Hodges Sprints to CRA/Southwest Victory at Canyon

Taking the lead from Brody Roa on the second lap, Josh Hodges (Tijeras, NM) led the rest of the way to win the opening night of the “Spring Showcase” at Canyon Speedway Park.

Driving the family owned #74X Jackson Compaction / Parts Plus Maxim, Hodges earned the $3,000 USAC/CRA and USAC SouthWest Sprint Car triumph. Roa, Isaac Chapple, R.J. Johnson, and Jake Swanson rounded out the top-five drivers.

Before the main event, several cars were penalized for reporting late to staging and Hodges was the night’s hard charger.

Hunter Schuerenberg posted his second career Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Award over the 26-car field. The Sikeston, Missouri driver clocked in with a time of 13.575 on the 1/3-mile oval.

5-time USAC SouthWest Champion Johnson raced to victory in the Extreme Mufflers Heat Race #1. 2018 Champions “The Demon” Damion Gardner (USAC/CRA) and “Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. (USAC SouthWest) claimed their 10-lap heats, while Swanson topped the 12-lap semi-main.

AMSOIL USAC/CRA & SANDS CHEVROLET USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT CAR SERIES RACE RESULTS: March 8, 2019 – Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, Arizona –  "2nd Annual Spring Showcase”

WOODLAND AUTO DISPLAY / BEAVER STRIPES QUALIFYING: 1. Hunter Schuerenberg, 19, Reinbold/Underwood-13,575; 2. Jake Swanson, 34AZ, Grau/Burkhart-13.729; 3. Isaac Chapple, 52, Chapple-13.913; 4. Dennis Gile, 13, Gile-13.945; 5. Matt Rossi, 02, Rossi-13.969; 6. Jason McDougal, 42, Cheney-13.980; 7. Brody Roa, 91R, BR-13.988; 8. Stevie Sussex, 12, Allen-14.023; 9. Tommy Malcolm, 5X, Napier-14.034; 10. Austin Williams, 92, Sertich-14.053; 11. Josh Hodges, 74X. Hodges-14.080; 12. Mike Martin, 16, Martin-14.116; 13. R.J. Johnson, 51, Martin-14.142; 14. Tye Mihocko, 5, Mihocko-14.170; 15. Charles Davis Jr., 50, Davis-14.176; 16. Landon Cling, 34C, Cling-14.268; 17. Damion Gardner, 4, Alexander-14.271; 18. Matt McCarthy, 28M, McCarthy-14.282; 19. Chris Gansen, 4G, Gansen-14.436; 20. Kyle Shipley, 34, Grau-14.661; 21. Matt Lundy, 98, Lundy- 14.692; 22. Eddie Tafoya Jr., 51T, Tafoya-14.857; 23. Cal Smith, 39, Cal-Sun-15.042; 24. Ryan Cully, 21J, Cully-15.128; 25. Stephen Sanchez, 7, Sanchez-15.540; 26. Michael Curtis, 11C, Turner/Wheeler-16.074.

EXTREME MUFFLERS FIRST HEAT: (10 laps, Top 4 finishers transfer) 1. Johnson, 2. Schuerenberg, 3. Williams, 4. Roa, 5. Gile, 6. Cling, 7. Gansen, 8. Tafoya, 9. Sanchez. NT

SECOND HEAT: (10 laps, Top 4 finishers transfer) 1. Gardner, 2. Hodges, 3. Sussex, 4. Rossi, 5. Mihocko, 6. Curtis, 7. Shipley, 8. Swanson, 9. Smith. NT

THIRD HEAT: (10 laps, Top 4 finishers transfer) 1. Davis, 2. Malcolm, 3. Martin, 4. Chapple, 5. McDougal, 6. McCarthy, 7. Lundy, 8. Cully. NT

