2024 Short Track Super Series at Bridgeport Motorsports Park

Short Track Super Series at Bridgeport: Storylines, Stars And Sleepers

Short Track Super Series at Bridgeport: Storylines, Stars And Sleepers

The Short Track Super Series visits Bridgeport Motorsports Park on Sunday for the South Jersey Shootout. Here are the storylines, stars and sleepers.

Jul 7, 2024 by Brandon Paul

The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco returns to the center stage Sunday night at Bridgeport Motorsports Park for the ‘South Jersey Shootout.’

The high-banked, four-tenths-mile oval takes the spotlight for a 50-lap, $5,000-to-win main event for the STSS big-block/small-block Modifieds.

The STSS returns to Bridgeport Motorsports Park for the first time since 2022, after three separate attempts were all nixed due to rain in ’23.


While the STSS schedule is loaded for the month of July, tonight’s affair serves as the only race on the NJ Quality Drywall South Region docket in the month.

The Ollie’s Overall Championship reaches double digits, as tonight represents Round No. 10 of the combined chase, while the South Region rolls along with Round No. 6.

Walden, N.Y.’s Anthony Perrego continues his quest for STSS title No. 1, leading the South Region standings by 13 markers over Saint Catherines,

Ontario, Canada’s Mat Williamson.

The pair are flip-flopped in the Overall Championship title fight, with Williamson leading by 56 markers over Perrego.


Anthony Perrego – outside of one outlier – has been incredibly consistent on the STSS tour in ’24. He and car owner Vinnie Salerno have made a formidable duo and will look to extend their South Region point lead with Perrego’s first career Bridgeport triumph.

Neshanic Station, N.J.’s Matt Stangle has almost certainly had the ‘South Jersey Shootout’ circled on his calendar. His Saturday night home track is the perfect spot for ‘Matty Ice’ to capture his first career STSS win.

Mat Williamson does hold one career win to his name at the ‘Kingdom of Speed’ in April of ’23. While Williamson is another driver with limited appearances at Bridgeport, he’s undeniably raised his game in ’24, making him a perennial favorite every STSS race.


Sammy Martz Jr. has had limited starts with the STSS in his Modified career. The Whitehouse Station, N.J., driver will look to overcome that and pick up another ‘big’ win, after claiming the $8,000 ‘Doug Olsen Memorial’ at his home track less than a month ago.

Bohemia, N.Y.’s Dillon Steuer dubbed the ‘Kingdom of Speed’ his home track for the ’24 season. Steuer sits tied for third in the standings on Saturday night. He’ll look for his STSS win to pair with his first Bridgeport win all in one package tonight.

Branchburg, N.J.’s Ryan Krachun has won this season at Bridgeport and is off to a strong start on the South Region, sitting fifth in the standings. With the two worlds colliding, Krachun will look to claim his first career STSS victory.


The STSS Crate 602 Sportsman join the affair for Round No. 5 of the Belmont’s Garage South Region. The STSS Crate 602 Sportsman go for 25-laps and a $1,500 winner’s share.

Pilesgrove Township, N.J.’s Ethan Bill leads by just one point over Upper Makefield, Pa.’s Joe Toth. Boyertown, Pa.’s Logan Watt rounds out the top three, 25 markers behind Bill.

The NEWS Wingless Sprint cars will round out the program under Bridgeport Motorsports Park rules and procedures.


The STSS heads back to the River Valley Builders North Region on Thursday, July 11 for the ‘Dave Machuga Memorial Outlaw Showdown’ at Dundee, N.Y.’s Outlaw Speedway.

The STSS Modifieds go for another 50-laps, this time with a $7,078.78 top prize on the line in Round No. 5 of the North Region.


Don’t forget to set your Dirt Draft lineups before the night’s first heat race begins.

Visit www.dirtdraft.com or download the app to join Dirt Draft and compete against thousands of others for the entire 2024 STSS season. A subscription is just $5.99 a month with plenty of prizes up for grabs in the Dirt Draft Speed Shop.

Following along with the STSS on Dirt Draft throughout the ‘24 season will pay one lucky fan dividends at year-end.

The STSS Dirt Draft Champion receives two tickets to the STSS year-end banquet and will be honored with a custom trophy presented by Dirt Draft.


For tonight’s event, the pit gates open at 3:30 p.m. with grandstand gates unlocking at 4:30 p.m. Hot laps are slated for 6:15 p.m., with racing to following immediately after.

Grandstand admission is $30 for Adults, $15 for Students (ages 10-15), and Kids 9 and under are admitted FREE.

Pit admission is $45 (no license required).


The entire night of racing will be broadcast live on FloRacing (www.floracing.tv) via the annual subscription.

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit www.shorttracksuperseries.com, e-mail bdmotorsportsmedia@gmail.com, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook, @ShortTrack_SS on Twitter or @ShortTrackSS on Instagram.


July 26, 2022 – RYAN GODOWN – Ryan Krachun – Matt Sheppard – Ryan Watt – Danny Bouc

July 27, 2021 – RYAN WATT – Matt Sheppard – Stewart Friesen – Alex Yankowski – Rick Laubach

April 29, 2018 – JEFF STRUNK – Matt Sheppard – Stewart Friesen – Andy Bachetti – Anthony Perrego

September 30, 2017 – RYAN WATT – Craig Von Dohren – Sammy Martz – Ryan Godown – David Van Horn

April 23, 2017 – STEWART FRIESEN – Danny Bouc – Mike Barone – Neal Williams – Ryan Godown

April 17, 2016 – WADE HENDRICKSON – Billy Pauch Sr. – Stewart Friesen – David Hunt – Ryan Godown

April 19, 2015 – RICK LAUBACH – David Van Horn – Craig Von Dohren – Ryan Watt – Jack Swain