Don O’Neal Gets Second Win Of The Season

Don O’Neal outran his teammate Darrell Lanigan to score a stunning sweep in the 29th annual Pittsburgher 100 at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway on Saturday night in Imperial, PA. 

O’Neal led flag to flag to win the event for the first time in his career. Josh Richards, who was the reigning winner of the event, finished behind the Clint Bowyer teammates to complete the podium and make up some much-needed series points over Tim McCreadie.

O’Neal was not handed the win by any stretch of the imagination. He withstood several cautions that bunched up the field and gave the competition a shot at the top spot. His superiority on the track was seen in his restarts, however. He pulled out to a healthy lead from the line each time the green waved.

While O’Neal has had the car to battle for the lead on several occasions, this is only his second win of the year.

“Another podium finish sounds good, and this time we got the win,” O’Neal said. “Last week, we had two runner-up finishes and tonight the car was just fantastic. In fact all weekend long it was just perfect.”

O’Neal was equally dominant in Friday night's qualifying and heat races, setting a new track record and winning his heat to set him on the pole. Michael Norris, Mike Marlar, and Richards also won their heats.

“We have been really solid here recently, and it’s a great way to end the season,” Lanigan said.

While a win sounded great to Richards, he knew he did not have the car to beat O’Neal and was satisfied by improving his points standings.

“There was quite a race among the top five after Don [O’Neal],” Richards said. “He was unbeatable here tonight. This was a good points finish for us. We’ll head to Portsmouth with at least a decent shot at the title.”

As Richards, Scott Bloomquist, and McCreadie fight for the points battle, every position matters. Richards' podium finish bumped him from third to second in the battle. Richards now sits 40 points behind McCreadie, who finished sixth, and 35 points in front of Bloomquist, who finished 18th.

Earl Pearson Jr. won the first B-main to make it into the feature before finishing fourth. Jimmy Owens completed the top five. 

Top 10 Finishers

1. Don O'Neal
2. Darrell Lanigan
3. Josh Richards
4. Earl Pearson, Jr.
5. Jimmy Owens
6. Tim McCreadie
7. Hudson O'Neal
8. Boom Briggs
9. Mason Zeigler
10. Rick Eckert

Complete Results

High 5: Jacob Allen Running Up Front In 5th Year On World Of Outlaws Trail

Kelly Brown

The common sentiment is that it takes three to five years for a driver to establish themselves with the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series. For Jacob Allen, 2018 is his fifth full season on the road with the Outlaws and the young driver is really coming into his own.

By The Numbers: Matt Sheppard Notches Win No. 60 In Super DIRTcar Series


“Super” Matt Sheppard may have finished off the podium in the Super DIRTcar Series’ season opener last month, but the defending tour champion did not have to wait long to find his way back to victory lane.

World Of Outlaws Notebook: Pittman, Schatz Split Wins In North Dakota

Mark Miefert

A pair of past World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series champions split wins over the weekend in North Dakota, as Daryn Pittman won at Nodak Speedway and Donny Schatz was victorious in his home state at River Cities Speedway. 

Kyle Hardy Looks To Extend USLMS Points Lead At $20K USA 100

Kyle Hardy, Facebook

By Colton Wood

Added Horsepower: Carson Macedo Carries Momentum Into Ohio Sprint Speedweek

Mark Funderburk

By Tony Veneziano

Momentum and confidence are often said to be worth a few extra horsepower to a driver. For Carson Macedo, who is in the midst of a two-race win streak with the Arctic All Star Circuit of Champions, those intangibles are on the rise at a very important time of the season as he gears up for a string of nine races in nine nights as part of Ohio Sprint Speedweek.

Phelps Looks To Break Super DIRTcar Series Winless Streak At ‘The Demon’

Jimmy Phelps (Facebook)

By Clayton Johns

The Super DIRTcar Series is set to resume action this Friday as the tour rolls into  Central New York for its annual stop at the “D-Shaped Demon” at Brewerton Speedway. 

5 Drivers To Watch: Will Matt Sheppard Continue Hot Streak At Brewerton?

By Mandee Pauch

The Super DIRTcar Series stars and cars take on the “D-Shaped Demon” for the Showdown at Sundown 100 this Friday at Brewerton Speedway in New York.

WoO Notebook: Schatz Wins Finale At Jackson, Halts Johnson’s Perfect Run

Kelly Brown

By Tony Veneziano

Jason Johnson was victorious in each of the two main events leading up to Saturday’s finale of the 40th annual AGCO Jackson Nationals at Jackson Motorplex in Minnesota and was in line for a clean sweep of the weekend. That was, until nine-time and defending World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series champion Donny Schatz swooped in, taking the $40,000 top prize in the finale of the three-day event, which was condensed into a two-day show. 

World RX Of Norway: Kristoffersson Becomes 2nd Driver To Earn Clean Sweep

FIA World RX Championship

Johan Kristoffersson continues to add his name to the FIA World Rallycross Championship record books, this time completing just the second-ever clean sweep in series history on Sunday in Hell, Norway.

FIA Approves World RX's Switch To Electric Cars For 2020

FIA World RX Championship

The FIA’s World Motor Sport Council has approved plans for the FIA World Rallycross Championship to be an electric series from 2020.