Previewing the 2019 World of Outlaws Season

When February rolls around that means one thing for the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series. It’s time to head to Florida and get another season underway for the drivers who compete on the most grueling motorsports series in the world. The nearly 90-race campaign kicks off at the recently renovated Volusia Speedway Park for the DIRTcar Nationals. The Outlaws will crisscross the country a couple of times this year en route to wrapping up the campaign at the World Finals in Charlotte in November. The 2019 season is shaping up to again be a very competitive one for the Outlaws.

Changes at the top

One of the keys to Donny Schatz’s dominance over the last decade with the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series has been the continuity and consistency of his Tony Stewart Racing team. This season, the team has made a few changes, the biggest of which is shifting longtime Car Chief, Steve Swenson to the role of Crew Chief, which had been held for many years by Ricky Warner, who has moved his focus to helping develop the Ford 410-sprint car engine. Also, new crew member Jakob Weaver has joined the team. Schatz will be chasing his 11thseries title in 2019.

One more spot

Brad Sweet, who has finished in the runner-up spot in points in each of the last two years with the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series, begins 2019 in search of his first series title. The Californian scored the biggest victory of his career last year, in the $150,000-to-win Knoxville Nationals. Sweet enters the season with his team intact from last year, led by crew chief Eric Pruztman.

Familiar faces in new places

Two of the most high profile teams and drivers on the circuit will sporting new looks this season. David Gravel, who has finished third in points for each of the last three years, will be the driver of the No. 41 machine for Jason Johnson Racing. Shane Stewart, who drove for Kyle Larson Racing since the team’s debut in 2014, will shift over to the CJB Motorsports No. 5, which Gravel had previously piloted.

Shark Attack

The Shark Racing duo of Logan Schuchart and Jacob Allen will hit the road for their sixth season with the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series. The team will be sporting the Drydene Performance colors this season, including their recently wrapped Toter Home and Trailer. Last year, Schuchart finished a career-best sixth in points and won the $20,000 Ironman 55, while Allen picked up a handful of runner-up finishes as he chases his first Outlaws win.

Building Momentum

Brent Marks, who had a breakout year in 2018, during his sophomore season with the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series, will be back on the tour again this season. The Pennsylvania earned his first-career win with the series in early June at Wilmot Raceway in Wisconsin in dominant fashion and followed that up later in the year with two more wins.

Hard-working duo

Kraig Kinser and Jason Sides are two of the most hands-on and hardest working drivers on the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series tour. Kinser will log another tour with the Outlaws this season with crew chief Mike Kuemper. Kinser has finished in the top-10 in the Outlaws standings in nine straight seasons. Sides, who is tentatively slated to follow the Outlaws tour again in 2019, is one of the true “Independents” in the sport. The veteran driver often is a one-man band, driving the truck and trailer, working on the race car and driving the No. 7S.

Back for more

Ian Madsen, who claimed the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award last season, returns for his sophomore campaign with the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series. The Australian was victorious during the World Finals to close the 2018, en route to finishing eighth in points. Madsen enters the 2019 season with three-career Outlaws wins.

Lone Rookie

Carson Macedo opens the 2019 season as the only driver contending for the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year Award. The California native, who spent the last couple of seasons on the All Stars Tour, will drive the No. 2 for Kyle Larson Racing. Macedo will have Joe Gaerte, who he drove for on the All Stars tour, as his crew chief. The young driver has one-career World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series win as the 2019 campaign opens. 

On the road

Mason Daniel, who is being mentored by 2001 World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series champion Danny Lasoski, will start the season with the series and run through early April. The teenager from California, moved from the Golden State to Missouri before the 2018 season to pursue a career as a sprint car driver. Daniel won his first-career sprint car race at the famed Knoxville Raceway last year in weekly 360-competition. The Californian made his first two Outlaws starts toward the end of last season at the Terre Haute Action Track in Indiana and Lakeside Speedway in Kansas. 

USAC Stat Book: AMSOIL National Sprint Cars

Brady Bacon rose to the top of the charts in the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship in terms of wins with back-to-back scores earlier in the month at Knoxville, Iowa, his third and fourth of the year.  No other driver has more than two: Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.) and Tyler Courtney (Indianapolis, Ind.).  C.J. Leary (Greenfield, Ind.) remains the point leader on the back of tremendous consistency coming into a stretch of nine races in 11 nights, beginning Wednesday, July 17, at Eldora, then eight nights of NOS Energy Drink Indiana Midget Week July 18-27.

Indiana Sprint Week Start Times Shifted

The opening weekend of the 32nd annual NOS Energy Drink Indiana Sprint Week tour will have a cooler start with this Thursday through Sunday’s event times pushed back to later in the evening.

USAC Sprints Tackle Eldora Wednesday for $10 Grand

The kickoff to one of the busiest stretches in the history of USAC’s AMSOIL National Sprint Car division begins this Wednesday, July 17, on the high banks of “The Big E,” Eldora Speedway for #LetsRaceTwo #TakeTwo in which the winner will take home $10,000!

Atko Takes Dramatic First ARX Victory at Gateway

Australian driver Chris Atkinson won the second round of Americas Rallycross (ARX) 2019 for Subaru Motorsports USA by making a last corner overtake for the race lead at the World Wide Technology Raceway in Madison, Illinois.

It's Sweet, Sweet Springs Victory for Carrick

Most times, it seems the only thing predictable in USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget racing is unpredictability.  And sometimes when you think you know what’s about to transpire, that’s when everything turns on its head.  At times, literally.

Carlson Bears Down for DMA Win at Bear Ridge

Seth Carlson of Brimfield MA, scored the win Saturday night at Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, VT. This is Carlson’s second win of the season piloting the #2 Seals-it sponsored, Skip Matczak owned dirt midget.

Baugh Back to Winning Ways at Spoon River

Andy Baugh returned to his winning ways in Saturday night’s USAC Engler IMRA Speed2 Midget event at Spoon River Speedway.

The Demon Strikes at Perris

After temperatures reached triple digits, fast qualifier “The Demon” Damion Gardner (Concord, CA) raced to victory at Perris Auto Speedway.

Watson's Last Lap Pass Nets Montpelier Victory

Past USAC champion Alex Watson used a last lap pass to get by two-time and defending series champ Aaron Leffel and win Saturday’s USAC Midwest Thunder Speed2 Midget feature at Indiana’s Montpelier Motor Speedway.

Smith Scores Second WSO Win at 81

Danny Smith raced to victory for the second time in his last three USAC Wingless Sprints Oklahoma starts, winning Saturday night’s series visit to 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas.