Ronald Laney Memorial King Of The 360s: A Look At Past Winners (Pt. 2)

By Tony Veneziano

The winners list of the Ronald Laney Memorial King of the 360s at East Bay Raceway in Gibsonton, Florida, is a who’s who of the sport. From a pair of Hall of Famers to a World of Outlaws champion, accomplishments abound among the past winners of the season-opening classic.

The 2018 edition of the Ronald Laney Memorial will hit the track as part of the 42nd annual Winternationals at East Bay on February 15-17.

Watch the 2018 East Bay Winternationals LIVE on FloRacing

To gear up for this year’s season-opening event, we're looking back at past winners and their racing resumes to help set the stage for what is always one of the strongest fields of the season for any sprint car event.

Daryn Pittman

The 2013 World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series champion won the Ronald Laney Memorial King of the 360s in 2011, while driving a Pennsylvania-based car for Mike Heffner. The native of Owasso, OK, who now calls the Indianapolis area home, is among the top 10 on the all-time win list with the World of Outlaws, with 68 A-feature triumphs. Among those are the Kings Royal at the famed Eldora Speedway in Ohio. Pittman also won the Historical Big One at Eldora. In addition, the veteran driver has nine-career wins with the All Stars and six with the ASCS.

Jason Johnson

Johnson, who claimed five ASCS titles, before advancing to race with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series, won the Ronald Laney Memorial Kings of the 360s in 2008. He claimed the Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year with the Outlaws in 2015 and scored the biggest win of his career in 2016, stopping Donny Schatz's five-race win streak in the Knoxville Nationals to win the sport’s biggest event. Johnson is second to Gary Wright on the ASCS all-time win list with 79 victories and is the winningest driver in ASCS Gulf South Region history.

Chad Kemenah

The five-time Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions title winner won at East Bay in 2005. That is the same year he hit the road full-time with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series, earning rookie honors. Kemenah has 33 career wins with the All Stars and six with the Outlaws.

Jason Sides

The 2005 winner of the Kings Royal at the famed Eldora Speedway in Ohio claimed the crown in the King of the 360s in 2002. Sides has 15 career wins with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series as well as a pair in ASCS competition.

Danny Holtgraver

The former champion at Lernerville Speedway in Pennsylvania added his name to the prestigious list of past winners of the Ronald Laney Memorial Kings of the 360s in 2013. Holtgraver also is a past winner with the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions.

Jesse Hockett

Hockett, who was the 2006 the Sprint Bandits champion, won at East Bay in 2009. Hockett was known for racing anything, anytime. He had four-career ASCS National Tour wins, along with nine wins with the ASCS Warrior Region and a pair of triumphs in Midwest Region competition. The late driver, who hailed from Warsaw, Missouri, also had four wins with the USAC National Sprint Car Series in his career, showing his versatility without the wing.

Glenn Styres

The owner of Ohsweken Speedway in Canada scored the biggest win of his career in 2012, capturing the finale at East Bay. Styres is a multi-time champion with the Southern Ontario Sprints (SOS). The Canadian is also the winningest driver in sprint car competition at Ohsweken Speedway, which runs 360-sprints on a weekly basis.

Sprint Car Drivers Stay Busy Down Under In Off-Season

When winter hits in the United States, its summer in Australia and New Zealand. That means the time is here for sprint car drivers to make the long flight Down Under to get in some off-season racing.

Super DIRTcar Series Releases 2019 Schedule

The 2019 Super DIRTcar Series is looking bigger and better than ever before. Just recently released, their 33-race schedule, has a few more upgrades added in to make for a premier season.

FloSports Announces Multiyear Deal With United States Auto Club Racing

 Agreement gives FloRacing more than 80 days of live racing coverage year-round

Breaking Down The 2019 World Of Outlaws Schedule

Over 90 races dot the 2019 World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series scheduled, which was released ahead of the Performance Racing Industry (PRI) Trade Show this week. The “Greatest Show on Dirt” will visit 53 different tracks in 25 states from coast-to-coast, making it yet again the most grueling schedule in all of motorsports. The 2019 campaign will stretch from the season-opening DIRTcar Nationals in February in Florida to the season-ending World Finals at The Dirt Track at Charlotte in November. Along the way, a handful of the biggest events in the sport will again dot the calendar.

No Such Thing As An Off-Season For Matt Sheppard

After a successful year where ‘Super’ Matt Sheppard picked up yet another Super DIRTcar Series Championship, many may wonder what exactly does the seven-time champ do once the checkered flag has been thrown on race season?

Donny Schatz Getting New Crew Chief In 2019

As the off-season continues to roll by, teams are hard at work, gearing up for the 2019 World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series season, which begins in less than 70 days at the renovated Volusia Speedway Park in Florida for the DIRTcar Nationals. The 2019 schedule continues to take shape and will be release in full, very soon. A couple of drivers have been doing some off-season racing and some major changes were recently announced for 10-time series champion Donny Schatz and the Tony Stewart Racing team for which he drives. Catch up on the latest off-season happenings in this edition of the World of Outlaws Weekly Notebook.

World Of Outlaws Season Review - Part 2

While Mother Nature was the biggest winner in 2018, with over 20 rainouts, the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series still was able to complete 71 main event race programs during their 40thanniversary season. Established veterans continue to show their dominance, while a handful of young drivers began to make their mark on the Outlaws trail, showing that the future of the sport is in very good hands.

Kristoffersson Caps Dominant World RX Season With Win In South Africa

Johan Kristoffersson completed a dominant run through the World Rallycross season, winning the finale in South Africa on Sunday for his 11th victory in 12 stops on tour.

Mattias Ekström, Andreas Bakkerud Battle At World RX Of South Africa

With the drivers’ crown already clinched by Johan Kristofferson, all eyes will be on the battle for second place in the points standings this weekend when the FIA World Rallycross Championship heads to South Africa to conclude the 2018 season.

Super DIRTCar Series Upping Purse In 2019

The new Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Northeast Director, Dean Reynolds, said one of his top priorities taking on the roll as the series director will be to help drivers and teams by raising the purse for the Super DIRTcar Series stars and cars.