Donny Schatz On Verge Of History At World Of Outlaws World Finals


From the very beginning in 2007, the World of Outlaws World Finals at The Dirt Track at Charlotte had the potential to be huge. Originally, the event brought together the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series and World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series to compete together at the same track, on the same night, for the first-time ever. After three successful years, the event grew even more in 2010, with the addition of the Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modified, pitting the three premier divisions in dirt track racing together on the same track for three nights of competition.

For the 12thconsecutive season, the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series will wrap up the season at the state-of-the-art four-tenths-mile. As always, a stout field of drivers is expected for the event, which has become one of the most anticipated each season.

Leading the way for the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series is nine-time and defending series champion, Donny Schatz, who only needs to sign in for the event to clinch his 10thchampionship, which will make him just the second driver to reach double-digit titles, behind 20-time series champion, Steve Kinser.

While most of the top-10 in points is already determined, a great battle for the third spot is ensuing between David Gravel and Daryn Pittman. Gravel currently holds the third spot by a mere 24 points, with two full point-paying nights of racing remaining.

Schatz, who won at Charlotte in May and split wins at the World Finals with Gravel last year, is the winningest drivers with the series at the track, having visited victory lane 11 times, dating back to 2000, the year the venue opened. The North Dakota native has won at least one race in Charlotte in four straight seasons and in five of the last six years. In World Finals competition, Schatz has seven victories.

Joey Saldana, who will be piloting the Jason Johnson Racing, No. 41 during the World Finals, has four wins in his career at Charlotte, which has him second on the track’s all-time win list. Paul McMahan has three wins at Charlotte in his career, with two of those coming in 2013. Daryn Pittman, the 2013 World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series champion, has a pair of wins at the track over the years. Drivers who will be in attendance at the World Finals, who have one win at Charlotte include: Dale Blaney, Brian Brown, Logan Schuchart and Greg Wilson.

The list of drivers making the trip to Charlotte to challenge the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series regulars is a “Who’s Who” of the spot. Aaron Reutzel, the 2018 Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions title winner will be in attendance. He will be joined by longtime All Stars stalwart, Dale Blaney, who will be piloting the No. 5B for Chase Briscoe Motorsports. Also, Dave Blaney will be in attendance, aboard the No. 70 machine.

The Scelzi brothers, Dominic and Gio, will be teammates for the Indy Race Parts Squad. G. Scelzi will be making his debut at Charlotte. Another young driver, who will be making his World Finals debut is Freddie Rahmer. Like G. Sclezi, Rahmer earned his first-career World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series win this season in Central Pennsylvania.

Tim Shaffer, who racked a number of wins this season, including a $100,000 triumph at Mansfield Motorsports Park in Ohio, will be chasing his first win at Charlotte since 2001. Kerry Madsen will be in a team car to David Gravel at the World Finals for CJB Motorsports.

Among the younger drivers who will be at the World Finals are Carson Macedo, who won a handful of races with the All Stars this season, en route to finishing second in points. Macedo will be driving a car for Kyle Larson Racing, the team which he will compete for full-time in 2019. 

Parker Price-Miller, who won with the Outlaws in 2017, will be on hand, along with Brock Zearfoss, who has spent the last few weeks of the 2018 campaign competing with the World of Outlaws. Cory Eliason, who earned his first Outlaws win earlier this season and picked up a second triumph with the series this fall, will be at Charlotte, piloting the famed Roth Motorsports No. 83. Trey Starks, who has raced in Central Pennsylvania the last few years, will make the trek south for the World Finals.

Sam Hafertepe Jr., fresh off another Lucas Oil ASCS championship, will also be in attendance, piloting the Hills Racing No. 15H.

The World Finals will open on Thursday night with two rounds of time trials, which will set the heat race lineups for Friday and Saturday’s race programs. The regular World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series format will be utilized during the event.

Following the on-track action, the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series will celebrate the 2018 season on Sunday evening with their annual Night of Champions at the Great Wolf Lodge in Concord, N.C.

Sunday's Bettenhausen 100 Cancelled

For the second time, the Bettenhausen 100 has been canceled due to weather. The USAC Silver Crown Series and the DIRTcar Modifieds were scheduled to race Sunday afternoon.

Super DIRTcar Off Heads To Albany-Saratoga Speedway

Heading into last weekend, Mat Williamson was looking for his first victory of 2019. 

Swindell Can Join Legends Sunday at Springfield

Germantown, Tennessee veteran race car driver Jeff Swindell has achieved many milestones in his long and storied career.

A Historical Look At Du Quoin & Springfield

This weekend, Jacob Wilson can make some serious history if he takes home the win at Springfield. 

Another Year To Honor Glenn Howard

The 12th Annual Glenn Howard Classic will also feature the PAS Senior Sprints, PAS Young Gun Sprints, and the Western Racing Association Vintage Cars. 

Jacob Wilson Goes For Illinois Mile Sweep At Springfield

Once you win one, you just can’t stop. 

Justin Grant On Prowl For 2nd Bettenhausen Win

Following a strong run on the dirt miles, 2017 Bettenhausen 100 winner Justin Grant appears poised for another win this Sunday in Springfield, Illinois.

USAC CRA In Action Saturday At Perris

This Saturday (Sept. 21) the chase for the AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car championship returns to Perris Auto Speedway.

38 Entries Set For Bettenhausen 100

The entry list for Sunday’s 58th Bettenhausen 100 has been released. 38 drivers are set to take on the legendary Springfield mile at the Illinois State Fairgrounds.

Bettenhausen 100 Stat Book

Check out some of the history of the Bettenhausen 100 going down this Sunday (Sept. 22).