Christopher Bell Adds One More 2017 Win With The Tulsa Shootout

Starting sixth, Christopher Bell won his first Tulsa Shootout Golden Driller at River City Expo Center in Tulsa OK New Year’s Eve in the Winged Outlaw division of the program.

Bell had an incredible 2017, winning in virtually every discipline he raced and it is fitting that he took the final checkered flag of the year. And while his eye is set on next week’s ultimate goal of winning the Chili Bowl for the second consecutive year, the laps he turned in the Shootout are a valuable addition to his mental notebook.

Gridded on the outside of row three, Bell used the high line in the early laps, but watched as Tyler Walton and Mile Paulus exchanged sliders battling for the lead through the first half of the race. He got a chance to put that knowledge to work when a caution waved on lap 25.

Bell pounced on the restart. With 20 laps remaining, he slid passed Paulus and led for the remainder of the race.

Bell brought Nicholas Howard along with him through the field. Howard started one position behind the winner in seventh and finished second. Paulus rounded out the podium.

Buried deeper in the field was one of the best stories of the Shootout, however. Jason McDougal already had four A-Feature wins to his credit with Sunday’s race program rolled around. The Broken Arrow, OK native appeared to be unstoppable and for most of the night he was—winning the Stock Non-Wing, A-Class, and Outlaw Non-Wing features.

McDougal was in a great position to win his fourth race of the night in the Winged Outlaw race. He was running third at the halfway point, but his engine began to falter and he was forced to retire from the main event in 17th.

Finishing Results
1. Christopher Bell
2. Nicholas Howard
3. Miles Paulus
4. Kevin Bayer
5. Tyler Rennison
6. Thomas Kunsman
7. Joe B. Miller
8. Andy Bishop
9. Cole Bodine
10. Tom Curran
11. Garth Kasiner
12. Chase Porter
13. Matthew Howard
14. Koen Shaw
15. Holden Anderson
16. Brandon Anderson
17. Jason McDougal
18. Nathan Benson
19. Tyler Walton
20. Frank Flud
21. Kole Kirkman
22. Noah Harris
23. Jason Friesen
24. KJ Snow
25. Chris Andrews

New Ride, No Problem: Buckwalter Wins Grandview

It all started with a phone call on Monday and ended with victory lane photos on Saturday for Timmy Buckwalter of Douglasville, PA as he was able to collect his first Rapid Tire USAC East Coast 360 sprint car win at his weekly home track, Grandview Speedway.

Tri-City USAC Sprints Fall to Rain

For the second consecutive Saturday, rain captured the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature, this time in Saturday’s Brandt “River Town Showdown” at Tri-City Speedway. A subsequent makeup date for the event will be announced soon.

Mother Nature Claims Tri-City USAC Midgets

Rain fell just as cars were pushed off for the start of the semi-feature, forcing cancellation of Saturday’s Brandt “River Town Showdown” program for the USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championship at Tri-City Speedway.  A subsequent makeup date for the event will be announced soon.

Leffel Takes USAC MTM Opener at Gas City

Two-time and defending USAC Midwest Thunder Speed2 Midget Series Champion Aaron Leffel of Springfield, Ohio captured the 2019 series opener Friday night at Gas City I-69 Speedway.

East Coast Champ Drevicki Shines at Big Diamond

After fighting off an evening thunderstorm, a stellar field of 31 Rapid Tire USAC East Coast 360 Sprint Cars jammed the pit area at the Big Diamond Speedway for a fantastic night of open wheel racing.

Hoosier Hundred Entry List Revealed

The entry list for the 64th running of the “Hoosier Hundred” brings 42 USAC Silver Crown cars and drivers to the Indiana State Fairgrounds on Thursday, May 23, for the final edition of the race at the legendary one-mile dirt oval.

Stremme Steers to Bedford Renegades of Dirt Win

A smooth sailing David Stremme cruised his way to a popular win at Bedford Fairgrounds Speedway last night in Renegades of Dirt action at the ½ mile ‘Museum of Speed’. Thirty six Renegades of Dirt Modifieds from eight states signed in to do battle in the tours first ever visit to the ultra fast Bedford Fairgrounds.

Liggett Tops Peter Murphy Classic at Tulare

Securing the lead from Richard Vander Weerd on lap 14, Austin Liggett (Tracy, CA) held off all challengers to win the “Peter Murphy Classic” at Tulare’s Thunderbowl Raceway.

Windom First to Repeat in Tri-City USAC Sprint Win

In a season with so much parity, the first winner of 2019 became the first repeat winner of the season as Chris Windom outdueled Carson Short in a wild Brandt “River Town Showdown” USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature Friday night at Tri-City Speedway.

Courtney Chalks Up History in Tri-City Midget Win

Tyler Courtney’s early-season USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championship prowess has been paramount, and with his fourth win in the first six races of the season, he became the first driver to ever accomplish the feat following his victory in Friday night’s Brandt “River Town Showdown” opener at Tri-City Speedway.