World Of Outlaws Have Deep History At Super DIRT Week


While Big Block Modifieds are the focal point of Super DIRT Week, sprint cars have also played a key role over the years at the marquee event. For the first decade and a half of their existence, the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series was a part of Super DIRT Week, contesting the “Syracuse Nationals.” Those events were held on the legendary “Moody Mile” at the New York State Fairgrounds.

After a decade and a half hiatus, the Outlaws returned to Super Dirt Week in 2009 as part of a “satellite” event at Rolling Wheels Raceway, less than 20 miles west of the New York State Fairgrounds. After seven consecutive years at that sprawling five-eighths-mile venue, the Outlaws have spent the last two seasons at Fulton Speedway and will be at that three-eights-mile again this year on Saturday night of Super DIRT Week.

For a handful of seasons, the World of Outlaws would run at the Syracuse Mile on Saturday afternoon and follow that up with an evening tilt at Rolling Wheels Raceway. Sammy Swindell, the three-time series champion, made history in 1991 as he won both of those races to become the first driver to win two races on the same day, doing it at two different tracks to boot.

A pair of drivers were victorious during the inaugural Outlaws season of 1978, when they ran a two races at the New York State Fairgrounds. Hall of Famer Bentley Warren picked up a win as did Jim Edwards. 

Steve Kinser, the 20-time World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series champion, is the winningest driver with the series during Super DIRT Week. The Hall of Famer won five times at the New York State Fairgrounds and added a pair of wins at Rolling Wheels Raceway as well. Kinser’s most memorable victory came in 1992, when he and Jac Haudenschild provided a thrill-show for the fans, trading the leading numerous times and racing inches apart at break-neck speeds on the one-mile oval.

Swindell found his way to victory lane four times at the New York State Fairgrounds during Super DIRT Week as well as the aforementioned win at Rolling Wheels. Doug Wolfgang, another Hall of Famer, won at Syracuse three times, while 1995 World of Outlaws champion Dave Blaney won there twice. Blaney also has raced in the 200-lap Big Block Modified headliner during Super Dirt Week, finishing second on three occasions.

Billy Pauch, who has raced in the 200-lap Big Block Modified race a number of times in his career, earning a runner-up finish in 1986 and a couple of pole positions, won with the World of Outlaws on the “Moody Mile” in 1994.

Donny Schatz was the winningest driver at Rolling Wheels Raceway during Super DIRT Week, scoring three straight wins, between 2013 and 2015. He also was victorious at Fulton in 2016 as part of the Super DIRT Week Festivities.

Mark Kinser, Stevie Smith, Jeff Swindell and Tim Shaffer all won at Rolling Wheels as well over the years during Super DIRT Week, while David Gravel was triumphant last year at Fulton.

A handful of World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series drivers returned to the New York State Fairgrounds in 2010 for the “King of the Mile” exhibition, which saw a number of laps turned by the 900-horsepower winged warriors on the mile. The final time the series competed in a full race program at the historic track was in 1995, with Kinser picking up the win.

Leary Takes Over ISW Point Lead

With a pair of second-place finishes in each of the first two nights of racing at Gas City and Plymouth, C.J. Leary has taken over the top spot in the 32nd annual NOS Energy Drink Indiana Sprint Week standings.

Cottle Remains atop ProSource Passing Master Points

Despite missing the transfer in Friday night’s feature event at Plymouth Speedway, Shane Cottle remains atop the ProSource Passing Master standings with 17 points, all of which were collected in Thursday’s ISW opening night victory at Gas City I-69 Speedway.

Drevicki Doubles up at Big Diamond

For the second time this season at the Big Diamond Speedway, and the third time overall, defending Rapid Tire USAC East Coast Sprint Car Series Champion Steven Drevicki was able to grab the checkered flag and head to victory lane.

Carlson Wins Debut at New Hampshire

Seth Carlson of Stafford, CT, became the first winner of a USAC dirt midget race at the new dirt track on the grounds of New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Courtney Gets Back on Track at Plymouth

The ups and downs of racing night-after-night can take a toll on driver and team alike.  It can also afford driver and team an opportunity to get back on the horse, so to speak, to find redemption in the face of adversity.

Cottle Stuns in Photo Finish at Gas City ISW Opener

No longer will Shane Cottle have to answer the question of when his day will come during NOS Energy Drink Indiana Sprint Week.

Fred Gormly, Silver Crown Owner Champ, Passes

Fred Gormly, whose team captured the 2016 USAC Silver Crown Champ Car Series title with driver Chris Windom, passed away Wednesday.  He was 75 years old.

Sunshine Scoops $10K in Eldora's 200th USAC Sprint Race

Throughout the past 199 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car races held at Eldora Speedway, there are just a few who’ve displayed the kind of sustained dominance on the western Ohio half-mile that Tyler Courtney has shown over the past 10 months.

Grandview Kicks off USAC PA Midget Week July 30

The stars of USAC will return to the East, this time taking part in the NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget Series that will open at the Grandview Speedway on Tuesday night, July 30.

USAC Western Midgets Clash at Petaluma

The battle for the USAC Western States Midget championship resumes this Saturday, July 20th, at Petaluma Speedway.