning the $15,000 Shaw Trucking 50 finale along with a $10,000 bonus for his third victory of the miniseries.

2020 USAC West Coast Sprint Schedule Announced

USAC’s West Coast Sprint Car division is raring to go entering its 11th season in 2020.

Jimmie Johnson Named Daytona USAC.25 Grand Marshal

Seven-time NASCAR champion and two-time Daytona 500 winner, Jimmie Johnson, has been named the Honorary Grand Marshal for the USAC.25 Series' national race at Daytona International Speedway Feb 6-9, 2020.