Jason Johnson Breaks Up Shane Stewart's And Daryn Pittman's Domination

Paul Arch Photography 2017-02-18 Volusia WoO Jason Johnson PAUL ARCH PHO

The last five World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series feature races have seen the same two winners in alternating events -- Daryn Pittman and Shane Stewart. And at the start of Wednesday night's race at Willamette Speedway in Lebanon, OR, it appeared it would happen again -- until Jason Johnson entered the battle.

Johnson led the final 15 laps of the A-Main to capture his fourth Outlaws win of the season.

Stewart started on the pole and led the first 12 laps before Pittman passed him low on the track. If the well-established pattern held, this would of been the race-winning pass. Stewart won Monday at Gray's Harbor Speedway in Elma, WA, which was the fifth consecutive race in which he and Pittman swapped the top spot.

Pittman was slowed by lapped traffic two laps later, and Johnson found a superior path to steal the lead on lap 15.

Johnson led the remaining 15 laps around the 0.3-mile track. Pittman settled for second, and Brad Sweet snuck into the top three.

Action was tight up front when Johnson took the lead. Lapped traffic slowed the leaders, but only Johnson made it around. Stewart was mired in the thickening battle as the three drivers crossed the midway point neck and neck.

Johnson survived three cautions in the last six laps, getting the jump on Pittman on each restart. One of the three cautions was brought out by the pole-sitter Shane Stewart, who suffered a flat tire that cost him a top 10 finish. He would cross under the checkers in 11th.

"That was a lot of fun," Johnson said. "I thought the track was great. I know it was a little wet early on, but come feature time it had two lanes."

The wet track never didn't seem to bother the winner, who qualified second and won his heat before starting on the outside pole in the feature.

Sweet had his third podium finish in a row and his sixth in the last nine features, causing the driver of the No. 49 to cut into Donny Schatz's points lead. Schatz finished two spots behind Sweet in fifth, separated by quick-time qualifier Kraig Kinser in fourth.

Top 10 Finishers
1. Jason Johnson
2. Daryn Pittman
3. Brad Sweet
4. Kraig Kinser
5. Donny Schatz
6. Sheldon Haudenschild
7. Brent Marks
8. Logan Schuchart
9. David Gravel
10. Jamie Veal
Complete Results, With Heats 

Making The Switch: Max McGhee Transitions To Winged Sprint Car Racing

Paul Arch Paul Arch Photo 2.jpg

By Tony Veneziano

Kenny Wallace: East Bay Winter Nationals Are 'Signal That Racing Has Begun'

© Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports USATSI_6067292_168383134_lowres.jpg

Few drivers across the world of motorsports possess the charisma and personality of Kenny Wallace. He’s a racer’s racer who’s done everything from NASCAR to local modified events.

Promoter Al Varnadore Talks East Bay Winter Nationals

YouTube eastbay.jpg

Next week the East Bay Winter Nationals will begin its 42nd year of kicking off the dirt racing season in Gibsonton, FL. 

10 Reasons Why Dirt Racing Loves East Bay Raceway Park: 5-1

Screen Shot 2018-01-17 at 4.27.38 PM.png

The snow and ice may be falling up north, but things are getting ready to heat up in the Tampa Bay area.

10 Reasons Why Dirt Racing Loves East Bay Raceway Park: 10-6

20180115_East Bay Top 10.jpg

The January snows are drifting in the Midwest and the Northeast is a snowbound tundra. The icy grip of winter has a firm hold on the northern two-thirds of the United States. It is during this time of year, when winter is bearing down hard, that we all look south to see the first glimmers of light at the end of the cold gloomy tunnel.

Spencer Bayston Dominated USAC To Claim A Flo50 Spot

@SpecerBayston, Twitter 20180115_SpecerBayston-twitter.jpg

Spencer Bayston was an all-or-nothing driver in 2017, but fortunately for his ranking in the Flo50 list of the Greatest Dirt Track Drivers, the “alls” greatly outweighed the “nothings.”

Brandon Sheppard Finally Wins A Wild West Race In The Finale

@B-Sheppard_B5a 280115_Brandon Sheppard.jpg

Brandon Sheppard got glimpses of the front of the field for most of the Wild West Shootout, but he was forced to watch someone else go to Victory Lane — that is, until Sunday night. 

When Kyle Bronson Gets To East Bay For Winter Nationals, His Goal Is To Win

@KBM40B 20180114_Kyle Bronson_-KBM40B.jpg

Kyle Bronson will have to keep up with the action live on FloRacing as he misses the first three nights of next week's Winter Nationals at East Bay Raceway in Gibsonton, FL, but he will try to steal the show during the Saturday night finale on Jan. 27.

Ricky Weiss Goes Back To Victory Lane In Night 5 Of The Wild West Shootout

WildWestShootout.net 20180114_Ricky Weiss_WildWestShootout-net.jpg

Ricky Weiss won the opening night of the Wild West Shootout and was on his way to a second win in Night 2 when he was knocked out of the lead by Bobby Pierce. He was forced to wait a week before returning to the hallowed ground, but he dominated night five at Arizona Speedway in San Tan Valley.

Christopher Bell Earns Back-To-Back Chili Bowls

Joe Orth, Chili Bowl 20180114_Joe Orth Chili Bowl.jpg

Christopher Bell joined Rico Abreu and Kevin Swindell as drivers who have won consecutive Chili Bowls when he rolled into the River Spirit Expo Center in Tulsa, OK Saturday night. Abreu won in 2015/2016; Swindell was victorious for four years from 2010-2013. Bell’s late-race pass on Kyle Larson came after his NASCAR colleague experienced mechanical problems, making it a bitter sweet win for the Oklahoma native.