David Gravel Goes High And Low For 17th Win Of The Season

David Gravel.png

By Victoria Beaver

Just one week after winning the National Open at Williams Grove Speedway in Mechanicsburg, PA, David Gravel drove his car to Victory Lane again, this time at Fulton (NY) Speedway on Saturday night. Gravel took the lead when Daryn Pittman spun out after running into a car that had fallen off the pace.

With this win, Gravel extends his season win total to a career-best 17 victories. The only driver with more wins in 2017 is points leader and eight-time champion Donny Schatz.

Pittman fought hard from the start, moving from fourth to second in his heat to lead the pack during the Dash. He won that race by holding off the "Wild Child," Jac Haudenschild.

“Lady Lightning” Paige Polyak debuted in her first-ever Dash after finishing second in her heat.

Pittman started on the front row next to the “Ragin Cajun” Jason Johnson. When Gravel and Johnson became embroiled in a battle for second, Pittman pulled out to a major lead.

Johnson went low; Gravel went high. On the eighth lap, Gravel found himself in second when Pittman rear-ended Clyde Knipp, who experienced mechanical problems and slowed to exit the track. Pittman was able to repair and rejoin the race. Knipp was not.

Johnson battled hard to keep Gravel on his toes but could never make it around the new leader. Schatz worked his way from eighth to third for another podium finish.

Gravel only held the lead for two laps before another caution flag waved, this time for a crash involving Parker Price-Miller, Polyak, and Scott Krueutter.

There were a late set of cautions to temporarily slow Gravel on laps 21 and 24 — giving Johnson and Schatz the chance to spoil Gravel’s night. The winner continued to ferret out the best line as he jumped from the bottom to the cushion several times through the race.

“The track got so technical.” Gravel said. “The top was good, then the bottom was good, then I thought the bottom was too slow… I ran just about every line you could run tonight.”

Johnson, who is nearing the end of an up-and-down season, was happy with his podium knowing that he battled the best for the spot.

We gave it our best shot tonight,” Johnson said, “ I did my best to race clean and hard and finishing between [Gravel and Schatz] is an accomplishment in itself.”

Greg Wilson advanced 10 spots to finish fourth after starting 14th. Haudenschild completed the top five.

Top 10 Finishers

1. David Gravel
2. Jason Johnson
3. Donny Schatz
4. Greg Wilson
5. Jac Haudenschild
6. Brent Marks
7. Kraig Kinser
8. Brad Sweet
9. Mike Mahaney
10. Sheldon Haudenschild 

The USMTS Finalizes Their 2018 Schedule

USMTS, Tyler Rinken Productions USMTS Tyler Rinken Productions A.png

The United States Modified Touring Series has filled the final slots on the 2018 with three events that were listed at To Be Announced filled and one brand new date on their schedule. Two of these events will be inaugural races at the track.

Shane Stewart Won In Familiar And New Places To Land 44th

Shane Stewart, Facebook Shane Stewart_Facebook.png

By Victoria Beaver

Justin Grant Replaces Tyler Courtney At TOPP Motorsports

USACRacing.com Justin Grant USAC Racing.png

Justin Grant will join TOPP Motorsports in 2018 and hopes that the combination will be that little something extra needed to earn a championship next year. In 2017, he came up just six points short of winning the USAC National Sprint Car title to Chris Windom.

The Hell Tour Gets Hotter with Nine $10,000-To-Win Races

@SummerNationals , Twitter Summer Nationals.png

The world was once filled with endurance races. The Paris-to-Dakar Rally, Baja 1000, and even the World 600 was conceived as a way to push drivers and equipment to their limit. Established in 1985, the Hell Tour was another of those tests of stamina. Now, 33 years it is the last event standing.

Kyle Larson Takes Over Full Ownership Of His Sprint Car Team

Brian Fluharty, USA Today Kyle Larson.png

After four years as equal partners in Larson Marks Racing (LMR), Kyle Larson is taking over a full ownership role. Justin Marks will become an advisor for the new team. Kyle Larson Racing (KLR) will continue to field the No. 2 sprint piloted in the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series by driver Shane Stewart. Together Stewart and the team have accomplished 35 wins over four years.

Eight Races In Four States Make Up The NeSmith Winter Shootout

NeSmith Racing, Facebook NeSmith Racing Facebook.png

Four multi-night weekends over the course of three months at four different tracks will highlight the NeSmith Chevrolet Late Model Series Winter Shootout, with the first race coming just days after the calendar turns to 2018. If a single driver sweeps the entire schedule, he will walk away with $27,500.

Sign Of The Tides: Drivers Prepare For Highs, Lows At East Bay Raceway

East Bay Raceway Park, Instagram East Bay Race surface.png

By Victoria Beaver

Where else but Florida would Mother Nature find a new way to impact a racing weekend? At East Bay Raceway Park in Gibsonton, track regulars have learned to check the tide schedule online or printed in the local paper — because if you go in unprepared, the track could pull you under like a riptide.

Game On: Ryan Newman Buys Into Clauson-Marshall Racing

Denny Medley, USA Today Ryan Newman.png

Ryan Newman is going back to his roots in a big way. 

Three Cheers For Zac Taylor And His Three Championships

Inside Line Promotions 20171207_Zac Taylor_ILP.jpg

By Victoria Beaver

Zac Taylor enjoyed a breakout season in 2017 by taking home three championships in a single year. Taylor closed out the season with a trio of titles: one at El Paso County Raceway in Calhan, CO; the second in the Blood, Sweat and Tears/Colorado Alliance Tour; and the third in the International Motor Car Association Colorado State tour.

Live Updates: PRI Day 1, The Show Starts

Jonathon Masters IMG_2532.jpeg

Bookmark this page for Live Updates by Jonathon Masters of the first day of the Performance Racing Industry Trade Show.