$50K On the Line At Super DIRT Week: Breaking Down Races


One week a year, dirt track fans from all over, embark to the Clay Palace in Oswego, NY, better known as Oswego Speedway. Super DIRT Week, as the event is referred to in modified country, serves as the sport’s biggest event. With $50,000 on the line to the winner the payday is unmatched, but the prestige and bragging rights that go with winning the 200-lap event is stuff of legends.

This coming week, four nights of racing are on tap at ‘The Clay Palace,’ where drivers from across the northeast will be gunning for 41 starting spots on Sunday night and a chance to add their name to the legendary winners list. Here’s a breakdown to gear up for the 47thAnnual NAPA Super DIRT Week.

The Format

A unique format is in place for qualifying. Drivers will run a practice session Wednesday afternoon. Thursday at 2:45pm will be the Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modified Billy Whittaker Cars 200 Time Trials where drivers will receive only two laps, locking in the top six in qualifying for the front three rows of the 200.

Friday evening, under the lights, will be the Triple 30s for the Big Block Modified’s which will qualify positions 7-30 for Sunday’s race. The first eight non-qualified finishers from each of the Triple 30s will qualify for the 200-lap race.

The remainder of the field will partake in the Last Chance Showdown for the Big Block Modified’s early Saturday afternoon. The non-qualifiers race will be a maximum 30-laps and will transfer three into Sunday’s 200-lap event.  

The Payout

The total purse for this year’s Billy Whitaker Cars 200 is over $170,000. The winner on Saturday will take home $50,000, while the runner-up pockets $25,000. The second-place finishers check is the second highest payday of the season with the Super DIRTcar Series. Each and every starter in the main event is guaranteed at least $1,500. Heat races even pay prize money during Super DIRT Week.

Past Winners

Dating back to 1972, there have been 22 drivers who have won Super DIRT Week. Brett Hearn, the 8-time Super DIRTcar Series Champion, leads all drivers with six wins in the event. Stewart Friesen is not far behind, as he has won five of the last eight Super DIRT Weeks. Tied for third with the most 200-lap victories are Gary Balough and Billy Decker with four 200-lap triumphs.

Tuning Up

Five drivers who compete full-time with the Super DIRTcar Series have won at least once this season. Matt Sheppard currently holds four wins, Danny Johnson holds three, Jimmy Phelps holds two, Brett Hearn and Erick Rudolph both hold one.

Sentimental Favorite

Peter Britten experienced what many would call a heartbreak during last year’s 200 at Oswego Speedway after losing the lead on the final lap. Britten has been consistent on the series this season, sitting seventh in the point standings. Britten will be looking for redemption.

Strong Outsider Contingent

Countless of outsiders will be making their trek to the Clay Palace to stake their claim and compete again the best of the best. 216 drivers have attempted to qualify at least one Super DIRTcar Series event so far this season, several of which will be looking to invade come Super DIRT Week.

On-track activities will begin shortly after the procession of cars parading through the streets of Oswego on Wednesday, October 3. The first green flag for Super DIRT Week will then drop at 3pm at the Clay Palace in Oswego, NY.

Leary Takes Over ISW Point Lead

With a pair of second-place finishes in each of the first two nights of racing at Gas City and Plymouth, C.J. Leary has taken over the top spot in the 32nd annual NOS Energy Drink Indiana Sprint Week standings.

Cottle Remains atop ProSource Passing Master Points

Despite missing the transfer in Friday night’s feature event at Plymouth Speedway, Shane Cottle remains atop the ProSource Passing Master standings with 17 points, all of which were collected in Thursday’s ISW opening night victory at Gas City I-69 Speedway.

Drevicki Doubles up at Big Diamond

For the second time this season at the Big Diamond Speedway, and the third time overall, defending Rapid Tire USAC East Coast Sprint Car Series Champion Steven Drevicki was able to grab the checkered flag and head to victory lane.

Carlson Wins Debut at New Hampshire

Seth Carlson of Stafford, CT, became the first winner of a USAC dirt midget race at the new dirt track on the grounds of New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Courtney Gets Back on Track at Plymouth

The ups and downs of racing night-after-night can take a toll on driver and team alike.  It can also afford driver and team an opportunity to get back on the horse, so to speak, to find redemption in the face of adversity.

Cottle Stuns in Photo Finish at Gas City ISW Opener

No longer will Shane Cottle have to answer the question of when his day will come during NOS Energy Drink Indiana Sprint Week.

Fred Gormly, Silver Crown Owner Champ, Passes

Fred Gormly, whose team captured the 2016 USAC Silver Crown Champ Car Series title with driver Chris Windom, passed away Wednesday.  He was 75 years old.

Sunshine Scoops $10K in Eldora's 200th USAC Sprint Race

Throughout the past 199 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car races held at Eldora Speedway, there are just a few who’ve displayed the kind of sustained dominance on the western Ohio half-mile that Tyler Courtney has shown over the past 10 months.

Grandview Kicks off USAC PA Midget Week July 30

The stars of USAC will return to the East, this time taking part in the NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget Series that will open at the Grandview Speedway on Tuesday night, July 30.

USAC Western Midgets Clash at Petaluma

The battle for the USAC Western States Midget championship resumes this Saturday, July 20th, at Petaluma Speedway.