SEMI: (12 laps, Top 10 finishers transfer) 1. Swanson, 2. McDougal, 3. Mihocko, 4. McCarthy, 5. Gile, 6. Gansen, 7. Cling, 8. Shipley, 9. Lundy, 10. Curtis, 11. Tafoya, 12. Cully, 13. Sanchez. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps, starting positions in parenthesis) 1. Josh Hodges (11), 2. Brody Roa (3), 3. Isaac Chapple (5), 4. R.J. Johnson (13), 5. Jake Swanson (7), 6. Jason McDougal (9), 7. Damion Gardner (17), 8. Austin Williams (10), 9. Matt Rossi (4), 10. Stevie Sussex (2), 11. Mike Martin (12), 12. Landon Cling (16), 13. Charles Davis Jr. (15), 14. Michael Curtis (22), 15. Matt McCarthy (18), 16. Matt Lundy (21), 17. Kyle Shipley (20), 18. Chris Gansen (19), 19. Hunter Schuerenberg (6), 20. Tye Mihocko (14), 21. Dennis Gile (8), 22. Tommy Malcolm (1). NT


FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Lap 1 Roa, Laps 2-30 Hodges.

HARD CHARGER: Josh Hodges (11th to 1st)

NEW AMSOIL USAC/CRA SPRINT CAR POINTS: 1-Hodges-77, 2-Chapple-73, 3-Roa-72, 4-Johnson-69, 5-Swanson-67, 6-Gardner-60, 7-McDougal-59, 8-Williams-55, 9-Rossi-54, 10-Sussex-49.

NEW SANDS CHEVROLET USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT CAR POINTS: 1-Hodges-148, 2-Chapple-147, 3-Roa-144, 4-Swanson-134, 5-Martin-110, 6-Davis-108, 7-Johnson-107, 8-Sussex-95, 9-Rossi-89, 10-Curtis-85.

NEXT USAC/CRA & SOUTHWEST SPRINT CAR RACE: March 9 – Canyon Speedway Park – Peoria, Arizona – "2nd Annual Spring Showcase”

All Stars Add Devil's Bowl June 10

Bumping the overall tally from eight to nine, the 2020 edition of Cometic Gasket Thunder Through The Plains presented by Hercules Tires featuring the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 will now consist of nine events over an 11-day span, as Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas, will host the winged warriors on Wednesday evening, June 10. Although not new to All Star Circuit of Champions competition like many of the facilities on the Thunder Through The Plains schedule, it has been over 30 years since the Series last left tracks at Devil’s Bowl Speedway, hosting a doubleheader on March 9-10, 1990.

Meet Your 2020 Full-Time All Stars


With the 2020 Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 championship point season commencing this weekend, a stout contingent of some of the nation’s finest open wheel competitors are expected to assemble and tour full-time with America’s Series, kicking things off, officially, with a two-day stay at Park Jefferson International Speedway in Jefferson, South Dakota, on Friday and Saturday, May 29-30.

Hedgecock Dominates Sexton Memorial for $10,052

Anybody aiming to win a Late Model feature at 411 Motor Speedway has to outrun home-track standout Cory Hedgecock. No one could do it at Monday night’s Scott Sexton Memorial.

I-55 Hosts USAC Sprints on June 7

Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo. has been added to the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship schedule for Sunday night, June 7, making it a doubleheader weekend for the series with a visit to 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa the night before on Saturday night, June 6.

Relive Everything from USAC's T-Town Midget Showdown

USAC's return to action with the T-Town Midget Showdown did not disappoint. If you missed it, or just want to relive it again, here is all the action from the May 22-23 event at Port City.

Stovall Grabs $9,000 Triumph at West Plains

Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., picked up a $9,000 Comp Cams Super Late Model Series victory Saturday at Legit Speedway Park, a purse boosted by the late addition of $5,000 by Karl Chevrolet. Stovall overtook polesitter Logan Martin at halfway and survived a restart with five laps remaining to secure the victory as he took the checkers 0.737 seconds ahead of Martin.

Casebolt Hangs on for $10,000 at West Plains

With eight laps remaining in Saturday’s 50-lap Comp Cams Super Dirt Series feature at Legit Motor Speedway, second-running Payton Looney of Republic, Mo., had 5,000 reasons to stay exactly where he was.

Unlock this article, live events, and more with a subscription!

Get Started

Already a subscriber? Log In

Grant Rides Wave to Night #2 Port City Victory

In any instance, you take inspiration from anywhere you can gather it up.

USAC Sprints Return June 6 at Iowa's 34 Raceway

The USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship is back in action on Saturday, June 6, at 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa.

Courtney Takes T-Town Port City USAC Debut

It’s been quite awhile since Tyler Courtney and the USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championship were last in competition – 76 nights to be exact.